Morgue Burst

Oracle Text

Return target creature card from your graveyard to your hand. Morgue Burst deals damage to any target equal to the power of the card returned this way.

Card Rulings

4/15/2013 Use the power of the card as it last existed in your graveyard to determine how much damage will be dealt.
4/15/2013 If the creature card is an illegal target when Morgue Burst tried to resolve (most likely because it was exiled in response), it won’t be returned to your hand and no damage will be dealt to the target.