All users will need to merge their MTGSalvation account with a new or existing Twitch account starting Sept 25th. You can merge your accounts by clicking here. Have questions? Learn more here.
Dismiss
 
The Limited Archetypes of Ixalan
 
Treasure Cruisin' with Monored Burn
 
Changes to MTGSalvation User Accounts
  • posted a message on Spell Queller and Blink effects
    After you blink Spell Queller with Restoration Angel, both abilities of Spell Queller are put onto the stack. You can choose to put them onto the stack in either order you want. However, when you put the first ability on the stack you need to chose a legal target for it. And currently the only spell on the stack in your situation is Dismember. The Lightning Bolt is still in exile and will remain in exile until the Spell Queller's last ability resolves.

    So the Stack can look either like this:
    Top of Stack
    Spell Queller's last ability (Letting Lightning Bolt be cast)
    Spell Queller's first ability (Targeting Dismember)
    Dismember
    Bottom of Stack

    Or:
    Top of Stack
    Spell Queller's first ability (Targeting Dismember)
    Spell Queller's last ability (Letting Lightning Bolt be cast)
    Dismember
    Bottom of Stack

    Hope that helps.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Purphoros, God of the Forge+Rite of Replication
    Quote from Outcryqq »
    Sorry to piggyback on OP's question. Just for clarification, OP's opponent's Purphoros, God of the Forge would have had to have been a creature at the time OP's Rite of Replication was put onto the stack AND when it resolved, correct? Otherwise, OP would not have been able to target an inactive Purphoros, right?


    Correct. Rite of Replication only targets creatures. So Purphoros, God of the Forge]Purphoros would need to be a legal target (a creature) when the spell is cast and when it resolves.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Purphoros, God of the Forge+Rite of Replication
    All five tokens of Purphoros enter the battlefield at the same time, and will enter as creatures.
    As per this ruling from Gatherer:-
    9/15/2013 - If a God enters the battlefield, your devotion to its color (including the mana symbols in the mana cost of the God itself) will determine if a creature entered the battlefield or not, for abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield.


    And whenever things enter the battlefield at the same time, they see each other entering. So each Purphoros token will see the other four tokens entering the battlefield. And then trigger four times. In total 40 damage is dealt to all your opponents.

    Of course before these triggers resolve you will have to put four of the tokens into your graveyard due to the Legend rule. But that doesn't stop the triggers from resolving.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Quarterly Notification: Ixalan Up in Gatherer
    Quote from jshrwd »
    Looks like Hostage Taker has errata in the Oracle text.



    This has been known about for some time now. They mentioned it on twitter awhile ago. Link - Aaron Forsythe's tweet
    As without the errata it goes into an infinite loop if it is the only artifact or creature on the battlefield, which was not the intention.

    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Kinjalli's Caller and Otepec Huntmaster rulings
    Thanks, I was trying to think if there were any other Tribal - Changeling spells but couldn't think of them. And Gatherer wasn't working for me at the time to double check.
    Posted in: Rumored Card Rulings
  • posted a message on Kinjalli's Caller and Otepec Huntmaster rulings
    "Dinosaur spells" are only spells that have Dinosaur in their type line or have the Changeling ability, as they are all creature types at all times. So the only non-creature spells that these two cards will reduce the cost of are Nameless Inversion and Crib Swap.

    So, Commune with Dinosaurs and Dinosaur Stampede will NOT have their costs reduced by Kinjalli's Caller or Otepec Huntmaster.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Rumored Card Rulings
  • posted a message on Tilonalli's Skinshifter and Nephilim
    Even if Skinshifter's ability could be used when it is put onto the battlefield by Yore-Tiller's ability, it still enters the battlefield as itself. It is only when the Skinshifter's ability actually resolves does it become a copy of something else. And so the time it entered the battlefield was quite sometime ago now.

    Hope that also helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Riddleforms Summoning sickness
    Rule 302.6 is the relevant rule here.
    But what you need to remember, is that Riddleform becoming a creature just changes what it looks like on the battlefield. So you have still controlled the permanent for the same amount of time.

    And yes, if your opponent controls a Riddleform, they can cast a non-creature spell during the Declare Attackers step, this will turn the Riddleform into a creature before the game moves to the Declare Blockers step. As long as Riddleform is an untapped creature before the game moves into the Declare Blockers step, then it can be declared as a blocker.
    Note - This must be done BEFORE moving to the Declare Blockers step, as the first thing that happens in this step is all blockers are declared at the same time. So Riddleform must be a creature before this.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Tilonalli's Skinshifter and Nephilim
    1) No. In order for a creature to trigger their "Whenever ~this creature~ attacks.." ability, they need to be declared as an attacker. Being put onto the battlefield tapped and attacking is not being declared as an attacker.

    2) To answer the underlying question, whenever a creature becomes a copy of something like Tilonalli's Skinshifter does, it is simply changing what it looks like. It is not re-entering the battlefield, so won't trigger any ETB abilities.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on 'Storm' ability clarification
    No, the copies of the spells created by the storm trigger are not cast. They are simply created on the stack.
    So you won't get any extra life from them through Aetherflux Reservoir.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Angrath is a minotaur planeswalker
    Quote from Etherium Sage »
    Quote from Manite »
    Ajani is a Cat planeswalker.
    Nissa is an Elf planeswalker.
    Xenagos was a Satyr planeswalker.
    Venser is a dead planeswalker.

    Hoping we see Angrath in Rivals, and I wouldn't mind seeing more humanoid races like Aven, Centaur, and Naga in the near future.

    You forgot Dovin is a vedalken and Daretti... Not to mention Vraska XD


    You both forgot Nicol Bolas.


    What, no mention of Tibalt? A Devil planeswalker....... Who am I kidding there is just no love for Tibalt.
    But then of course, there is Kiora the Merfolk planeswalker, Tamiyo the Moonfolk planeswalker, Arlinn the werewolf planeswalker, Karn the Golem planeswalker, Ob Nixilis the Demon planeswalker and finally Ashiok, the um.... what exactly is Ashiok?

    In honesty, the list of different types of planeswalkers out there is already quite diverse.
    Posted in: Speculation
  • posted a message on Stalking Leonin and protection
    Stalking Leonin

    No, you can't exile a creature with protection from white with Stalking Leonin's ability.
    Protect prevents four things: Damage, Enchanting, Blocking and most importantly in this case Targeting, from sources of the listed criteria.

    As Stalking Leonin is a white creature, and its ability targets the creature, then something with protection from white can't be the target of it's ability.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mairsil, the Pretender and Various Linked Abilities
    Quote from dachivale »
    Okay, that explanation made more sense to me... I didn't know that it would work like that, but I guess that makes sense. Otherwise it would be fairly easy to break cards like that...

    Though this leaves me with a bit of a different question about things with Charge counters or other forms of counters.
    Magistrate's Scepter for example and a card that gives you Charge counters on Mairsil, that combination would work right?
    Seeing as those aren't linked abilities and only care about the number of Charge counters...

    I mean, if that also doesn't work, that makes Mairsil a lot less powerful... so I do hope at least that works.. :p
    Am trying to get more cards for the Deck and rather know in advance then getting a card that I can't use...
    I have the scepter mind you... but I don't have another few cards that work with it.. ^^


    Correct, the abilities on Magistrate's Scepter are not linked ability.
    Relevant rule:
    607.1. An object may have two abilities printed on it such that one of them causes actions to be taken or objects or players to be affected and the other one directly refers to those actions, objects, or players. If so, these two abilities are linked: the second refers only to actions that were taken or objects or players that were affected by the first, and not by any other ability.

    Counters (such as charge counters) are not actions, objects or players.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mairsil, the Pretender and Various Linked Abilities
    As stated originally by peteroupc, linked abilities only care about the other linked ability, not any other ability the creature might have.
    Relevant Rule:
    607.5. - If an object acquires a pair of linked abilities as part of the same effect, the abilities will be similarly linked to one another on that object even though they weren’t printed on that object. They can’t be linked to any other ability, regardless of what other abilities the object may currently have or may have had in the past.
    • Example: Arc-Slogger has the ability “{R}, Exile the top ten cards of your library: Arc-Slogger deals 2 damage to target creature or player.” Sisters of Stone Death has the ability “{B}{G}: Exile target creature blocking or blocked by Sisters of Stone Death” and the ability “{2}{B}: Put a creature card exiled with Sisters of Stone Death onto the battlefield under your control.” Quicksilver Elemental has the ability “{U}: Quicksilver Elemental gains all activated abilities of target creature until end of turn.” If a player has Quicksilver Elemental gain Arc-Slogger’s ability, activates it, then has Quicksilver Elemental gain Sisters of Stone Death’s abilities, activates the exile ability, and then activates the return-to-the-battlefield ability, only the creature card Quicksilver Elemental exiled with Sisters of Stone Death’s ability can be returned to the battlefield. Creature cards Quicksilver Elemental exiled with Arc-Slogger’s ability can’t be returned.

    So NO, if you have Mairsil with both Izzet Chemister's abilities and Arc-Slogger's ability, you can not cast cards exiled with Arc-Slogger's ability with the Izzet Chemister's second ability. The Chemister's second ability can only cast cards exiled with the Chemister's first ability.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Vizier of Many Faces CMC
    If you Emblam Vizier of Many Face and have it enter as a copy of a creature (such as Thraben Inspector) then the Embalmed token will have no mana cost, (and a CMC of 0).

    Typically a token copy of a creature will have the same mana cost/CMC, since it is a copied characteristic. But the instructions on Vizier state that the Embalmed token has no mana cost.

    Hope that helps.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.