• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
  • 0

    posted a message on Dense Foliage and Equipment
    Quote from Wall of Glare »
    Can anyone explain to me how equipment can be equipped when Dense Foliage is out? Doesn't equipment target a creature??

    Sure, the act of equipping indeed targets a creature, but Dense Foliage only prohibits spells. Equipping is an activated ability which is unhindered.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Athreos and Manifest
    Quote from i_am_brucelee »
    I assume this is the same with Grim Haruspex?

    Yes, Grim Haruspex also lets you draw a card if a manifested creature dies. Remember, "die" is just shorthand for "enters the graveyard from the battlefield", and all such zone-change triggers look at the game state before the event, instead of after. And on the battlefield the manifested card is a creature.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 1

    posted a message on Drawing game 1
    Quote from bakgat »
    CAnt you both choose to ID the round when you realise this is going to happen? Instead of the match ending in a draw ID the round and continue with the match?

    I think I see the source of confusion. A forced draw such as by the three Oblivion Rings only ends the running game. The match continues normally, with the next game, until time is reached.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Drawing game 1
    Quote from bakgat »
    Could you then if you wanted draw a game if you where staring down the barrel of a infinite loop like the three Oblivion Ring and no other non land permanents loop for instance?

    Maybe I am misunderstanding your follow-up, but in this case the draw happens because the game rules say so.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Dryad Militant and its exile ability
    It doesnt make sense to me for them to behave differently, that is why I ask why it "has to" be so.

    It "has to" be so because the rules say so. The effects of downright destruction during the resolution of the spell and dealing damage which leads to destruction after the spell has resolved (through SBA) is distinctly different, so it is not surprising that they behave differently.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on How are Oracle Erratas decided?
    Moved to Magic General.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • 0

    posted a message on polymorphist's jest and worldspine wurm trigger
    Quote from Havokotter »
    Hi i was wondering what happens when someone plays polymorphist's jest and i have a worldspine wurm that dies after polymorphist's jest resolves.
    do i still get the 5/5 wurm tokens?

    Please use card tags, that makes it easier for the people to help you, as the answer often depends on the exact text. [c]Polymorphist's Jest[/c] -> Polymorphist's Jest, Worldspine Wurm.

    Worldspine Wurm's printed ability is a so-called "leaves-the-battlefield" triggered ability, and such abilities are checked before the event that would move the object, so the game checks if the ability is present while the Wurm is still on the battlefield. But when the Wurm died, it did so as a blue Frog without any abilities, so there is nothing to trigger. No tokens for you, I am afraid. It will still be shuffled into the library, though, as that ability is checked after the moving event. The difference is the bit "from anywhere", such abilities are checked in the graveyard, and by then the effect making it lose its abilities has worn off, so that ability triggers alright.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on heartless summoning + xenagos
    Quote from sendo_a »
    hi!!!

    here a simple question for you:

    i have heartless summoning on the battlefield and xenagos, god of revels in my hand.

    how much is the summoning cost of xenagos?

    thanks!!!

    Xenagos will cost 1RG. The ability that makes it a non-creature sometimes only works when Xenagos is on the battlefield. So on the stack it will still be a creature spell, so the discount of Heartless Summoning will apply.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Narset + Uncastable Cards
    Quote from Steamsteam »
    Google Narset for the proper wording.

    No. Read the Forum Rules on questions about unreleased cards. Thread closed, try again.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Geist of Saint Traft + Trickbind
    I thought triggered abilities use the words "when", "whenever" and "if"

    Close. The complete set of words indicating triggered abilities are "when", "whenever" and "at" (not "if"). "If" by itself doesn't have a rules meaning, for example in constructions like "Counter target spell if it is blue", the word if is simply using its english meaning. The word "if" also appears in replacement effects, but then it is always paired with "instead". (Progenitus for example.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on sharuum combo question
    Quote from guilt_trip »
    So basically, once sharuum is cast and sculpting steel start making the loop when does priority shift from the person who initiated the loop to the other player? When a spell resolves priority goes back to the person that cast said spell, so when the loop begins when does priority switch? In between the two entering and leaving the feild? Or when the person decides they are done?

    Sharuum the Hegemon, Sculpting Steel
    It seems you have some details mixed up, so let's take this slowly and step by step. Firstly, priority doesn't really "switch", it gets passed back and forth. The player who has priority is the player who can do stuff.
    The rules for priority in a nutshell are:
    * After the game enters a new phase or step, the active player gets priority.
    * Also when the top object of the stack has resolved, the active player gets priority.
    * When an object gets added to the stack, the player who had priority before gets it back.
    * When a player has priority, but doesn't want to do anything, that player "passes priority". Then the other player "has priority" and can add things to the stack.
    * When both players passed priority, the top object of the stack resolves and priority goes to the active player.

    I hope this helps. If you have more specific questions about the above combo, feel free to ask.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Priority in combat phase?
    Quote from Griptionz »
    Say you're playing Radha, Heir to Keld and want to cast Searing Blood after you declare her as an attacker, but before blockers.

    I'm not really seeing a point to this post..
    Thread locked.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Board wipe question
    Quote from Vulticulus »
    If I have Rageblood Shaman and Ragemonger both in play and I play Anger of the Gods, are Rageblood's +1's removed before the damage is applied or does Ragemonger survive with 1 toughness?

    Rageblood Shaman gives your other Minotaurs a boost as long as it is on the battlefield. When the Shaman dies, the bonus is lost. So when Anger of the Gods resolves, it will deal 3 damage to both of your creatures. The game will see that the Shaman has lethal damage on it, and the Shaman is destroyed. As soon as the Shaman leaves the battlefield, Ragemonger's toughness drops by 1, leaving it lethally damaged as well. Also, damage doesn't lower toughness. The Ragemonger still has toughness 3 after the Shaman leaves, but it also has 3 damage marked on it, as damage sticks around until the end of the turn. So the Ragemonger is destroyed as well.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Prevent Sacrifing
    Moved to Magic General.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • 0

    posted a message on Enchant lands
    Quote from Fizzangel »
    Do enchant lands count as enchantments or lands for the purpose of detention sphere? A friend told me they count as lands and can therefore not be targeted so I just wanted to check this.

    Almost nothing "counts as" anything in magic; either something is, or it isn't. A permanent is a land if it has "Land" in its type line. With an "enchant land" you probably mean a card that has "Enchantment -- Aura" on its type line which also has the text "Enchant land" in its text box. Such a card is not a land, so it can be targeted with Detention Sphere just fine.

    For more detailed information it would be better if you provide specific examples. And if you use specific card names, please provide card tags for them: [c]Abundant Growth[/c] -> Abundant Growth.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Exchange Control with removal spell on the stack.
    Yes, the Thief will still be destroyed. The Thief is still the same game object, just under another player's control, but Abrupt Decay doesn't care about who controls the target.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Dealing Damage to the Planeswalker with Instant Spells like Shock.
    The Shock will resolve and deal 2 damage to the Planeswalker. While it is not technically correct to cast Shock targeting a Planeswalker, this is an acceptable shortcut of the technical "Shock targeting you, redirect to PW on resolution."

    By the way: Rules questions usually aren't a matter of opinion, so just ask your questions, but please don't stick a Poll to the thread.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Caged Sun - Infinite loop, or not
    The only reason why Caged Sun's ability is to be treated as a mana ability is because Matt Tabak said so. This ruling has not been overturned, so it still stands.
    This whole scenario is a corner case to begin with, and it isn't productive to discuss it to death.

    Closed for now. If the latest request for an o answer yields more information, PM me and I'll edit it in.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Can I put Brago into the command zone from his own ability?
    Quote from Narvuntien »
    Brago, King Eternal can exile himself whenever he deals damage. Can i put him into the command zone instead and have him stay there?

    Brago can (try to) exile himself with his ability, as he is a nonland permanent. You can also put him into the command zone, instead of having him go to exile, but, as you suspected, Brago will still return right away, so you can't keep him in the command zone that way.

    My friend thinks I can put him into the commander zone but I am pretty sure his ability pulls him back to the battlefield.

    You are correct. Brago's ability doesn't specify that the creatures are returned from exile, so the ability looks in the first zone the creature went to, and if it is a public zone, the creature will be returned from there just fine.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Death's Shadow, life and priority
    Quote from Onime »
    Hi,

    I'd like to understand what happens when:
    0) my life is at least 13,
    1) I cast Death's Shadow,
    2) it resolves,
    3) I cast phyrexian mana spell(s) and reduce my life to below 13,
    4) end this phase.

    My question is whether Death's Shadow survives or does it die after step 2? I am asking this since I do want to target him with phyrexian mana spells and not cast them in response.

    As soon as Death's Shadow resolves, and before you get priority to go to step 3, the game checks State-Based Actions, and sees Death's Shadow at a negative toughness. So Death's Shadow is immediately placed into your graveyard before you can do anything else. If you want to keep it, you need to lower your life total below 13 in response to the creature spell on the stack.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on dungeon geist hands of binding
    Duplicate threads merged into one.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Hello from Ireland
    Céad míle fáilte, and hopefully you'll enjoy your stay here at MTG Salvation!
    Posted in: Introduce Yourself
  • 0

    posted a message on prophetic flamespeaker and sword of feast and famine
    They both trigger at exactly the same time, when the equipped Flamespeaker deals combat damage. Since you control both abilities, you can put them on the stack in the order of your choice.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on drugs and alcohol...
    "if somebody shows up to a gpt drunk and/or stoned, is there anything that can be done? it's super annoying having to smell pot, and beer breath for a match."

    Your lack of sportsmanship is astonishing. You want to ban someone from a tournament because you don't like the smell of beer. Anything else you wanna ban people for. Irritating haircuts, bad fashion sense??

    If they are too inebriated to play, then sure kick them out, but if you think that an adult can't enjoy a beer or two before a match because it offends you then your arrogance is disgusting.

    Edit: Nobody seems to realise that OP didn't mention the player being in any way disruptive, OP is just being really judgemental.

    Whether OP is being judgmental or not is really not the issue here. We are in the Rules section, and OP raises a valid question. When a person has drunk enough that their breath smells unpleasantly of alcohol, then that can be disruptive in itself, even without disruptive behavior. No-one is denying anyone anything, so feel free to drink as much as you like. I'd simply advise you to use some breath-mints, otherwise you might run into problems.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Roofstop Storm and a zombie commander
    Quote from The Icy One »
    Thats actually the only thing you're not allowed to ignore.. the Commander Tax is suppose to stay, it's a Tax.

    The word "Tax" doesn't really have a rules meaning, it's just a "magic slang term" to mean that it is in fact an additional cost.
    @OP - This is the rule you're looking for:
    903.10. A player may cast a commander he or she owns from the command zone. A commander cast from the command zone costs an additional {2} for each previous time the player casting it has cast it from the command zone that game.
    The wording makes it clear that this is an additional cost.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on drugs and alcohol...
    Quote from Thylakaleo »
    I don't think entry fees should be reimbursed at that point. If you are aware you should not be under the influence of drugs or alcohol at this event, show up under the influence or use them on site, and then jeer/heckle/upset anyone else's good time, you should accept your forfeiture from the tournament for breaking the rules. After all if you cheat and get kicked out, you won't get your money back.

    I would be pretty peeved if some drunk guy showed up the tournament and started calling out moves or what was in my hand or disturbed things enough to warrant getting thrown out, and he got his money back, but my good time was ruined and i didn't get my money back.

    At that point i would want to go grab a six pack, pound it in the parking lot, and come back in for my refund.
    You are painting quite a different picture than I had in mind when I said that entry fees should be reimbursed. What you describe is an escalation of events that I'd never allow to happen. I am simply coming from the point of providing good customer service, and when I refuse someone entry to a tournament after they already enrolled (I am talking about round 1 or 2, maybe) it would send a wrong signal not to reimburse them. It's not a necessity, and I can certainly think of situations where I'd go along with not reimbursing them, it's just something to keep in mind.
    But like I said, I'd try not to let the situation get out of hand that drastically. And what you described in your last paragraph would be an example of willful disruptive behavior that I'd certainly not gratify by giving you your money back.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on drugs and alcohol...
    Quote from Yuri5 »
    if somebody shows up to a gpt drunk and/or stoned, is there anything that can be done? it's super annoying having to smell pot, and beer breath for a match.

    It's in the power of the Tournament Organizer to prohibit the use of drugs on-site, so if someone shows up drunk/stoned for registration, the TO can simply refuse to enroll that player into the tournament.
    Quote from Magic Tournament Rules »
    1.4 Participation Eligibility
    Anyone is eligible to participate as a player in a DCI-sanctioned tournament with the exception of:
    [...]
    * Anyone prohibited by local laws, the rules of the Tournament Organizer, or the venue’s management.

    If the person in question is already enrolled, then things are a little trickier to handle and require a lot of diplomacy, but if the disruption to the tournament is significant enough, a player can still be removed from the tournament after the fact (in that case any and all entry fees should be reimbursed, naturally).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Thassa, God of the Sea and Turn and Burn
    Duplicate threads merged.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on progenitus+graveyard+fated return?
    You are mistaken, Progenitus doesn't enter the graveyard at all. It has a static ability creating a replacement effect, so it gets shuffled into the library instead of going to the graveyard. This behaves differently from a triggered ability , such as seen on Emrakul, the Aeons Torn, for example.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Necropotence Exile Effect
    Quote from Draken »

    If a card is put into a graveyard from anywhere BUT the hand, will it still be exiled? Example, killed creatures, destroyed permanents, milled cards.

    Is the only way for Necropotence to exile the card by having to discard it from your hand (due to max hand size or a spell/ability)?

    Cards do what they say, nothing more. Necropotence triggers specifically on discarding, so cards will only be exiled from the graveyard if they got there by being discarded.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on It's-a me, Mario!
    But don't you know that Peach is in another castle?

    Just kidding, welcome to MTG Salvation! And don't worry about your english, it seems perfectly fine!
    Posted in: Introduce Yourself
  • 0

    posted a message on Interaction of Death's Presence with Bestow
    Quote from MaximumC »
    The duration starts when you cast it by paying the Bestow cost (before it goes on the stack, even, I believe) and lasts until it is no longer attached to a creature for some reason.

    Just to clear up this technicality, the bolded bit is wrong. The very first step of casting any spell is to put it on the stack. Afterwards you make the choice to cast it for the bestow cost.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Opaline Sliver and Mirrorweave Interaction Question
    Quote from Dilithium
    The ability granted by Opaline Sliver only triggers for spells controlled by opponents, so a player casting Mirrorweave targeting their own Opaline Sliver won't trigger the ability.

    Thanks for the correction, I missed that detail.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Opaline Sliver and Mirrorweave Interaction Question
    Quote from cdmagic
    Thanks and for the 2. part of the question...will the Mirrorweave make me draw or not...since I think it is played after the target are chosen ?

    You will get to draw one card, because targeting the Opaline Sliver with Mirrorweave will trigger its ability.
    No card draws. When the Ornithopter
    gets the ability it has already become a target, so it's too late for the ability to trigger.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Planeswalker Redirect: A silly take
    Your friend must have misunderstood something. What he did is not supported by any rules. If you attack Karn, then any unblocked attackers will hit Karn, and when you decide to have non-combat redirected at Karn, he cannot then decide to have it redirected to himself.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Constellation and Humility
    Quote from Minhoco
    If I control any creature with Constellation then I cast Humility, will its ability be triggered?

    Nope. Humilty's static ability applies as soon as it is on the battlefield. So by the time the game checks if any abilities have been triggered by this permanent entering the battlefield, the constellation ability is already gone, so it won't trigger.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Rules Advisor Exam
    Quote from MILD
    Hey guys. I took this exam today, was pretty happy with my responses, saw I had time spare so decided to use it to review them and make sure I made no silly errors.

    Drama is, time got away and instead of auto submitting like I thought, I was instead told the exam expired.

    Is this typical for these exams? If it's an error, is there any point in submitting feedback to ask for another go? It didn't submit, but it did give a fail...

    So disappointed. I should have just hit submit and been done with it.

    The instructions on the Testing page tell you this:
    Once you start the exam, a clock will appear in the top right corner of your screen to keep track of how much time you have remaining. When finished, submit your answers to see your score.

    You could try submitting feedback about your test, explaining the situation, but since it was ultimately your fault, I don't know if there is anything to be done other than waiting for the cool-off period to pass and then re-take the test.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Question regarding totem armor
    Quote from infectedxA
    spider umbra how would exile effect this card? It is different than being destroyed, correct?
    Correct, exiling is not destroying, so the Umbra has nothing to replace.
    Would you exile the creature and enchantment, just the creature, or just the enchantment?
    As to what exactly gets exiled, that depends on the specific effect doing the exiling. As a general rule, you do what the card says. So a Swords to Plowshares will only exile the targeted creature, leaving the Aura behind (and the Aura will then be put into the owner's graveyard before anyone can do anything with it, because an unattached Aura can't stay on the battlefield). The vast majority of exile effects work that way.
    There is however a small number of cards that will exile a creature along with any attached auras: Oubliette, Tawnos's Coffin, and even in Standard with Silence the Believers.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Shocklands and CIPT Ramp
    Quote from Warp »
    Quote from MRHBLue »
    Yes. The wording is not exact but does modify how the lands enters the battlefield.
    I would like to see the rule that can be used to make this assessment.

    Here you go:
    110.6b. Permanents enter the battlefield untapped, unflipped, face up, and phased in unless a spell or ability says otherwise.
    Farseek's spell ability says otherwise, so it modifies the way in which the land would normally enter the battlefield, simply because it says so. Whenever something causes something else to happen differently than the norm we usually tend to say that it's a replacement effect, although you are technically correct that this here does not fit the bill for a replacement effect as defined in the rules.
    But the given answers are still correct: paying for the Shockland doesn't force it to enter untapped, it just removes one reason for it to be entering tapped. But when resolving the spell ability of Farseek you still follow the instruction of putting the land into play tapped.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Infinity vs Extreme Impobability
    Quote from Rafig
    Max, I believe he was talking about the op's changes to encounter that required 20 wins in a row.

    And that is the problem of this thread in a nutshell. We deal with real cards, and not with hypothetical scenarios.
    With that said, if such a card as the changed Chance Encounter did exist, using it in such a way in a tournament setting is not advisable. It has already been stated that this is not an "auto-win", and it's not anything that can be cut short. So the best you can do is flip the coin as fast as you can and hope for good luck. The fact that this combo can be mathematically proven to win in the end is completely irrelevant, as Magic is a game of cards, not of mathematical conjecture.

    Thread closed.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Prophet of Kruphix and range of influence
    The Prophet will let you only untap when the active player is in your range of influence. If the active player is outside of your RoI, the ability simply doesn't exist for that player, and he can't be affected by the ability.
    801.10. Spells and abilities can't affect objects or players outside their controller's range of influence. The parts of the effect that attempt to affect an out-of-range object or player will do nothing. The rest of the effect will work normally.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 1

    posted a message on Abusing trigger rules and floating mana for fun and prophet (of kruphix)
    Quote from Craftyfirestorm
    Ah right, Prophet is in fact treated as a state based action

    No, it isn't. It's technically nothing more than a static ability, and it directly affects the rules of the game. It simply changes what happens during your opponent's untap step.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Is there a way for That Which Was Taken to obtain a divinity counter?
    Quote from DementedKirby
    Great suggestions! However, since That Which Was Taken says its own name on the card (instead of "another permanent") doesn't that mean that I can't target any other permanent named That Which Was Taken with it?

    No, that's not what using the own name means. Whenever a card uses its own name, it always means the self-referential "this object". So making a copy of it and somehow keeping it will work.
    If it is the name which is important, the cards will say so, for example Cylian Sunsinger or Squadron Hawk.

    Posted in: Magic General
  • 0

    posted a message on What do you say when announcing attackers?
    I think we're done here.

    Locked.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Contamination and Gauntlet
    We are going in circles here. No-one on here can give you the final ruling you want. If you are really that invested in getting an [o]-answer for a scenario that may come up more frequently for you than for the rest of the world, then you should take that interest to a place where you can actually be helped. The easiest way is to ask your question over at the wotc mothership forum. They have a representative who has the authority to give [o]-rulings.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on most flavorful magic cards?
    One with Nothing. Discarding your hand = Emptying your mind (in order to reach a meditative state). Coupled with the flavor text this is definitely among the more flavorful (but at the same time one of the least playable) cards around.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • 0

    posted a message on Exquisite Blood/ Archangel of Thune
    Quote from ketler57
    But let's say both of the creatures attacking had lifelink. Even though combat damage is simultaneous it is still considered 2 instances of life gaining. Could you show me a ruling explaining the difference between these 2 circumstances?
    Thanks

    This is because life gaining has extra rules baggage:
    118.9. Some triggered abilities are written, "Whenever [a player] gains life, . . . ." Such abilities are treated as though they are written, "Whenever a source causes [a player] to gain life, . . . ." If a player gains 0 life, no life gain event has occurred, and these abilities won't trigger.
    Example: A player controls Ajani's Pridemate, which reads "Whenever you gain life, you may put a +1/+1 counter on Ajani's Pridemate," and two creatures with lifelink. The creatures with lifelink deal combat damage simultaneously. Ajani's Pridemate's ability triggers twice.
    So when two sources make you gain life, it is always treated as two events. No such provision exists for losing life, though, and since the trigger only looks for "whenever a player loses life", it only triggers once.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Aether vial and the stack
    Okay, guys, this is really going off-topic now.

    Thread locked.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 1

    posted a message on Bestow?
    Quote from mcpilz
    If i put a creature onto the Battlefield (For example with Reburn Reanimate) who has Bestow, can i put it onto the battlefield Enchanting another creature or not?

    No, you cannot do that. Bestow can only be chosen when the card is cast. Rules quote:
    702.102a. Bestow represents two static abilities, one that functions while the card with bestow is on the stack and another that functions both while it's on the stack and while it's on the battlefield. "Bestow [cost]" means "You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost." and "If you chose to pay this spell's bestow cost, it becomes an Aura enchantment and gains enchant creature. These effects last until one of two things happens: this spell has an illegal target as it resolves or the permanent this spell becomes, becomes unattached." Paying a card's bestow cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2e-g.
    So only when the Bestow card is cast does it become an Aura with the ability to enchant something. Reanimate simply puts the creature card back into play, without the creature being cast.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on possible infinite loop question
    Quote from vorropohaiah
    thanks - for future reference how do i add the card tags?

    One way is to type [c]One with Nothing[/c], which then shows up as One with Nothing. An in-depth explanation of other ways can be found here.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Plaxcaster Willbender
    Quote from Gashnaw
    1) If I use Plaxcaster Frogling to give a creature Shorud, Could i willbend that to a creature without a +1/+1 counter and would it still give that creature shroud?

    The Frogling's ability has a targeting restriction, the target has to have a +1/+1 counter on it. You can choose the Frogling's ability for Willbender's triggered ability, but when Willbender's ability resolves, you have to choose a new legal target for the Frogling's ability. So this doesn't work the way you want.
    2) If my Morphed creature had a +1/+1 counter on it, when it morphed would it keep the counters?

    Yes. The game object is still the same, it is simply changing some of its characteristics. All counters, auras and equipment stay on.
    (And for further question on this, Say i had Master Biomancer, would my Willbender gain counter's when turned face up?)

    No. Turning the Willbender face up does not constitute an enter-play event. It already was in play, but as above, it is merely changing its outfit.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Cast spell with Illegal Target
    Quote from marinermichael
    So to finish the thought . . . the Warning goes into affect and the player who got warned gets his Abrupt Decay back and lands go back untapped???

    Yes, that is exactly what Artscrafter meant when he said the game is backed up to the point the illegal action happened. You undo the illegal move(s) and then continue playing.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Does Jeleva follow the same rulings as things like the Nightveil Specter
    Quote from Zinriel
    In terms of when you exile a card with Nightveil Specter and you cast another, then the first get's killed, you cant cast cards exiled by the original one, even if the next one you cast is the same one from the grave or some such, is the same true for Jeleva, Nephalia's Scourge, or does it work differently because she's legendary or somthing?

    The rules are the same, an object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object without connection to the old object. Here is the complete rule, spoilered for length:

    400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are seven exceptions to this rule:

    400.7a. Effects from spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities that change the characteristics of a permanent spell on the stack continue to apply to the permanent that spell becomes.

    400.7b. Prevention effects that apply to damage from a permanent spell on the stack continue to apply to damage from the permanent that spell becomes.

    400.7c. If an ability of a permanent requires information about choices made as that permanent was cast as a spell, including what mana was spent to cast that spell, it uses information about the spell that became that permanent as it resolved.

    400.7d. Abilities that trigger when an object moves from one zone to another (for example, "When Rancor is put into a graveyard from the battlefield") can find the new object that it became in the zone it moved to when the ability triggered, if that zone is a public zone.

    400.7e. Abilities of Auras that trigger when the enchanted permanent leaves the battlefield can find the new object that Aura became in its owner's graveyard if it was put into that graveyard at the same time the enchanted permanent left the battlefield. It can also find the new object that Aura became in its owner's graveyard as a result of being put there as a state-based action for not being attached to a permanent. (See rule 704.5n.)

    400.7f. If an effect grants a nonland card an ability that allows it to be cast, that ability will continue to apply to the new object that card became after it moved to the stack as a result of being cast this way.

    400.7g. A resolving spell or activated ability can perform actions on an object that moved from one zone to another while that spell was being cast or that ability was being activated, if that object moved to a public zone.
    So while the rule itself gives some exceptions, none of those apply here. There is certainly no exception simply because Jeleva is legendary.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on [[Official]] Rules Resources outside of MTGS
    In this thread we want to collect links to rules related ressources outside of MTGS. If you have a project that you would like to see included here, drop any of us Rules Mods a message.

    I'll start with a few links off the top of my head, with no claim to completeness, and in no particular order.

    • Hyperlinked Comprehensive Rules - Just the Comprehensive rules, but the hyperlinks make it really convenient to hunt down specific rules.
    • Ask a Magic Judge 24/7 Rules Chat - Sometimes a chat is better than a message board. So if you are in a hurry to get a rules question answered, or want to profit from a live chat, this is the place for you. Usually you will get a rules conversation going within seconds, but as this chat room is populated completely by volunteers, overall activity will depend on the time of day.
    • Cranial Insertion - Weekly rules articles that used to be hosted here on Salvation, on their own host for a while now. They are always looking for new material, so feel free to send them your rules questions at [email][email protected][/email]. Short questions can also be tweeted to @CranialTweet.
    • Magic Rules Tips - Blog maintained by bimmerbot featuring daily rules tips covering a wide range from basic interactions to more intricate stuff.
    • Magic Tidbits - Steven Briggs' facebook page. See below for some more details.

    This is what Steven says about his facebook page:
    Quote from Fizban321 »
    Hi everyone! My name is Steven Briggs, and I am the Regional Coordinator for the Midwest Region of the Judge Program as well as a Level 3 judge. I would like to invite all of you to consider liking this new page, which delivers to you every weekday a snapshot of official rules or policy information. There are hundreds of pages of documents that govern our game, so our approach is to help you eat the elephant one tidbit at a time. Study a little each day, learn more about the game, and improve your playing and judging by doing so. Thanks in advance for checking it out.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Felidar Sovereign & Platinum Angel question
    Quote from ID15
    My Friend had FS out for several turns with his life way above 40, while I had my Platinum Angel out. My friend said that regardless of whose turn it was if someone used a Doom Blade (or something similar) on my Platinum Angel he would win instantly b/c he "should have" won several turns ago. My argument was that he would at least have to wait until his upkeep b/c that's when the ability triggers. Who is right in this situation?

    "Having won the game" is not a game state that's recognized by the rules. There are effects that make a player win the game when they resolve, and Felidar's trigger is exactly such an effect. If it is impossible for that player to win the game, the effect resolves doing nothing. So he'll have to wait until the next time the ability will resolve, and you were correct.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Chandra pryomaster rulings
    Quote from Drowning
    Would you mind explaining this in further detail to me?

    Im confused upon whether or not the damage to the creature is technically considered prevented or just never happening when it goes to resolution since it has been give pro red after it has been targeted.
    I thought the +1 abilitly of chandra(to the creature) would just fizzle never actually being prevented but instead just never resolves, and the only part of her abilitly that resolves(including the no block clause) is the 1 damage to the opponent.

    At first we need to clear up that "to fizzle" has no clearly defined meaning. The usual meaning is that a spell or ability is countered when all of their targets have become illegal, but that isn't the case here, so nothing is "fizzling" here. We have to look at this rule here:
    608.2b. If the spell or ability specifies targets, it checks whether the targets are still legal. A target that's no longer in the zone it was in when it was targeted is illegal. Other changes to the game state may cause a target to no longer be legal; for example, its characteristics may have changed or an effect may have changed the text of the spell. If the source of an ability has left the zone it was in, its last known information is used during this process. The spell or ability is countered if all its targets, for every instance of the word "target," are now illegal. If the spell or ability is not countered, it will resolve normally. However, if any of its targets are illegal, the part of the spell or ability's effect for which it is an illegal target can't perform any actions on that target, make another object or player perform any actions on that target, or make that target perform any actions. The effect may still determine information about illegal targets, though, and other parts of the effect for which those targets are not illegal may still affect them.
    The damage won't even try to happen. But the part that says that creature cannot block doesn't do anything that would be precluded by protection, and that part isn't targeted. That part of the effect modifies the rules of the game for that object, and it still happens.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on luminarch vs lifelink
    Quote from leimagnus
    If I have a Luminarch Ascension and a Ajani's Sunstriker and my opponent is attacking me with 2 Runeclaw Bear and I choose to block one of them, does my lifetotal chage? And can I put a counter on Luminarch in their endstep?

    While your life total doesn't change in a way that's visible, the game still "knows" that you did indeed lose life. The fact that you gained the life right back doesn't undo the life loss. This behavior is explained in this entry from Gatherer:
    Luminarch Ascension's first ability checks only whether life was lost. It doesn't care whether life was also gained. For example, if you lost 4 life and gained 6 life during the turn, you'll have a higher life total than you started the turn with -- but Luminarch Ascension's first ability won't trigger.
    So the Ascension won't trigger, and you won't get another quest counter.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on when did triggers change?
    Quote from Cortar
    Sorry meant without. Was typing too fast on my phone.

    So you mean to ask since when triggers without the word "may" are optional?

    Where did you read that this is the case? The only optional triggers are the ones with may in them. The most recent changes are that you are not required to remind your opponent of his triggered abilities, but you are still not allowed to miss your own triggers on purpose.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Young Pyromancer + Split Cards
    Quote from wingxero
    if i have 1 Young Pyromancer in play and i cast both Turn//Burn how many tokens will i have?

    One. You aren't casting two spells. Casting a split card with fuse is casting a single spell.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on is it just me or....
    Moved to Magic General.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • 1

    posted a message on Phantasmagorian - discarding 6 cards how?
    I know it's possible to discard 6 cards using 1 Phantasmagorian but I don't understand the process.


    Assuming I have Phantasmagorian in my graveyard I discard 3 cards from my hand which brings back my Phantasmagorian. How am I able to get 6 cards in the yard?

    Discarding three cards is the cost to activate Phantasmagorian's ability, but that is a normal activated ability which uses the stack, so it can be responded to normally. It furthermore has no additional timing or activation restrictions, so it is perfectly legal to activate the ability twice. Now, if you activate the ability once and let that resolve, you won't be able to activate the ability again.
    So what you do is you announce the ability, put it on the stack and pay the cost (discard three cards). Then, without passing priority you activate the ability again, paying the cost again. The net result is that you discarded six cards.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Theros God Card Removal (Modern)
    Quote from technofox
    I have been trying to research how to remove god cards and I have been getting mixed results. As I understand it, god cards are both a creature and an enchantment that is indestructible; therefore cannot be destroyed, so that leaves me with exiling the card.

    How would I exile the card???

    I was thinking Erase or Path to Exile (PtE) to make sure they never return. Now the real question is, is the removal based upon devotion?

    The characteristics of the God, so to say its actual appearance while on the battlefield depends on the controller's devotion. So the type of removal at your disposal is also dependent on devotion.

    (The questions below are for further clarification)
    Assuming that it is not based upon devotion, this leads two other questions:
    1. Can use PtE to exile a god card prior to it becoming a creature?


    2. Can use Erase to exile a god after it becomes a creature?

    To answer both questions in one fell swoop: A God is always an enchantment (barring other type-changing effects), but it is only a creature when the devotion of its controller is high enough. So Erase can always be used to exile a God, since it is always an enchantment. Path to Exile can only target creatures, so PtE cannot be used to exile a God that hasn't manifested as a creature.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Chandra Pyromaster Ultimate + Split Cards
    Quote from RealOG47
    So, I have two questions. First, what would you be able to copy with Chandra in the Turn//Burn scenario, and second, do you have to chose the same modes for all copies?

    Chandra, Pyromaster's ultimate copies cards, not spells, and then gives you the chance to cast those copies (just not from the hand, but from exile). So you have three copies of Turn//Burn sitting in exile, and for each of those copies you can choose to cast it without paying its mana cost. Since you are not casting these copies from the hand, you don't have the option to fuse the spell, but otherwise you are free to choose either half each time.
    (Choosing which half to cast is one of the choices made when casting a spell, and if you were to copy such a spell, you would only ever get a copy of the half that made it onto the stack, but keep in mind, in this case you are copying the card, not the spell. Since you cast each copy as an independent spell, you can even choose a different mode for cards like Izzet Charm each time.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Paying for Teysa's first ability...
    Quote from TigerDriver91
    In play is Teysa, Orzhov Scion, Sun Titan, and Saffi Eriksdotter.

    Do these 3 cards equal on-demand creature exile through the Titan + Saffi loop?

    You seem to be missing at least one key component here. Teysa demands a sacrifice of three white creatures, but in order to recur Sun Titan (to recur Saffi in the End) you need to sacrifice Saffi for her own ability.
    But since you cannot sacrifice Saffi twice, this combo doesn't work as presented.

    (Word to the wise: trying to figure out how to make this combo workable is not within the scope of this forum. So if anyone wants to post nothing but combo piece suggestions, do it via PM to the OP.)

    Quote from TigerDriver91
    The question to be more precise, is does the Teysa abiltity's "3 creatures" clause have to be at once? It does correct?

    So you can't sac Titan, bring him back with Saffi, sack Titan, bring him back, and then a third time to equal 3 white creatures?

    That's not possible. You have to pay the complete cost in one go. You cannot do partial payments, do something else and then pay the rest.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Wheel of Sun and Moon, milling, and library manipulation
    Quote from Fluke32
    So let's say I have a Wheel of Sun and Moon, Psychogenic Probe and a Seeker of Skybreak in play.

    I am sure that I can infinitely mill myself via the Probe + Seeker... but my question is can I rearrange the way my cards are put into the bottom of my library this way?

    Psychogenic Probe has nothing to do with milling. I am almost sure you mean Mesmeric Orb: You use Seeker of Skybreak to untap itself, and when the Seeker becomes untapped, the Orb triggers and you mill one. Rinse and repeat.
    But this doesn't allow you to rearrange the cards in your library, as Mesmeric Orb only ever mills one card, so you basically put the top card of the library to the bottom.
    If not, do I need an effect that puts multiple cards into my graveyard and find a way to do it infinitely so I can rearrange my deck?

    You need an effect that allows you to mill at least two cards at the same time, yes. See this ruling on Wheel of Sun and Moon:
    If multiple cards would be put into the enchanted player's graveyard at the same time (due to Millstone, for example), they are instead all revealed and put on the bottom of the enchanted player's library at the same time. That player chooses what order to put them in. The order is not revealed to the other players.
    With two cards at a time it is theoretically possible to bring your library into a desired order, although actually performing this in a tournament can be quite tedious and time consuming. And as this is a process that cannot be cut short, it has to be performed step by step at a reasonable pace.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on 2 ruling question (Regenerate and lure)
    Quote from Gashnaw
    A new question arose though
    Muraganda Petroglyphs means all creture with no bilities get +2/+2 (For example Grizzly Bear) But if I equipped a Grizzly Bear with Eldrazi Conscription, Would it be a 12/12 or a 14/14

    You have your answer, so I'll say something as a moderator here:
    If you have new questions, don't just edit them into the first post.

    If the new question is related to the thread, make a new post in the thread. In this case, though, as the question is completely unrelated, it really should have been a completely new thread.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Indestructibility ?'s
    Quote from quixotegut
    Player A controlled a creature who enchanted with Darksteel Mutation. Player B drops an Akroma's Vengance.

    Now, the way I saw it was that every permanent that fell into AM's criteria was hit with a destroy effect, this meant that Player A's enchanted creature, and the enchantment itself, are included, but due to the enchantment giving the creature Indestructibility until the AM resolves only the enchantment gets blown up (as it itself is not indestructible) and the spell finishes completing everything it can accomplish and resolves completely.

    It was argued that the creature till has a "destroy" effect on him until the end of turn and that with Darksteel Mutation gone, it is now destroyed.

    What's right here?

    You are correct here for the reason you stated. The second line of arguing has no basis in the rules. A destroy effect destroys the object then and there (if it can), but it doesn't get marked on the creature like lethal damage is.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Doubling Season and Mortarpod
    Double-post to bump with the actual rule now after some more digging:
    301.5c. An Equipment that's also a creature can't equip a creature. An Equipment that loses the subtype "Equipment" can't equip a creature. An Equipment can't equip itself. An Equipment that equips an illegal or nonexistent permanent becomes unattached from that permanent but remains on the battlefield. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.) An Equipment can't equip more than one creature. If a spell or ability would cause an Equipment to equip more than one creature, the Equipment's controller chooses which creature it equips.
    This part of the rule was added as a result of the discussions I linked to in my previous post and was added before Dark Ascension, precisely to put this matter to rest.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Doubling Season and Mortarpod
    Quote from Warp
    One could argue that an equipment trying to attach itself to two creatures is an impossible instruction, and thus should be ignored...

    One could also argue that you simply convert the instruction to the sequential "attach to one, then to the other", which leads to the same end result: the equipment will be attached to one token, and not attached to the other. And as the tokens are indistinguishable from one another, it doesn't even matter which order is chosen. Yes, sometimes the game has to deal with "implicit choices", and no, this is a concept that is not explicitly stated in the rules.

    ETA: Found the Cranial Insertion article.. here. I know it can be frustrating sometimes to get an answer that has no explicit backing in the rules, but this is the answer in this case. (One of the authors of CI is Eli Shiffrin. He is one of the guys who actually make rules, not just "rulings" Wink )

    Another ETA: And to put this matter to rest, as far as the validity of the answer is concerned, here is Natedogg's [O]-fficial answer, confirming the answer I gave.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Snap casting Ancestral Visions
    Quote from Monkmiroku
    Snap caster states that the flashback cost is equal to its casting cost. However, Ancestral Vision literally has no casting cost, and it has no Cmc as a result. It's not 0,it just doesn't have one if I'm correct.

    You are correct, Ancestral Vision has a casting cost of [This space intentionally left blank], which constitutes an unpayable cost. AV cannot be flashbacked with Snapcaster Mage, as you cannot pay the flashback cost of {empty}.
    Added bonus question : geth-ing someone's lotus bloom?

    Geth, Lord of the Vault, Lotus Bloom.
    That is perfectly fine, and it would cost {B}, as Geth's ability actually does look at the artifact's converted mana cost, and the cmc of objects with no mana cost is defined as 0.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Doubling Season and Mortarpod
    Quote from Warp
    Can you give a reference to the comprehensive rules to support that ruling?

    As you searched the rules yourself, you are well aware that this is not written out verbatim.
    This behavior basically boils down to "ignoring impossible instructions", followed by a dose of "do as much as you can", mixed with a dash of common sense: You cannot attach one equipment to two tokens, so you don't. But you cannot leave the equipment completely unattached, because you can do the next best thing. You choose one token to get the equipment.

    I am damn near certain that this question was on Cranial Insertion not too long ago (probably during the past year), but I have trouble locating the issue in question.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on tenacious D/ Ogre Slumlord/ Purphoros, god
    Quote from Doomgazer
    so here's my question: does the death(?) of Tenacious Dead work with Ogre Slumlord and does the return of Tenac D affect Purphoros, God of the Forge?

    and a side question, do the tokens from Goblin Rally (and rat tokens from Ogre Slumlord) count for Purphoros?

    Tenacious Dead, Ogre Slumlord, Purphoros, God of the Forge, Goblin Rally

    Yes to all. When Tenacious Dead leaves the battlefield, it will trigger the ability of Ogre Slumlord. Tenacious Dead having an ability allowing it to return shortly afterwards doesn't undo the fact that it died. And when Ten D comes back, it will in turn trigger Purphoros' damage dealing ability. Since Purphoros' ability doesn't specify that the entering creatures must be non-token creatures, the ability will also be triggered by the Slumlord's rats and the Rally's goblin tokens.
    (Side note: "do the tokens count for Purphoros?" could also be read as if you are asking if the tokens raise your devotion. As the tokens have no mana symbols on them, they don't count for devotion.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Responding to Sol Ring
    Quote from frankiecrisp
    First time posting here, I looked over the rules and I think this is where my question goes.

    Yes, your question goes here. But it seems you overlooked the part telling you to use card tags when asking rules questions about specific cards: [c]Sol Ring[/c] -> Sol Ring, Aether Vial, Flickerwisp.
    Quote from frankiecrisp
    So anyways, I was playing a game against a friend and he tapped Sol Ring, in response I tapped my AEther Vial and played Flickerwisp targeting the Sol Ring. We both agreed that Sol Ring's ability wouldn't resolve and he wouldn't get the mana. I thought I'd ask here though because I'm unsure of how mana may complicate things here. Is this how the situation was supposed to play out or did we misinterpret the rules?

    The way you played it out was incorrect. Sol Ring has a mana ability (an untargeted ability that adds mana to a mana pool), and such abilities don't use the stack. As soon as the ability is announced, it resolves, and it cannot be responded to.
    And even if Sol Ring did use the stack, he still would get the mana, as abilities on the stack are independent of their sources.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on Multiple spells on the stack
    Quote from Steamsteam
    Five spells on the stack. My turn for priority. I cast A counter spell targeting the first spell that was put onto the stack (now five below mana drain).

    My question is basically; must I only counter the target spell which was placed on the stack most recently, or can i couter any spell currently on the stack.

    I'll try an analogy: When Doom Blade says "destroy target creature", can it only target the creature that entered play last? No, it can target any creature. Cancel says "counter target spell", not "counter the topmost spell", so you can target any spell currently on the stack.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • 0

    posted a message on merieke vs thassa
    Quote from 2goth4U
    1) please auto card

    Please, no backseat modding.

    If you see a problem with a post, simply report it and let us mods handle it. Thanks!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.