Get an Epic Experience with Premium
  • posted a message on What do you say when announcing attackers?
    I think we're done here.

    Locked.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Contamination and Gauntlet
    We are going in circles here. No-one on here can give you the final ruling you want. If you are really that invested in getting an [o]-answer for a scenario that may come up more frequently for you than for the rest of the world, then you should take that interest to a place where you can actually be helped. The easiest way is to ask your question over at the wotc mothership forum. They have a representative who has the authority to give [o]-rulings.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on most flavorful magic cards?
    One with Nothing. Discarding your hand = Emptying your mind (in order to reach a meditative state). Coupled with the flavor text this is definitely among the more flavorful (but at the same time one of the least playable) cards around.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Exquisite Blood/ Archangel of Thune
    Quote from ketler57
    But let's say both of the creatures attacking had lifelink. Even though combat damage is simultaneous it is still considered 2 instances of life gaining. Could you show me a ruling explaining the difference between these 2 circumstances?
    Thanks

    This is because life gaining has extra rules baggage:
    118.9. Some triggered abilities are written, "Whenever [a player] gains life, . . . ." Such abilities are treated as though they are written, "Whenever a source causes [a player] to gain life, . . . ." If a player gains 0 life, no life gain event has occurred, and these abilities won't trigger.
    Example: A player controls Ajani's Pridemate, which reads "Whenever you gain life, you may put a +1/+1 counter on Ajani's Pridemate," and two creatures with lifelink. The creatures with lifelink deal combat damage simultaneously. Ajani's Pridemate's ability triggers twice.
    So when two sources make you gain life, it is always treated as two events. No such provision exists for losing life, though, and since the trigger only looks for "whenever a player loses life", it only triggers once.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Aether vial and the stack
    Okay, guys, this is really going off-topic now.

    Thread locked.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Bestow?
    Quote from mcpilz
    If i put a creature onto the Battlefield (For example with Reburn Reanimate) who has Bestow, can i put it onto the battlefield Enchanting another creature or not?

    No, you cannot do that. Bestow can only be chosen when the card is cast. Rules quote:
    702.102a. Bestow represents two static abilities, one that functions while the card with bestow is on the stack and another that functions both while it's on the stack and while it's on the battlefield. "Bestow [cost]" means "You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost." and "If you chose to pay this spell's bestow cost, it becomes an Aura enchantment and gains enchant creature. These effects last until one of two things happens: this spell has an illegal target as it resolves or the permanent this spell becomes, becomes unattached." Paying a card's bestow cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2e-g.
    So only when the Bestow card is cast does it become an Aura with the ability to enchant something. Reanimate simply puts the creature card back into play, without the creature being cast.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on possible infinite loop question
    Quote from vorropohaiah
    thanks - for future reference how do i add the card tags?

    One way is to type [c]One with Nothing[/c], which then shows up as One with Nothing. An in-depth explanation of other ways can be found here.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Plaxcaster Willbender
    Quote from Gashnaw
    1) If I use Plaxcaster Frogling to give a creature Shorud, Could i willbend that to a creature without a +1/+1 counter and would it still give that creature shroud?

    The Frogling's ability has a targeting restriction, the target has to have a +1/+1 counter on it. You can choose the Frogling's ability for Willbender's triggered ability, but when Willbender's ability resolves, you have to choose a new legal target for the Frogling's ability. So this doesn't work the way you want.
    2) If my Morphed creature had a +1/+1 counter on it, when it morphed would it keep the counters?

    Yes. The game object is still the same, it is simply changing some of its characteristics. All counters, auras and equipment stay on.
    (And for further question on this, Say i had Master Biomancer, would my Willbender gain counter's when turned face up?)

    No. Turning the Willbender face up does not constitute an enter-play event. It already was in play, but as above, it is merely changing its outfit.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Cast spell with Illegal Target
    Quote from marinermichael
    So to finish the thought . . . the Warning goes into affect and the player who got warned gets his Abrupt Decay back and lands go back untapped???

    Yes, that is exactly what Artscrafter meant when he said the game is backed up to the point the illegal action happened. You undo the illegal move(s) and then continue playing.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Does Jeleva follow the same rulings as things like the Nightveil Specter
    Quote from Zinriel
    In terms of when you exile a card with Nightveil Specter and you cast another, then the first get's killed, you cant cast cards exiled by the original one, even if the next one you cast is the same one from the grave or some such, is the same true for Jeleva, Nephalia's Scourge, or does it work differently because she's legendary or somthing?

    The rules are the same, an object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object without connection to the old object. Here is the complete rule, spoilered for length:

    400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are seven exceptions to this rule:

    400.7a. Effects from spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities that change the characteristics of a permanent spell on the stack continue to apply to the permanent that spell becomes.

    400.7b. Prevention effects that apply to damage from a permanent spell on the stack continue to apply to damage from the permanent that spell becomes.

    400.7c. If an ability of a permanent requires information about choices made as that permanent was cast as a spell, including what mana was spent to cast that spell, it uses information about the spell that became that permanent as it resolved.

    400.7d. Abilities that trigger when an object moves from one zone to another (for example, "When Rancor is put into a graveyard from the battlefield") can find the new object that it became in the zone it moved to when the ability triggered, if that zone is a public zone.

    400.7e. Abilities of Auras that trigger when the enchanted permanent leaves the battlefield can find the new object that Aura became in its owner's graveyard if it was put into that graveyard at the same time the enchanted permanent left the battlefield. It can also find the new object that Aura became in its owner's graveyard as a result of being put there as a state-based action for not being attached to a permanent. (See rule 704.5n.)

    400.7f. If an effect grants a nonland card an ability that allows it to be cast, that ability will continue to apply to the new object that card became after it moved to the stack as a result of being cast this way.

    400.7g. A resolving spell or activated ability can perform actions on an object that moved from one zone to another while that spell was being cast or that ability was being activated, if that object moved to a public zone.
    So while the rule itself gives some exceptions, none of those apply here. There is certainly no exception simply because Jeleva is legendary.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.