Bond of Agony

Oracle Text

As an additional cost to cast this spell, pay X life.

Each other player loses X life.

Card Rulings

5/1/2006 You can’t choose an X that’s greater than your life total.
5/1/2006 You can choose an X that’s equal to your life total. If you do, you’ll pay that much life when the spell is cast and will lose the game before it resolves.
4/15/2013 You must pay both X life and . For example, if you want each other player to lose 2 life when Bond of Agony resolves, you must pay and 2 life.