All users will need to merge their MTGSalvation account with a new or existing Twitch account starting Sept 25th. You can merge your accounts by clicking here. Have questions? Learn more here.
Dismiss
 
The Magic Market Index for Oct 20, 2017
 
The Magic Market Index for Oct 13, 2017
 
The World of Kamigawa
  • posted a message on if you populate a token that has gained lifelink from soulbond, does the token also have lifelink
    Whenever you copy anything, creature or token, you create a copy of the base object.
    Counters, abilities gained by enchantments, equipment, or other abilities (such as Soulbond) are not copiable.

    So if you Populate an Angel token that has gained lifelink thanks to Nearheath Pilgrim, then you will just get an Angel token, no lifelink.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kess and Dark Petition
    Please remember to use card tags:
    Dark Petition
    Kess, Dissident Mage

    No, Dark Petition will not count itself for Spell Mastery.
    When you cast a spell, the first thing you do is move it from where it is (normally the hand, but in this case the graveyard) and put it on the stack. Spell Mastery for Dark Petition is checked when the spell resolves. At that time Dark Petition is still on the stack, so can't count itself.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [Card Search] - Discard this card: Get (Mana) into your manapool
    The two cards you are thinking of are:
    Simian Spirit Guide and Elvish Spirit Guide

    And after doing a couple Advanced Gatherer searches, one for the key words "Discard", "Mana" and "Pool", then another for "Exile", "Mana" and "Pool", those are the only two cards that do exactly that ability.

    But there are other cards that allow you discard or exile something from your hand to add mana to your mana pool, as an activated ability.
    Cards like:
    Bog Witch
    Overeager Apprentice
    Skirge Familiar
    Cadaverous Bloom

    And that is all that I found, but you can always try using Gatherer to see what you find.
    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Hostage Taker additional cost
    Well luckily, there are no artifacts or creatures that have such an additional cost, so this situation shouldn't ever come up.
    But to answer the question, let's assume there is such a creature/artifact as stated.

    When casting a spell you do everything in order:
    1)Announce the spell and move that card from where it is to the stack. (Rule - 601.2a)
    2)If the spell is modal, select the modes. (Rule - 601.2b)
    3)If the spell targets, targets are chosen. (Rule - 601.2c)
    4)If the spell divides anything (i.e. counters or damage), the division is announced. (Rule - 601.2d)
    5)The game checks to see if the spell can be legally cast. (Rule - 601.2e)
    6)The player determines the total cost of the spell. (Rule - 601.2f)
    7)If the spell costs mana, mana abilities are activated. (Rule - 601.2g)
    8)The total cost of the spell is paid in any order. (Rule - 601.2h)
    9)Once the above is done, the spell is cast. (Rule - 601.2i)

    Paying costs for a spell is the last step that must be done when casting something. So by the time you sacrifice Hostage Taker, the spell has moved from exile and is on the stack. And has legally been cast.
    So the creature/artifact you stole with Hostage Taker is now on the stack, and when it resolves will be yours, in this hypothetical situation.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Perplexing Chimera vs Krosan Grip
    Yes you have that right. Split Second stops any players from casting spells or activating abilities (that aren't mana abilities) while the Split Second spell is on the stack. Perplexing Chimera has a triggered ability. Split Second has no interaction with these.

    So when someone casts Krosan Grip, the exchange ability of Perplexing Chimera will trigger and go on the stack above Krosan Grip, which will allow you to exchange your creature for control of the Krosan Grip if you so choose.

    If so, what is the chimera actually vulnerable to?
    This is starting to get too much into strategy advice, rather than an actual rules questions.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Stacking Annointed Procession?
    Correct, Anointed Procession doubles the number of tokens created. So with two Anointed Processions, you double the number of tokens once, then double that number again.

    So (each) Hidden Stockpile would create 4 tokens. ((1 x 2)x2) = 4

    Hope that helps.
    Also please try to remember to use card tags, thank you kindly.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Two minor timing questions [SOLVED]
    1) No, you only need to have Hidden Stockpile in play when it comes to your end of turn. It will then look back to see if anything left the battlefield this turn to see if it should trigger.
    So in your example, you will get the token from Hidden Stockpile.

    2) When you transform something, unless something tells you tap/untap it (see Westvale Abbey for example) then it will remain tapped/untapped, whatever state it was in before transforming. So when you transform Treasure Map it will still be tapped.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Elesh Norn vs jade guardian
    The Jade Guardian would indeed die due to SBA for being a 0/0, before it's ETB ability is put on the stack. So the Jade Guardian is dead before the ability goes on the stack, which is long before its ability could even begin to resolve.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Prowess
    One thing to note, Kiln Fiend doesn't have Prowess, as that is as specific ability see cards like Bloodfire Expert.
    What Kiln Fiend has is a triggered ability, that will trigger whenever you cast an instant or sorcery. Which is similar to prowess, but prowess triggers from any non-creature spell.

    Anyway, if you cast 1 instant/sorcery, the ability will trigger once, making Kiln Fiend a 4/2 once the ability has resolved.
    If you cast 2 instants/sorceries in the same turn, the ability will trigger twice, making Kiln Fiend a 7/2, once both have abilities have resolved.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mairsil + Infected Vermin
    Please remember to try and use card tags:
    Mairsil, the Pretender
    Infected Vermin

    Yes, Mairsil will gain the Threshold ability of Infected Vermin, of course will only be able to activate it when you have seven or more cards in your graveyard. Threshold is just an ability word, it has no bearing on the actual ability or game itself.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Upcoming Planeswalker Redirection Rule Change
    Quote from Estovia ยป
    Ok, so I'm going to base this fear on that captured twitter message from Forsythe, but if we're going to errata damage spells to be "any target" but it doesn't include land - does that mean that Creeping Tar Pit can only be stopped with land destruction?

    This fear is completely unfounded.
    As stated in Aaron Forsythe's later tweet. "Any target" will mean "creature, player or planeswalker". It does not mean the target has to be a "non-land".
    When Creeping Tar Pit (or any other man-land) is animated, then it becomes a CREATURE that is also a land. So will be a valid target, just like always.

    Hope that makes sense to you a little bit better.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Upcoming Planeswalker Redirection Rule Change
    Well this is intriguing. As the Planeswalker redirection has been one of the stranger rules to have to explain to new players. Never been that difficult to explain mind you, just slightly un-intuitive.

    I'm interested to see how they go about actually implementing this change. Especially interested to see how they change some of the older cards, like Flames of the Firebrand and Arc Lightning, since currently you have to choose, hit the player or their planeswalker. But depending on the wording they give these cards, you could potentially kill a planeswalker with 1 or 2 loyalty counters on it and ping/shock your opponent too. Which would be quite useful.

    But as this isn't the sort of rules change they would jump to, I'm sure they have taken the time to think things through and come up with something eloquent. At least that is my hope.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [X] mana cost
    A card with X in its mana cost, such as Chalice of the Void, treats the value of X as 0 in your library, hand, graveyard, exile and when on the battlefield. Only on the stack, when it is being cast, does the value of X change.
    So when not on the stack, Chalice of the Void has CMC of 0, so it is a legal target for Abrupt Decay.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Exile Treacherous Pit-Dweller
    Yes you certainly can.
    The Undying ability of Treacherous Pit-Dweller is a standard triggered ability, so it uses the stack and can be responded to.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on 2 question
    First of all please remember to use card tags:
    Coounterspell
    Ring of Evos Isle

    1) Counterspell is not banned in any format. But due to how formats work and it hasn't been properly reprinted (Amonkhet Invocation is a unique printing, so not part of Standard) in ages, Counterspell it is only legal in Legacy, Vintage and Commander (Plus block constructed for the three sets it was printed in). You can check what formats any card is legal in on Gatherer. Here is the entry for Counterspell.
    PS The correct term is "blue mana" not "water".

    2) Ring of Evos Isle has an ability that grants the equipped creature hexproof, not the ring itself. So if someone targets the Ring, the Ring's ability won't save it.
    But if your opponent targets the creature equipped with the Ring, then yes you can activate the Ring's ability in response. The Ring's ability will be go on top of the stack, and then resolve first. Which grants the creature hexproof before the original spell resolves, which will save your creature.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.