I found this today, from Mark Rosewater, which isn't the direct question, but does actual answer whether you can use the Japanese cards for extra numerals, and the answer is yes. (sorry had to put *** instead of the Japanese words as mtgsalvation doesn't have functionality for it)Quote from plkjasonhk »If you don't mind playing foreign cards, Japanese cards actually translate English number words or articles (e.g. one, two, three, a, an) and the word 'target' into numerals. Here are some cards that would include all five numerals in the text box in Japanese version.
According to the rulings about watermarks, the effect should consider what is actually printed on the cards. So, it should work?
piogre asked: You've said that you can't change "Draw a card" to "Draw two cards" with More or Less, because "a" isn't a number word. However, the Japanese translation of "Draw a card", which appears on cards that make you draw a card, is ***, and you'll notice there's a numeral 1 in there. If you change that 1 to a 2, *** means "Draw two cards" -- so can I change *** on a Japanese-printed card to *** using More or Less?
If you have a version that uses a number yes, you can do that, but you have to actually have that version of the card.