All users will need to merge their MTGSalvation account with a new or existing Twitch account starting Sept 25th. You can merge your accounts by clicking here. Have questions? Learn more here.
Dismiss
 
Lineage 2 Revolution DB
 
Jaya Ballard Returns
 
The Magic Market Index for Nov 17, 2017
  • posted a message on Full Spoiler is up
    Quote from Cyborg Huey »
    Quote from SilverWolf_27 »
    Quote from Cyborg Huey »
    Kinda sad that there isn't a W/U legendary creature for un-mander

    The Calcutron was originally meant to be allowed as a commander, but it didn't fit in the text box, according to MaRo.

    Day 0 errata? Lol

    Not really, it was originally meant so but it was dropped later. Nothing keeps you from adjusting the house rules for your group, though.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Full Spoiler is up
    Quote from Cyborg Huey »
    Kinda sad that there isn't a W/U legendary creature for un-mander

    The Calcutron was originally meant to be allowed as a commander, but it didn't fit in the text box, according to MaRo.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Mana Source Spoiler The Big Idea
    This guy really likes his schemes Squirrel-powered...
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on The Immortal Sun and a black Dino
    Am I the only one bugged by the fact that a dinosaur based visually on a ceratopsid is flavored as a carnivore hunting its prey?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Super-Duper Death Ray
    Quote from Leidnix »
    This looks like it could someday be a real card.

    probably with a new keyword or with the effect simply spelled out, though.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Legendary Previews
    Quote from Darklich528 »
    Quote from SilverWolf_27 »
    Quote from Kazooki117 »
    Quote from SilverWolf_27 »
    Concerning Mary, it's pretty clear from the wording that you can use it from hand. "Switch a killbot or Mary in your hand with one on the battlefield". What's there not to understand?


    Well, all that means to me is that if Mary is on the battlefield, you can switch a killbot or another Mary that is in your hand with a Mary or killbot on the battlefield. But not necessarily that you can activate the ability from your hand.

    That would be pretty weird on a legendary creature, and not in a good way. Having one die instantly to the legend rule would limit its use considerably.

    Switching a Mary for a Mary does not invoke the legend rule, and it's a pretty decent play to dodge spot removal.

    Except it is not, since the one you switch in will still be targeted. Or do I understand the switch wrong?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Baron Von Count
    Quote from AnImAr_ »
    I guess "destroy target player" is synonymous with "target player loses the game" for rules purposes.


    Unless they are indestructible.


    Or you have Rules Lawyer on the board?

    I think not, kill spels still work with the lawyer out, right? He stops only damage and -X/-X.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Baron Von Count
    They did it. They printed a card with "destroy target player". Unstable just keeps on delivering.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Jackknight - MTG JP Twitter spoiler
    Quote from AntiPox »
    Huh, I wonder if this set will have actual chase cards. Probably not? (Other than basics, haha)

    Yes, the tokens.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Split Screen - You Now Have 4 Libraries - gatheringmagic.com Spoiler
    Plays well with Laboratory Maniac, you have to mill just one of your small libraries...
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Legendary Previews
    Quote from aguyyouknow »
    Hold on... Since the article doesn't mention it... could you use Mary's activated ability to effectively steal an opponent's Mary O'Kill (assuming they don't have the mana up to activate it in response to flip it back to hand) or killbot, because it doesn't specify which side of the battlefield the target needs to be on? OMG

    You can't activate abilities of permanenets you don't control unless specifically said so, so you can't switch their Mary for your killbot but you probably can do it the other way around. The question is why, unless we get a killbot better than a 5/5.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Legendary Previews
    Quote from Kazooki117 »
    Quote from SilverWolf_27 »
    Concerning Mary, it's pretty clear from the wording that you can use it from hand. "Switch a killbot or Mary in your hand with one on the battlefield". What's there not to understand?


    Well, all that means to me is that if Mary is on the battlefield, you can switch a killbot or another Mary that is in your hand with a Mary or killbot on the battlefield. But not necessarily that you can activate the ability from your hand.

    That would be pretty weird on a legendary creature, and not in a good way. Having one die instantly to the legend rule would limit its use considerably.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Legendary Previews
    Concerning Mary, it's pretty clear from the wording that you can use it from hand. "Switch a killbot or Mary in your hand with one on the battlefield". What's there not to understand?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Jackknight - MTG JP Twitter spoiler
    Quote from AntiPox »
    Quote from Gutterstorm »
    I'm usually not the one to do this but... Rare? This cat is easily uncommon. A strong uncommon but certainly a disappointing rare.
    My gut tells me this card is actually secretly nuttity nuts in limited. Have you seen how many cards are artifacts/make contraptions so far?

    Especially if you consider that the whole WU faction is composed of artifact creatures...
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Magic: the Amateuring spoilers
    Quote from Quannage »
    You do realize that this (Party Crasher) is going to become an actual black-bordered mechanic sooner or later, right?
    it's just too cool a mechanic NOT to be legal.

    Not so sure about that, both players would have to declare attackers at once to prevent one reacting to the other, which would be kinda messy in 1v1, not to mention multiplayer. It would require writing down the attackers in secret and then revealing them or something like that. Of course, it is possible to bypass this by forcing the creature to attack every time.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.