All users will need to merge their MTGSalvation account with a new or existing Twitch account starting Sept 25th. You can merge your accounts by clicking here. Have questions? Learn more here.
Dismiss
 
The Magic Market Index for Oct 20, 2017
 
The Magic Market Index for Oct 13, 2017
 
The World of Kamigawa
  • posted a message on [PRIMER] The Pirate God
    There seem to be a number of tokens decks getting good results, and devoting a sideboard slot or two might not be a bad idea. Doomfall and Duress seem like good options against tokens to nab Anointed Procession/Hidden Stockpile,Legion's Landing but I think those decks also underline the value of Gonti, Lord of Luxury in the main. I hate to think Make Obsolete might be playable, but it essentially acts as a 3-mana instant-speed one-sided wrath against tokens, and might be worth consideration if those decks keep putting up results...
    Posted in: Deck Creation (Standard)
  • posted a message on [PRIMER] The Pirate God
    It sure seems like you'd want to fit Gonti, Lord of Luxury into the 75 somehow. Maybe as a 2-of in the sideboard for the mirror and matchups where you're likely to face Bristling Hydra and/or Carnage Tyrant? I feel that Jace, Cunning Castaway is the weakest card in the 75 and you might stand to lose another Essence Extraction as well. Gonti just seems so good in a deck with Hostage Taker--you could build up a pile of your opponent's cards to cast with the same shenanigans you described with Champion of Wits.

    Posted in: Deck Creation (Standard)
  • posted a message on Solemnity in sideboard?
    Quote from Colt47 »
    I think it's mostly that it's slow and finding slots to sub in a preventative hate card like it over some removal is difficult. It's pretty nasty against energy, though.


    I dunno. On the play, it seems like it’s right on curve. If they T1 Attune with Aetherand then T2 longtusk cub(or servant of the conduit, or winding constrictor), isn’t it better to cast Solemnity on T3 than to cast a removal spell, or to keep lands up for a counterspell? Solemnity hoses the engine of their deck, and removal/counters just get rid of one threat.

    I realize I may just be shouting into the wind, but seems like great sideboard hate for a large portion of the meta. To which the appropriate response might just be “then you should test it out/play it...” Smile

    Posted in: Standard (Type 2)
  • posted a message on Solemnity in sideboard?
    I was perusing the decklists from SCG Dallas and was a bit puzzled by how few WU Control/Esper Gift/Esper Control decks had copies of Solemnity in their sideboards--my MTGGoldfish search returned just a single sideboard copy in the top 64 (the 19th place WU Gift deck).

    It seems to me that with the heavy representation of energy decks in the meta--fully half of the top-12 decks were either Sultai or Temur energy--you'd want a sideboard card that completely hoses energy's gameplan if you have any splash of white and you're not relying on counters yourself.

    Just curious if folks had thoughts on why that was the case. Was it overlooked? Tested and rejected? Too much competition for the 3-drop spot? I'm wrapping my head around some new standard decks, and it seems like you'd want to have access to Solemnity for energy matchups and Authority of the Consuls for the RDW matchup...
    Posted in: Standard (Type 2)
  • posted a message on Mirage Mirror questions (exert and edifice of authority)
    There were a couple of interesting Mirage Mirror interactions this weekend that I hadn't seen rulings on and thought I would ask in case they come up again:

    1. Mirage Mirror/Exert. With Mirage Mirror on the board, I cast Emberhorn Minotaur, then pay 2 to have Mirage Mirror Copy the minotaur. If I attack with exert, does the Mirage Mirror untap on my next untap phase? I think that it doesn't, but looking for confirmation.

    2. Mirage Mirror/Edifice of Authority. In my precombat main phase, I activate Mirage Mirror to copy a creature. Before attackers are declared, my opponent activates Edifice of Authority's second mode. Can I activate Mirage Mirror a second time to copy something else? Can I activate Mirage Mirror on my opponent's turn (after it's no longer a copy of the creature targeted by Edifice)?

    What if I activate the mirror on my opponent's turn to copy a creature and declare as a blocker? If my opponent activates Edifice's second mode targeting the mirror/creature, when is the next time I can activate the mirror--my turn (because it ceases to be a creature) or my opponent's next turn?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Glyph Keeper questions
    Would appreciate a couple of clarifications on Glyph Keeper:

    1. If my opponent casts Fumigate when Glyph Keeper is on the battlefield, it dies, correct?
    2. If I cast Glyph Keeper and my opponent casts Essence Scatter (targeting Glyph Keeper when it is on the stack), Glyph Keeper is countered because its static ability only works when it's on the battlefield, correct?

    Thanks in advance!

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Yahenni's Expertise: 2 questions
    I'm always impressed by the promptness of responses to questions, and how helpful those responses are. Thank you all!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Yahenni's Expertise: 2 questions
    Apologies if answers to these are already out there, but I couldn't find them with the search function...

    Question one: Do creatures cast after Yahenni's Expertise resolves (but not cast with the "free" <3 CMC spell) also get -3/-3?

    Example: I cast Yahenni's Expertise in my first main phase and choose not to cast the "free" <3 CMC spell. Priority passes and the spell resolves, giving all creatures -3/-3 until end of turn. Then, still in my first main phase, I cast Yahenni, Undying Partisan, and my opponent responds by casting Torrential Gearhulk. Yahenni presumably resolves, but does Yahenni then get -3/-3? Does the Gearhulk?

    Question two: Do permanents that become creatures after Yahenni's Expertise resolves also get -3/-3?

    Example: I cast Yahenni's Expertise in my first main phase and choose not to cast the "free" <3 CMC spell. Priority passes and the spell resolves, giving all creatures -3/-3 until end of turn. Before moving to combat, I activate Wandering Fumerole, use its ability to make it a 4/1 so I can tap it to crew my Skysovereign, Consul Flagship. Does Wandering Fumerole die when I make it a 4/1 (because it has -3/-3)?

    Other example: I cast Yahenni's Expertise in my first main phase and choose not to cast the "free" <3 CMC spell. Priority passes and the spell resolves, giving all creatures -3/-3 until end of turn. Before moving to combat, I tap Lupine Prototype (now a 2/2) to crew Renegade Freighter. Does Renegade Freighter die the moment I crew it and it becomes a creature?

    Thanks in advance!

    Cody
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on BG/x Constrictor
    Any thoughts on splashing white for Anguished Unmaking? Traverse the Ulvenwald helps fix the mana base, and splashing also gives you access to Shambling Vent which seems like a good way to get more creatures on the board vs. control. I'm a big fan of instant-speed "get rid of this card" and it's nice to have a versatile answer to both big bodies that Grasp of Darkness can't hit, plus artifacts, enchantments, and planeswalkers depending on what the situation calls for.

    I also really want Renegade Rallier to work to bring back Grim Flayer and Scrapheap Scrounger for free.
    Posted in: Standard Archives
  • posted a message on Metallic Mimic, Hardened Scales and Hangarback Walker
    I don't know if it would be better to ask this question here (because it is very similar) or start a new thread, but I have a similar question about how Metallic Mimic, Winding Constrictor, and Walking Ballista interact.

    If I name "construct" with Metallic Mimic and then cast Walking Ballista with X as 1 with Winding Constrictor in play, the Walking Ballista would enter with 3 +1/+1 counters, right? And if X is 2, then it would have 4 +1/+1 counters? (So, in other words, it's X+2 counters)?

    Thanks in advance.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Spell Queller and Essence Flux Interactions?
    Ah yes...RTFM...I did miss that.

    Thanks for the quick response!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Spell Queller and Essence Flux Interactions?
    Forgive me for what might be a dumb question (I started playing before there was a "stack" and I'm only recently getting back to the game...)

    The text of Essence Flux reads "Exile target creature you control, then return that card to the battlefield under its owner's control."

    In the OP's example, wouldn't the Spell Queller be an illegal target for Essence Flux because, before it resolves and lands on the battlefield, it is only a creature spell, not a "creature you control"?

    It seems to me to be similar to how Avoid Fate works...if Player A casts Loam Dryad and Player B casts Counterspell, I don't think Player A can use Avoid Fate to counter the Counterspell because the Loam Dryad is not a "permanent [Player A] control(s)," it's just a creature spell on the stack.

    Am I missing something?

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.