Back from the Brink

Oracle Text

Exile a creature card from your graveyard and pay its mana cost: Create a token that's a copy of that card. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.

Card Rulings

9/22/2011 Although you’re paying the card’s mana cost, you aren’t casting that card. Abilities that reduce the cost to cast a creature spell won’t apply, and additional costs to cast that creature can’t be paid. If the card has an ability that allows another cost to be paid “rather than its mana cost,” that alternative cost can be paid. Other alternative costs that affect what it costs to cast a creature spell, such as evoke, can’t.
9/22/2011 Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the creature will trigger when the token enters the battlefield. Any “as [this creature] enters the battlefield” or “[this creature] enters the battlefield with” abilities of the creature will also work.
9/22/2011 If you exile a double-faced creature card this way, you’ll pay the mana cost of the front face. The token will be a copy of the front face and it won’t be able to transform.
9/22/2011 If the exiled creature card has in its mana cost, X is considered to be zero.