Get an Epic Experience with Premium
  • posted a message on turn//burn on isocron scepter
    You can cast either one of the halves when you activate the Scepter, but not both. As stated in the reminder text, you can only fuse the card from your hand.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on One Creature Blocking Many Creatures Question
    509.3. Third, for each blocking creature, the defending player announces that creature’s damage
    assignment order, which consists of the creatures it’s blocking in an order of that player’s choice.
    (During the combat damage step, a blocking creature can’t assign combat damage to a creature it’s
    blocking unless each creature ahead of that blocked creature in its order is assigned lethal damage.)
    This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack.


    Seems pretty clear to me. In fact I would say the least clear bit about this text is that it doesn't specify that creatures can normally only block one creature, so it might be confusing if you were just reading this part.
    We have the monstrous Hundred-Handed One blocking 2 Elvish Mystics and a Savage Knuckleblade. If the blocking player orders the Mystics first, the attacking player might want to pump his Knuckleblade to 6/6, since only 4 damage would carry over from the elves. If, however, the Knuckleblade is placed first, maybe he would play Giant Growth instead, to make it large enough to soak up the 6 damage and protect the elves without dying.
    Blocking damage assignment order works exactly the same as attacking damage assignment order, but order is decided first for attackers, then for blockers.

    EDIT - Sorry, this might not be the question we are discussing, finally figured that out. Each of the attackers only has one creature in its order, so it looks to me like the "ordering" of damage against a creature blocking multiple attackers doesn't happen until damage is actually happening.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on One Creature Blocking Many Creatures Question
    Quote from DRay563 »
    **Clarification requested here, does the active player have to announce at this time which creature will deal damage to the Hundred-Handed One "first" as would be relevant if one of the creatures had trample or does that take place in the combat damage step? Couldn't find the answer in the CompRules.


    509.2 and 509.3. Yes, the active player declares damage assignment order first, then the blocking player does so.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Lethal damage and life gain at end of combat
    Your opponent will die in this case. Highland Game has a triggered ability which gains him life, but state-based actions will check with the trigger on the stack before the trigger goes on the stack and see the opponent at 0 life (after having taken 3 trample damage). The opponent will lose and the trigger will never resolve before the trigger is even put on the stack.
    EDIT: End result is the same, but my timing was off.

    Note that this is different than if the opponent had blocked with, say, Child of Night or another creature with lifelink. With lifelink, gaining life is a quality of the damage, so he would gain 2 life at the same time as he took 3 damage, ending up at 2 life. The game never sees him at 0 as it does with the Highland Game. He may have been confusing the trigger on the Game with the way lifelink works.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Explaining Sensei's Divining Top and Rings of Brighthearth Interaction
    Quote from Dart007 »
    Also, as a side question, if I had a copy of Sensei's Divining Top on the field from something like Sculpting Steel, would I be required to put that on top of my library?

    Just want to be sure about this. Todd answered the question assuming you meant "if I activate a copy of Sensei's Divining Top, do I have to put that card (the copy) on top of my library?", to which the answer is yes.

    When I read your question though, I thought you were referring to having both Sensei's Divining Top and a copy of it on the field, then activating the actual Top and copying its ability with Rings of Brighthearth. In this case, the second time the ability goes to resolve and put Top on top of the library, it is still referring to the actual Top (the one that generated the ability). A copy of the first Top's effect will not force you to put any other Top you might control on top of the library.

    Just wanted to clarify that in case that was the situation you were referring to. In effect, Rings + Top lets you draw a card for the cost of 2 and returning the Top to your hand.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Phyrexian Revoker with Setessan Tactics
    Correct. A Pithing Needle enchanted with Ensoul Artifact and naming Sylvan Caryatid does not prevent the Caryatid from tapping for mana, but it protects everyone from the tyrannical assaults of the Sylvan Caryatid when Setessan Tactics is cast targeting the Caryatid.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Holiday Card 2014 - Mishra's Toy Workshop
    Quote from SemiMaster »
    Is this actually legacy legal?


    No. Silver-bordered cards are not legal in any sanctioned format.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Holiday Card 2014 - Mishra's Toy Workshop
    They are only sent out in extremely limited numbers to Wizards employees and some other associates.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Tempt With Glory + Hardened Scales
    Sorry for the doublepost earlier.

    In some of the other threads on tempting offer, the conclusion was that all instances of the last part (For each opponent that did so, you do bla) happens simultaneously. The sentence could be parsed as follows:

    Put a +1/+1 counter on each creature you control for each opponent who does.

    In other words, I guess the key is whether "for each opponent who does" modifies "put" or "a counter", and I am assuming the latter, but it does seem that this is not clear-cut.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Tempt With Glory + Hardened Scales
    There are two instructions to "put" +1/+1 counters on your creatures on Tempt with Glory. I believe Hardened Scales adds one counter for each of those, so you first put 2 counters on everything, then put four (three opponents plus one). You'll get a total of 6 counters.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.