We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.
Dismiss
 
Treasure Cruisin' with Monogreen Stompy
 
Chandra, Gideon, and the Purifying Fire
 
Treasure Cruisin' with Norin's Sisters
  • 0

    posted a message on Claim//Fame (Masters of Modern preview)
    Quote from drakeavril »
    So if you "Claim" a Snapcaster Mage, can it target the original claim to flash it back to bring back another snapcaster?
    By the time you put Snapcaster's EBT trigger on the stack, Claim is finished resolving and in your graveyard, so that should work just fine.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 0

    posted a message on 6/21 Mothership Spoilers - Hour of Glory + PW Deck Cards


    Also, it's kind of a shame that Hour of Glory is just instant speed Oblivion Strike. It's not that glorious.
    Well to put things in perspective, in mono-black there are only 3 instant or sorcery cards that exile a creature for less than 4 mana (reliably, Nemesis Trap can situationally cost less but generally costs more and is far more limited): Ashes to Ashes, which exiles 2 creatures but they have to be non-artifacts and you take 5 damage, at sorcery for 3 CMC, Cannibalize, which requires you to target 2 creatures but they both have to be controlled by the same player and you only exile 1 of them and put counters on the other, another sorcery at 2 CMC, and the far more recently printed Complete Disregard, which is an instant for 3 CMC but only exiles creatures with power 3 or less.

    This effect in black basically always costs at least 4 mana and it's usually at sorcery speed, and it's ridiculously uncommon for the color (I believe this brings us to 12 examples in total) - of the tiny subset that can target anything at instant, this is arguably the best (Silence the Believers is the same CMC but has heavier black requirements).
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 0

    posted a message on MTGGoldfish spoilers: Hate cards
    Quote from Shaka »
    Is it for sure that Solemnity stops replacement effects such as on Tendo Ice Bridge?
    I suppose it's possible the rules might change, but yeah, as of the current rule set it is 100% for sure, things that would enter with counters enter with none instead. Unless they are planeswalkers.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 1

    posted a message on 6/21 Mothership Spoilers - Hour of Glory + PW Deck Cards
    Quote from Hawk7915 »
    Talk about a disappointing rare; that's a lot of trinket text for two rarity leaps up from Oblivion Strike.
    To be fair, that wasn't an instant.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 1

    posted a message on Driven 2 Despair via ArsTechnika
    Quote from justavictim82 »
    Quote from DemilichKodin »
    I will take this in my Dredge 75. 1B to usually clean out your hand on Turn 3 is something I will gladly sign up for.


    Except that does not work. You cannot just cast the Aftermath piece outside of the grave yard. You need to cast Driven first.
    Given they mentioned playing it in Dredge, I would imagine it got put into a graveyard directly from the library. Because Dredge.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 0

    posted a message on MTGGoldfish spoilers: Hate cards
    Quote from retizen »
    but if the auramancers are sacrificed without a vanishing counter, you get the enchantment tutor. so auramancers with a way to sac them works hopefully
    There's no hopefully about it, that's exactly how they work, it's one of the card rulings on Gatherer; the second ability doesn't care why they went to the graveyard, just that they didn't have any time counters on them when they did.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 0

    posted a message on MTGGoldfish spoilers: Hate cards
    Quote from Zhero »
    Quote from orlouge82 »
    Quote from retizen »
    how does solemnity work with vanishing, i.e. lost auramancers?


    You'd have to wait until your upkeep, but it would be sacrificed that first upkeep after it entered the battlefield.


    That`s not right. Creatures already in play with vanishing won`t be affected by it, they will just lose counters and vanish as normal. But new ones entering the battlefield won`t get any time counter and will stick, since the sacrifice condition is tied to removing the last time counter.
    Correct, that explanation is exactly how cards with Fading would interact with Solemnity though.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 0

    posted a message on MTGGoldfish spoilers: Hate cards
    Quote from ThirdDegree »
    How does solemnity work with suspend cards? Are they excluded from the 'no counters' clause since they are exiled?

    My thought is that they are just permanently in exile, since the last counter coming off is what triggers the cast
    There is no interaction between suspend and Solemnity, suspend puts time counters on a card in exile, but Solemnity only prevents permanents on the battlefield and players from getting counters. You may be suspending a creature card, but until it's actually on the battlefield it's not a "creature" for effects that care about that (which is why effects that do care about card types in zones other then the battlefield specify cards or spells in their text).
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 0

    posted a message on MTGGoldfish spoilers: Hate cards
    Quote from ReAnimator »
    Does solemnity work well with cumulative upkeep? You can't put an age counter on the permanent but you can still pay the cost equal to the number of age counters?
    Assuming you have this out before cumulative upkeep has had a chance to trigger and give the permanent in question a counter already, you would put no counters on it and then sacrifice it if you don't pay the upkeep cost for each counter on it, but because that would be 0, you are not actually required to pay anything, and failing to pay won't result in having to sacrifice the permanent.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 1

    posted a message on Pride Sovereign - Cat Tribal Card by Magic the Amateuring
    Quote from damagecase »
    Rules question related to this: can you exert while attacking considering the tapping is a part of the exert cost?
    Yes and no - tapping a permanent isn't actually a cost of Exert, all that does is specify that a permanent won't untap during your next untap step. Actually tapping the creature is not required, it's just that all the prior Exert creatures only let you choose to Exert them when they were declared as attackers, which normally involves tapping (which is why giving the Exert creatures from Amonkhet vigilance completely mitigates the downside). This creature just happens to have an activated ability that requires tapping it AND exerting it (and a mana payment), so unless you give it vigilance or untap it via other means after you declare it as an attacker, you could not normally attack and also activate the ability during the same turn because you would not be able to pay the costs.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 0

    posted a message on Mirage Mirror via Blake Rasmussen's Twitter
    Quote from Ryperior74 »
    Quote from orlouge82 »
    Quote from Ryperior74 »
    Oh this one I came up with is just disgusting

    Celestial Convergence

    Shoot it with the mirror the game just ends because it said when there are no counters.


    You'd have to be able to activate the mirror BEFORE the beginning of your upkeep, which you cannot. The win-con ability is tied to removing a counter at the beginning of your upkeep.


    Effect of card: Celestial Convergence enters the battlefield with seven omen counters on it.
    At the beginning of your upkeep, remove an omen counter from Celestial Convergence. If there are no omen counters on Celestial Convergence, the player with the highest life total wins the game. If two or more players are tied for highest life total, the game is a draw.

    It's the moment it has no counters is when it activates. It has nothing to do with the upkeep.
    That's all one paragraph, the end the game clause isn't a separate ability that gets checked for during the other steps and phases. That being said, you CAN make this combo work, you would just need to have multiple upkeeps first.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 0

    posted a message on Mirage Mirror via Blake Rasmussen's Twitter
    Quote from Spaz350 »
    True enough... does this have the same interaction with Dark Depths as Thespian's Stage does, then?
    It would, yes.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 0

    posted a message on Mirage Mirror via Blake Rasmussen's Twitter
    Quote from Spaz350 »
    That is amazing with mana up. Pay two to copy, say, Invisible Stalker, go to combat and attack, then after blockers are declared, pay another 2 two become, say, Blightsteel Colossus to kill someone via infect. Tons of shenanigans here!
    That won't work, note that it does not say "and gains this ability" on the card. You can stack activations but you won't be able to do shenanigans involving changing steps or phases because it loses the activated ability once the first copy effect resolves.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 0

    posted a message on Uhh I think wizards has a problem on their hand (Ixalan)
    Quote from Ryperior74 »
    What I'm hoping for is if this means all walkers including ones from the past (excluding the baby Gatewatch and commander 2014) can be commanders in commander now
    Merely making planeswalkers legendary would not let them be commanders, for the same reason things like Bow of Nylea can't be your commander now - you need a legendary creature , and planeswalkers are non-creature permanents. The 10 planeswalkers that can be commanders now either start out as creatures (Origins flip-walkers) or have a rules exception specifically allowing them to be your commander printed on them.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 1

    posted a message on From the Vault: Transform
    Quote from Bridius »
    Quote from Hellknight »
    Could they give us a new and actually "good" Werewolf Legendary for Commander purposes in this?.


    There's no chance that FtV would have new cards. It's sold as a product made for collecting older cards.
    While I agree with your conclusion, FTV has featured non-reprint cards before (Mikaeus, the Lunarch was featured in FTV: Legends before Innistrad was released), so if an upcoming set were to include such a werewolf, it wouldn't be unprecedented (just very unlikely).
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.