All users will need to merge their MTGSalvation account with a new or existing Twitch account starting Sept 25th. You can merge your accounts by clicking here. Have questions? Learn more here.
Dismiss
 
MTGSalvation's Deckbuilder is Here!
 
Unstable Q&A with Mark Rosewater
 
The Dos and Don'ts of Silver-Border Commander
  • posted a message on Great Designer Search 3
    Quote from Manite »
    I've signed up. That said, I'm gonna have to stop visiting the Custom Card Creation forum at least until June, since Wizards employees aren't allowed to look at unsolicited card designs or other fan-created content. And if I do get the internship, I may not be able to return to this website at all. In fact, I may not be able to visit it during the Trials and Challenges. So, I guess I'm just gonna be a lot scarcer around here in the near future.

    But man, to have a chance at designing Magic professionally... Game design is my calling in life. I'm gonna give it my all!
    Ditto (the bolded), but I can look at my archive of my own stuff though! However, if they do GDS3 similar to GDS2, we might get a hub/wiki that's sanctioned for participants to collaborate and inspire which was authorized fan content.

    I am so excite I do not know how to say proper. Gonna have to try and get the 26th off if that's test day though. O.O
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on To Infinity Elemental and Beyond
    Quote from Courier7 »
    Quote from Solmancer »
    I actually really want to know how they work then. Most of my collegiate math focused on very specific subjects applicable to computer science (propositional logic, counting, and basic calculus for the physics bits).


    Start here for information about the concept of inifinty.
    That part I'm clear on, courtesy of Calc 101-103, it's the infinite minus infinite that's the hang up. Smile
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on To Infinity Elemental and Beyond
    Quote from SCDL »
    Quote from Solmancer »
    Just a reminder, that if you gain infinite life then get smacked for infinite damage/life loss, your life goes to minus infinity, not wherever it previously was, not zero. By definition, infinity means "increase/decrease without bound", which means you'll get hit so hard your life total won't ever stop decreasing until the game ends.


    That's not how infinite candinalities work.
    I actually really want to know how they work then. Most of my collegiate math focused on very specific subjects applicable to computer science (propositional logic, counting, and basic calculus for the physics bits).
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on To Infinity Elemental and Beyond
    Just a reminder, that if you gain infinite life then get smacked for infinite damage/life loss, your life goes to minus infinity, not wherever it previously was, not zero. By definition, infinity means "increase/decrease without bound", which means you'll get hit so hard your life total won't ever stop decreasing until the game ends.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Goblin Haberdasher
    Quote from Darklich528 »
    Quote from Solmancer »
    Quote from Courier7 »
    We will need clarification as to whether or not "helmets" qualify as "hats". One could argue that they both cover the head but helmets offer physical protection while hats are usually only for fashion. Of course, is the Suspicious Nanny wearing a hat? How about Ninja?
    Okay, let's not split hairs here. The intent of the card is simple:

    Would you call a hat when talking about it to someone else in normal conversation? I don't know about you, but I call helmets "helmets" when I'm talking about them. I don't call them hats in colloquial speech.
    So is a hard hat a hat or a helmet, despite its intended use being protection?
    Is gum food?

    ^ They have the same answer.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Goblin Haberdasher
    Quote from Courier7 »
    We will need clarification as to whether or not "helmets" qualify as "hats". One could argue that they both cover the head but helmets offer physical protection while hats are usually only for fashion. Of course, is the Suspicious Nanny wearing a hat? How about Ninja?
    Okay, let's not split hairs here. The intent of the card is simple:

    Would you call a hat when talking about it to someone else in normal conversation? I don't know about you, but I call helmets "helmets" when I'm talking about them. I don't call them hats in colloquial speech.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Gizmodo.com - Squirrel spoilers
    Quote from Gutterstorm »
    Hey. Hey psst! C'mere kid. I got some premium product for yas.
    I promise you'll go nuts when you see them!
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Graveyard Busybody (facebook spoiler)
    It's a blowout. You're returning all creature cards from "your" graveyard...s.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Druid of the Sacred Beaker - Hareruya Spoiler
    Quote from Viledrone »
    With contraptions this thing will pump for so much mana
    Only if your Contraptions have the double-spout beaker watermark in the corner, remember.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on By Gnome Means
    Quote from Yatsufusa »
    Quote from Rakath »
    I am going to use this.

    To win with Blaze counters.


    Like with most Un-Cards, we need to check with MaRo, but I don't think it works with Blaze counters because of this ruling:

    "If all blaze counters on a land are moved to a different land, the triggered ability doesn’t follow them. The first land no longer has the ability because it no longer has a blaze counter on it. The second land doesn’t have the ability because Obsidian Fireheart didn’t target it."

    This implies that Blaze Counters are only granted their abilities when specifically Obsidian Fireheart targets a land with its ability. Since this card refers to the counter but not the ability that grants it all of its properties, there's a good chance the Blaze Counter is just an empty Counter when placed by [By Gnome Means].
    This is correct. A 'blaze counter' has as much meaning as a divinity counter on a random permanent. Obsidian Fireheart's ability placing the counter is what gives the counter lasting meaning on that land. The only counters that have intrinsic rules meanings are the ones that modify power and/or toughness, and poison counters on players; pretty much everything else is defined by the effect(s) that put them down.

    EDIT - I may have to revise that last statement. I could be wrong and technically ANY counter placed down is defined by the effect, but "put a +X/+X counter" could just be shorthand for "Put a counter on blah that increases its power and toughness both by X as long as it's there".
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on DIY Seraph - Mythicspoiler
    @Watchwolf -- It's on the Mothership as a preview for today.

    Source: https://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/card-preview/its-just-too-good-be-true-2017-11-14
    Posted in: Rumor Mill Archive
  • posted a message on Contraptions & Cards that care about them (Clock of DOOOOOOOOOOOOM!) - tcgplayer.com Spoiler
    Division Table, you were supposed to bring back 1/2. D:
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Spike, Tournament Grinder - GatheringMagic Spoiler
    Quote from GhostMaker »
    Why would a tournament grinder cheat? Or am I getting the flavor wrong?
    I think the joke is that Spike always plays the best cards, and the absolute best cards are banned/restricted.

    I just noticed the shirt saying NOPE with a blue mana symbol. lol
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Spike, Tournament Grinder - GatheringMagic Spoiler
    Phyrexian mana just makes this twice as cheeky.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Rules Lawyer - JudgeCast Spoiler
    Quote from Dragoon91 »
    For the counters part, does that mean you don't have to remove counters to pay costs ? Or that you can't pay those kinds of costs at all ?

    I is confused ! Weird
    It's referring to the rules such as when you have +1/+1 counters and -1/-1 counters on the same permanent (as one example). Normally, state-based actions would have them annihilate each other and be removed. They stay put while this is out instead.

    And because this is a card named Rules Lawyer, here's some rules lawyering. Wink You still can't pay - costs for loyalty abilities on your planeswalkers (or impersonators) if you don't have enough counters. This card just keeps them out pretty much forever, barring a destruction/exile/sacrifice effect.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.