Soul Spike

Oracle Text

You may exile two black cards from your hand rather than pay this spell's mana cost.

Soul Spike deals 4 damage to any target and you gain 4 life.

Card Rulings

7/15/2006 You may pay the alternative cost rather than the card’s mana cost. Any additional costs are paid as normal.
7/15/2006 If you don’t have two cards of the right color in your hand, you can’t choose to cast the spell using the alternative cost.
7/15/2006 You can’t exile a card from your hand to pay for itself. At the time you would pay costs, that card is on the stack, not in your hand.