We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.
Dismiss
 
Treasure Cruisin' with Mayael the Anima
 
The Magic Market Index for July 21st, 2017
 
Theros: Elspeth's Tragedy
  • 0

    posted a message on JULY 26TH, 2017
    Jamblock, netn10


    Cosign with BloodXB
    Sorcery (U)
    You draw X cards and lose X life. Target opponent may copy this spell and may choose a new target for the copy.
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • 0

    posted a message on JULY 25TH, 2017
    netn10, Jamblock



    Formless Chaos R
    Instant (R)
    Choose one:
    - Target player draws a card.
    - Destroy a permanent at random. If that permanent was destroyed this way, its controller may copy this spell. He or she may choose a new target for the copy. (He or she may choose a different mode.)
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • 0

    posted a message on JULY 21ST, 2017
    I reckon Lightning Growth is a little too powerful. Compare to Blighting: both are three mana two for ones (you could call Blightning a three for one if you wanted to, but that's overly generous as a deck with any black has trouble truly valuing Lava Spikes that much. At most a 2.2 for 1).

    This is also three mana two for one. But BOTH parts of the two affect the BOARD. NONE of Blightning affects the board and it is almost Modern playable.

    I'm concerned with Insidious Mimicry's behavior at competitive REL. The player with Insidious Mimicry can't count the spells being cast aoud and give away that he has that card in his deck, but when he finally casts Insidious Mimicry because some Eggs player Shocked a Gaddock Teeg that blocked off one of his big spells, the game state needs to be clear.


    That puts me on the others by process of elimination.

    Vote:FirstTurnManaBurn, Indighost.



    (Edit/Addendum: I notice Flusterstorm is an official card that has the same issue as Mimicry, although by virtue of its effect it matters less exactly what the count is when the count is large. My complaint may still be unfair, perhaps)
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • 0

    posted a message on JULY 20TH, 2017
    FirstTurnManaBurn (none of you guys like this card? Think about it. It's sweet. And very red flavored), netn10
    (This submission has one of those Gaddock Teeg style -dodge-rules-questions-in-a-way-that-fits-well-anyway clauses.)

    Survey the Plane G
    Instant (U)
    Choose one:
    - Scry 1.
    - Name a Land type, Creature type, and Planeswalker type. Reveal the top card of your library. If it's a named type or a Basic land, put it into your hand.
    Rebound.
    (Artistry Note: So much badass Nissa action in this art.)

    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • 0

    posted a message on Assorted Competitive REL questions about playing Standard Emerge
    Thank you so much!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 0

    posted a message on Assorted Competitive REL questions about playing Standard Emerge
    1. Do I need to declare for Prized Amalgam the first Prized Amalgam trigger, when a Haunted Dead or Stitchwing generates a delayed trigger? I've heard someone say I don't have to at all but I'm skeptical, especially since it can carry from my own end step to my opponent's.

    2. If I forget my second prized Amalgam trigger and untap my permanents, but before doing anything at all, before drawing a card, realize the Prized Amalgams are still in the yard, can I put them into play? I have priority on my upkeep so it seems like that would be forgivable. But then again some competitive REL rules, like pacts, are savage, so.

    3. Can I "miss" triggers by trying to resolve some of my triggers before explicitly declaring that all of them are on the stack? For instance, if I say, "I tap 8 mana and cast Elder Deep-Fiend. Assuming you don't Disallow it, I exile Kozilek's Return from my graveyard to kill all your dudes. <waits for opponent to physically move dudes> Oh, Elder Deep-Fiend taps your four Forests. Oh, I sacrifice Sanctum of Ugin and go grab an Ornithopter.

    I suspect it's possible that the Sanctum of Ugin trigger is ok not to say stuff about, but that the targeted trigger has to be acknowledged immediately. After all, it seems a little unfair for an opponent not to know that casting Heroic Intervention using lands that will soon be tapped down anyway soon is a good idea until after putting creatures into their graveyard and realizing that Elder Deep-Fiend has a tapdown trigger. (even though that feature of Elder Deep-Fiend seems pretty prominent, at the end of the day it's not the victim's card) Whereas, the Sanctum of Ugin trigger doesn't target and doesn't do much to affect game state before it resolves.

    4. It seems like if I discard a total of four cards to return two different Haunted Deads to the battlefield, a single Prized Amalgam in my graveyard would create 2 triggers that generate 2 delayed triggers that are both put on the stack at the beginning of the next end step. Thus, a single Disallow or Nimble Obstructionist cycle would be insufficient to prevent the zombie from returning to the battlefield, since another trigger with rules text describing the same zone change goes on the stack. But a friend of mine said "it's not like that on MTGO", which is, ok, I believe him, but I don't understand the rules basis for it. What actually happens?



    Thanks in advance if there is any input!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 0

    posted a message on JULY 17TH, 2017
    FirstTurnManaBurn, Indighost


    Enlightening Trinket 1
    Artifact - (M)
    Flash
    Whenever a noncreature permanent you control becomes untapped, put a +1/+1 counter on it.
    Nonbasic land creatures can't attack or block.
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • 0

    posted a message on JULY 15TH, 2017
    Vote: Entombed Hydra, Indighost

    Ignite Heritage R
    Instant (R)

    Deal X damage to target creature, where X is the number of creature types it has. If X is 3 or more, shuffle it into its owners library instead.

    Forecast - Reveal Ignite Heritage from your hand and reveal a Creature or Tribal card from you hand: Target creature gains a creature type of your choice that was present on the revealed cards. Put a bloodline counter on it.



    (This rare probably wouldn't have room for reminder text, but if you've forgotten the obscure Forecast mechanic, its reminder text is "Activate this ability only during your upkeep and only once each turn. ")

    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • 0

    posted a message on JULY 13TH, 2017
    Vote: netn10, Jamblock

    Guys I don't know why but I keep thinking about Eldrazi.


    Sunder from Name 1C
    Tribal Instant - Eldrazi
    You may choose a non-Eldrazi card you own from outside the game and exile it.
    Exile target spell if it has the same name as the exiled card.
    Sarkan roared as he formed Urthan, the Resolute Dragon and beckoned the reptile forth. The animal descended upon Kozilek rapidly. Air whistled around the lifeform until finally the mass landed on Kozilek's head, but when the thing finally arrived there was no concept for Kozilek to acknowledge.
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • 0

    posted a message on Turbofog
    I don't think you want to validate removal (now with 20% more Abrade) with the Torrential Gearhulk in your fog deck. Plus you can't use Inspiring Statuary to help pay for it, which is so lame.

    Once Torrential Gearhulk is out, you can feel really good about running Pull from Tomorrow instead of Anticipates and Glimmers and that synergizes with the Statuary plenty too.

    If you feel like you need the Gearhulk as a win condition, I would say I think playing the Approach maindeck is better.






    Posted in: Deck Creation (Standard)
  • 1

    posted a message on JULY 11TH, 2017

    Flair Vaporizer 1C
    Creature - Eldrazi Shapeshifter Demon
    When ~ enters the battlefield, reveal cards from the top of your opponent's library until you reveal a card with flying, reach, haste, lifelink, first strike, double strike, deathtouch, vigilance, menace, trample, or prowess. Exile that card and note all such abilities, then put the other cards on the bottom of your opponent's library in a random order.
    Flair Vaporizer has the noted abilities.
    Noneldrazi creatures lose the noted abilities.
    2/3
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • 0

    posted a message on Can Chandra, Torch cast Disallow?
    I control four tapped Thermo-Alchemists. I activate Chandra, Torch of Defiance's +1 ability to exile the top card of my library. It's a Disallow. May I cast Disallow, targetting the loyalty ability of Chandra which is currently being resolved, fizzling the Disallow but still untapping my creatures?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 0

    posted a message on RGx Energy Aggro
    If you're on the EDF package, Champion of Wits could be worth testing.

    Was not a great set for Temur overall.
    Posted in: Proven (Standard)
  • 0

    posted a message on RGx Energy Aggro
    It's pretty bizzare how the mana favors wedges over shards so strongly right now. If you want to play green and red, and you do if you want to cast early Glorybringers, it really means it hurts so much to play the colors next to them.
    Posted in: Proven (Standard)
  • 0

    posted a message on June 13, 2017
    Vote: entombed hydra, netn10

    Isthmus
    Basic Land (Set design dependent rarity)
    t: Your next opponent chooses a color of mana not present in your mana pool. Add one mana of that color to your mana pool.
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.