Licia, Sanguine Tribune

Oracle Text

This spell costs 1 less to cast for each 1 life you gained this turn.

First strike, lifelink

Pay 5 life: Put three +1/+1 counters on Licia, Sanguine Tribune. Activate this ability only during your turn and only once each turn.

Card Rulings

8/25/2017 Licia’s first ability reduces only generic mana in its cost. It can’t reduce the cost below .
8/25/2017 To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you’re paying, add any cost increases (such as the “commander tax”), then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
8/25/2017 Licia’s first ability checks how much life you’ve gained during the turn, not what your life total is compared to what it was when the turn began. For example, if you start the turn at 30 life, gain 6 life during the turn, then lose 10 life later that turn, Licia still costs less to cast.
8/25/2017 If Licia’s last ability doesn’t resolve once activated, it can’t be activated again in the same turn.