Ashes of the Abhorrent

Oracle Text

Players can't cast spells from graveyards or activate abilities of cards in graveyards.

Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life.

Card Rulings

9/29/2017 Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities (such as embalm from the Amonkhet set) are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text. Triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) are unaffected by Ashes of the Abhorrent.
9/29/2017 Ashes of the Abhorrent doesn’t stop players from playing land cards from the graveyard if an effect allows them to do so.
9/29/2017 If a creature dies at the same time that Ashes of the Abhorrent is destroyed, you’ll gain 1 life.