I was playing B/W Tokens against someone playing a U/R Spells deck. On my turn I played Syndicate Trafficker on my turn and I had control of a clue. It resolved then on my opponent's turn he played a Harnessed Lightning and payed 1 energy and targeted my Trafficker. In response I sacrificed the clue, giving him a +1/+1 counter and indestructible until end of turn. In response he played a Galvanic Bombardment. The ruling was that my Syndicate Trafficker died and my clue was lost. Is that the proper ruling?