2/19/2014 9:46:46 AM
Colorless removal is also good to get around those pesky protection abilities. A number of powerful commanders are in the 2/2 range, so mouth can kill them even with a sword equipped.Posted in: Commander (EDH)
2/16/2014 4:04:25 AM
Posted in: Commander (EDH)Quote from Burntgerbilthe reason I was digging the talismans was that as long as you had the mana and spell triggers, you could activate them over and over again in a turn - it feels infinite, but since you need a colored spell to trigger the ability, It's not.
I like them, they are fun, and funny, however be warned:
It remains an infinite combo card, albeit it fits into the "other cards needed" category, specifically, buyback spells. Previously it was pretty much limited to Cabal Coffers + Lab Rats, and/or Gaea's Cradle + Sprout Swarm, but now with Nykthos, any color can infinite buyback, opening up blue Capsize/Whisper's of the muse, type shenaniganry.
Retrace Spells are another source of repeated spell-power, especially if running River Kelpie, Secrets of the dead, Unifying Theory, Lunar Mystic, or other such cards that can turn your spells into cantrips.
Essentially, while not the best infinite piece around, and highly mana intensive, there is a way to turn them past enough, into either infinite, or at least "large enough that it has no practical difference from infinite."
2/16/2014 3:57:22 AM
Posted in: Commander (EDH)
Sometimes making a thing useless is better than exiling it or killing it. Not every deck is crammed full of sac outlets, or sometimes they die.
2/16/2014 3:52:43 AM
Pshaw. Here I was expecting a turn timer like Chess.Posted in: Commander (EDH)
Now THAT would make you play better.
2/12/2014 4:54:32 PM
Posted in: Commander (EDH)Quote from TheEndIsNearSome of those aren't single targets. Some have a big of collateral damage.
Others, like back to basics, are only collateral damage.
To fix the request. Lets say you wanted to play reverse king maker, without deciding before the game starts (so I can't play boil, cause it might not be the blue player), what would you play.
Curse of the Cabal is another fun one, if you've got the mana.
Aha, a "I really hate you and all you stand for deck?"
Stigma Lasher, Curse of Exhaustion, Curse of Bloodletting, other curses, Null Chamber, Nevermore, Declaration of Naught
Wake of Destruction, Invader Parasite
2/12/2014 1:25:05 PM
Posted in: Commander (EDH)Quote from Sinfire TitanI like it too, but I'm saddened by the fact that they didn't reprint it for RTR block. They wasted a perfectly good opportunity for flavor...
Well, they gave us Blind Obedience instead, which is pretty good. Also, I'm guessing they are purposefully omitting lands from the effect currently, since lands are currently treated as being a bit sacred.
2/12/2014 11:32:39 AM
Posted in: Commander (EDH)Quote from TheEndIsNearQuote from Dirty FilterQuote from GalspanicDid Wizards of the Coast just assume that nobody would notice that Eye Gouge's art is sideways?! Seriously guys, WTF?!!
To add further confusion to the whole thing, why did the artist align his signature to the way the picture is framed on the card and not to the ground in the picture? Maybe he intended for it to be sideways... but if that's the case, why?
Maybe it's intended as the big monster has fallen THEN we remove it'd eye.
Speaking of removing eyes, I'm trying to make a list of the most evil single target cards in EDH.
So far I've got two:
Stuff that makes people rage, but is't like armageddon (I want to target only one player :))
Boil (and friends).
2/12/2014 11:26:14 AM
Thanks Nylon, I thought I was missing something on that.Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
116.3c If a player has priority when he or she casts a spell, activates an ability, or takes a special action, that player receives priority afterward.
116.3d If a player has priority and chooses not to take any actions, that player passes. If any mana is in that player's mana pool, he or she announces what mana is there. Then the next player in turn order receives priority.
116.4. If all players pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves or, if the stack is empty, the phase or step ends.
2/12/2014 9:12:36 AM
EDIT: The below is on assumption of this being on the opponents turn. Since priority order would be different on your turn, I'll look into that in a sec.Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
Both players must pass priority for the effect to resolve, you'll be able to flash in the angel.
Opponent casts fetch, you respond with vial. Vial resolves, you have Arbiter. With the fetch on the stack, the opponent has priority and must pay for arbiter's effect, He pays. He regains priority, passes. You gain priority, You flash in angel. blink arbiter.
Quote from115.2c Some effects allow a player to take an action at a later time, usually to end a continuous effect or to stop a delayed triggered ability from triggering. Doing so is a special action. A player can take such an action any time he or she has priority, but only if the ability or effect allows it.
On your turn, the answer is as Yeef has said. Since you are the active player, you would pass priority, then the opponent would receive priority, pay the cost, and pass, and the ability will resolve.
2/11/2014 12:37:59 PM
Sounds nice to me...Posted in: Commander (EDH)
I started looking for the high mpg cars, but then decided on more power. And now, the new maz3s seem to have better of both.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.