Kentaro, the Smiling Cat

Oracle Text

Bushido 1 (Whenever this creature blocks or becomes blocked, it gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)

You may pay X rather than pay the mana cost for Samurai spells you cast, where X is that spell's converted mana cost.

Card Rulings

2/1/2005 Kentaro doesn’t change when you can cast Samurai. It just makes Samurai castable for generic mana.
2/1/2005 Kentaro’s ability only applies while Kentaro is on the battlefield. You have to pay for Kentaro normally. It still costs .