• 0

    posted a message on Some of my gold cards don't have that foil icon on the bottom.
    Some of my gold cards don't have that foil icon on the bottom. Is this normal for these cards?

    Posted in: Magic General
  • 0

    posted a message on First Strike & Blocking
    Quote from Artscrafter »
    Yes, blocking creatures can benefit from first strike. (Wall of Razors wouldn't make much sense otherwise.)

    Creatures don't attack twice, even with double strike, though a creature with double strike will generally deal combat damage twice. What happens is that the combat phase will have two separate combat damage steps if a creature with first strike or double strike is involved.

    First, creatures with first strike or double strike deal damage.

    Then, creatures with double strike and those that didn't deal damage the first time deal damage.

    A creature that just has first strike only deals combat damage once.


    Perfectly understood, thanks!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 0

    posted a message on First Strike & Blocking
    When my creature with first strike blocks, does it get first dibs? I know attacking will allow it to attack before the enemy.

    Another question is, is first strike creatures able to do 2 separate attacks during it's attack turn, like double strike?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 0

    posted a message on Learning Madness
    Gotcha guys, I totally get it now! Thanks a bunch! This is the hardest "key word action" I've ever had to learn, trying to learn it was madness!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 0

    posted a message on Learning Madness
    Quote from willdice »
    When you discard (for whatever reason) a card with Madness, the card goes to the Exile zone rather than the Graveyard. If that was part of a spell or ability, the rest of the effect finishes resolving before anything else.

    Then, you may cast that card from the exile zone. You follow all steps of casting the spell - you move it to the Stack zone, choose targets if needed (like a creature or player for Fiery Temper), and calculate then pay its total cost (using the madness cost as the 'base' cost rather than its regular mana cost).

    From there, it works like regular spell of its type. When it resolves, if it is an instant or sorcery, it has its effect and goes to the graveyard (not exile). If it is a permanent type like a creature, it enters the battlefield.

    I don't know what you mean with "The creature has no spells to cast". The creature is the spell, creatures don't "have" spells.


    Sorry mate, I now know that creatures are also spells. I was intended to say creatures are separate from other spells like enchantments and instants, and that creatures don't contain wordings such as Deal 3 damage to target creature or player.

    Quote from Rezzahan »
    All madness spells work the same. Your understanding is not yet correct. Madness consists of several steps. First, when something makes you discard the madness card, you exile it. This triggers the second part of the madness ability, and that goes on the stack where it has to wait until it gets to resolve (all players can do stuff before this happens). When the trigger resolves, you get to cast the spell, prety much like normal, except that you play the card from exile, the casting cost is the madness cost, and the timing is unusual. when you cast the spell, it goes onto the stack, and from there on it behaves like any other spell. Nothing in the madness ability makes it exile again, the card goes whereever it would normally go when the spell resolves, and stays there. Instants and sorceries go to the graveyard, and any permanent spell is put on the battlefield as a permanent.


    So before resolving, the card goes to a stack, is this stack the exile? And WOW! HOLY...., you mean when I cast a creature spell through madness, it goes to the battlefield instead of being used just once and going to the grave afterward?

    I believe I have a significantly better understanding of the mechanics of madness. Thanks for help Rezzahan and wildice
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 0

    posted a message on Learning Madness
    I've Google'd and try to read what Madness do, however I am a newbie. I don't understand the Magic language all that much, so I try to translate it to newbie Magic language. I've kind of learned Madness earlier from the Chat room here on MTGSalvation.

    When your opponent cast a spell to make you discard a card in your hand. You exile it and then pay it's madness cost to cast a spell from a card, let's say the card is a instant and it's name is Fiery Temper. You cast that instant and then it goes to exile.

    I think I understand how to use madness on spells. However my question is, what if it is a creature with madness? The creature has no spells to cast, let's say it's a Bloodmad Vampire. When I am able to discard it to exile, I cast it's madness, then what does it do? It has no spells.

    Here's how I think it works? - When I exile it from madness, then do I just use my creature to attack once more before it permanently goes into exile?

    I hope you guys understand where I am coming from, I am kind of bad at writing and may confuse some of you guys, which I hope not too much..
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 0

    posted a message on Are the four Planeschase Anthology decks compatible with Standard play?
    Thanks a bunch you guys! I just recently joined this forum and it's way worth the signup. All these information are very useful.
    Posted in: Standard (Type 2)
  • 0

    posted a message on Are the four Planeschase Anthology decks compatible with Standard play?
    Thanks guys, I got the PM Wizard, thanks.

    I have another newbie question. Let's say I am doing this based off standard play; If I were to buy two deck builder sets that are in the current blocks list, are the two decks interchangeable with each other if I were to combine them to build my own deck? If they can be combined, are they still "technically" usable in play? Meaning do a lot of people do it or does it significantly drop your win-rate because there are so many different cards containing different things from different sets? Thanks!

    EDIT: Also, Can I play standard rules without the rule that it has to be in the current block? Thanks.
    Posted in: Standard (Type 2)
  • 0

    posted a message on Are the four Planeschase Anthology decks compatible with Standard play?
    Thanks a bunch. I'm going to buy two intro packs and go on from there. Going to play with a friend and teach and learn as the games flow on.

    WizardMN, do you by any chance go to Air Traffic's (@MOA of course) MTG meet-ups? How often do you guys get newbies like me in to play? I just don't want to go there and it'd be all awkward. However I figured that'd be the best way to learn, by playing with other newbies and watching the pros play. I bet Air Traffic in MOA is packed to hell since all the other locations sadly closed down.
    Posted in: Standard (Type 2)
  • 0

    posted a message on Are the four Planeschase Anthology decks compatible with Standard play?
    Quote from WizardMN »
    The format specific rules (Vintage, Legacy, Modern, Standard, Pauper, Commander, etc.) all deal with deck construction limitations only. The rules of the game are all the same. If you are not playing in a tournament, it doesn't matter what format you choose to play.

    That being said, cards in the Planechase Anthology are not legal in Standard. Standard consists of a card pool using the last 3-4 blocks released by Wizards and Planechase is not a block. It is a supplemental set so it is outside the card pool for Standard (and Modern for that matter). There may be some cards legal in Standard that are printed in Planechase, but some are not.



    The four blocks are, Kaladesh, Eldrich Moon, Shadows Over Innistrad, Oath of the Gatewatch? Is there premade decks consisting of cards in these 4 blocks? If so, please suggest them. Thanks!
    Posted in: Standard (Type 2)
  • 0

    posted a message on Are the four Planeschase Anthology decks compatible with Standard play?
    Hey. I am a newbie here. I've Googled a bit and Youtubed a bit and find that some people say the Planeschase Anthology set is not worth the price, however that doesn't change my decision of wanting it.

    I used to play Magic about 5 years ago and I totally forgot how to play because it's been so long. However I have been binging on playing Magic Duels and regain some knowledge back. I now want to start up playing again and teach my friends how to play. I was wondering if I can use 1 of the 4 decks and my friend use 1 of the 4 decks as well, is it possible to play under standard rules with those decks?

    I am going to want to know more about the style of playing standard. I've decided that playing in real life with friends and other people at the weekly MTG meet-up at a local hobby store will help.

    Thanks for taking your times reading this, hope to hear your replies.

    EDIT: I forgot to add; If there are other or ways or sets to better play MTG Standard rather than just the Planechase Anthology set? If so, please enlighten me. Thanks.
    Posted in: Standard (Type 2)
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.