Cranial Insertion: Undying Questions

  • #1
    This thread is for the discussion of my latest article, Cranial Insertion: Undying Questions. We would be grateful if you would let us know what you think, but please keep your comments on topic.
    Level 2 Magic Judge

    Please use card tags when you're asking a question about specific cards: [c]Serra Angel[/c] -> Serra Angel.
  • #2
    Which rule is the one about prevention and it carrying over from permanent spells to the permanents they become?
    dci L1 judge, combo player
  • #3
    This one:

    400.7b Prevention effects that apply to damage from a permanent spell on the stack continue to apply to damage from the permanent that spell becomes.
    DCI Level 3 Judge

    ----
    Lightning Bolts don't kill creatures. State-based actions kill creatures.
  • #4
    Hi,
    thanks for another quality Cranial.

    Couple of quick questions:

    1) What rule is it that Nevermore references where you have to name a format legal card?

    2)In the case of face-down-in-exile commanders. Let's say I Capsize my opponents commander on my turn, then activate Memory Jar. Is that commander given the opportunity to go to the command zone? Or when I use my Sundial of the Infinite in response to the end of turn jar trigger is my opponent going to slap me in the face?

    Thanks again for the column(and any replies)
  • #5
    Quote from superpositioned
    Hi,
    thanks for another quality Cranial.

    Couple of quick questions:

    1) What rule is it that Nevermore references where you have to name a format legal card?


    201.3. If an effect instructs a player to name a card, the player must choose the name of a card that exists in the Oracle card reference (see rule 108.1) and is legal in the format of the game the player is playing. (See rule 100.6.)

    And re: Skullbriar question:
    To get out of this mess, you'd need a static boost such as Bad Moon or a way to let Skullbriar enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters.


    You could simply return him to your hand or library from your graveyard. Wink
  • #6
    Quote from superpositioned


    2)In the case of face-down-in-exile commanders. Let's say I Capsize my opponents commander on my turn, then activate Memory Jar. Is that commander given the opportunity to go to the command zone? Or when I use my Sundial of the Infinite in response to the end of turn jar trigger is my opponent going to slap me in the face?

    Thanks again for the column(and any replies)


    The commander is put in the command zone as part of the ability, so Sundailing the delayed trigger won't effect it. Basically, the rules are designed so you can't permanently get rid of an opponents commander (unless you use AWOL, but I don't think that counts)
    I'll hold myself to this. I'll get fancy dishes and everything.
    FoW will never be re-printed for standard use. If it is, I will eat a playset of Alliance copies.
  • #7
    The Mikaeus and Cathar combo is very interesting.
  • #8
    The commander is put in the command zone as part of the ability, so Sundailing the delayed trigger won't effect it. Basically, the rules are designed so you can't permanently get rid of an opponents commander (unless you use AWOL, but I don't think that counts)


    Wouldn't the ability continue to refer to the commander and return it even from the command zone? It was technically exiled even though was put in a different zone and the delayed ability refers to cards "exiled this way".

    But if not, then the player might decide to let the card go to exile (because it would be cheaper to cast from the hand) and then he/she could be surprised with an ability countering / turn-ending effects.
  • #9
    Quote from Joeey
    The Mikaeus and Cathar combo is very interesting.


    Simply use Triskelion ; works better and pretty easy.



    Rulez wise, what happens if the commander is "face down" removed ?

    Any way to know that ?

    I would say its exiled this someone can "somehow" confirm it ; but does it count if i search my library and its obvisious not in ? I mean, the only face down card is the commander ?!
    111111111² = 12345678987654321
  • #10
    Quote from Rocket Knight
    Wouldn't the ability continue to refer to the commander and return it even from the command zone? It was technically exiled even though was put in a different zone and the delayed ability refers to cards "exiled this way".


    Such effects only know to look in the exile zone for the cards, not any other zone the card might have happened to go to as a result of a replacement effect.

    Rulez wise, what happens if the commander is "face down" removed ?


    This:

    903.13. If a card is put into the exile zone face down from anywhere, and a player is allowed to look at that card in exile, the player must immediately do so. If it's a commander owned by another player, the player that looked at it turns it face up and puts it into the command zone.
    I am no longer on MTGS staff, so please don't contact me asking me to do staff things. :|
  • #11
    Q: That's a bummer. What about evoke, then? Can I evoke a Shriekmaw, have it terrorize a creature to death, and then end the turn to keep the Shriekmaw?

    A: Sure, that works. The terror ability and the "sacrifice me" ability are two separate abilities, and you can put them on the stack in any order you like. You can let the terror ability resolve and then respond to the "sacrifice me" ability by ending the turn with the Sundial.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't the shriekmaw sacrifice immediately after it enters play, before anyone gets priority to do anything like use a Sundial and before the shriekmaw gets the chance to kill anything?
  • #12
    You are incorrect. The "sacrifice me" part of evoke is a normal triggered ability. It uses the stack and can be responded to. So if you evoke the Shrikemaw, when Shriekmaw enters the battlefield, you have two triggers that need to go on the stack: the "sacrifice me" trigger and the "destroy target nonblack nonartifact creature" trigger.
    DCI Level 2 Judge

    Scientists have calculated that the chance of anything so patently absurd actually existing are millions to one. But magicians have calculated that million-to-one chances crop up nine times out of ten.
  • #13
    Quote from Binary
    Such effects only know to look in the exile zone for the cards, not any other zone the card might have happened to go to as a result of a replacement effect.

    Thanks.
    By the way, Do the written rules cover Memory Jar's effect? I ask because the rules seems to say that only about linked abilities, and I'm not sure whether memory jar's effect is also considered a linked ability (there are mentions of abilities inside abilities that are granted but not about delayed triggered abilities). Is it perhaps a case of rule 607.1b, "An ability printed on an object that fulfills both criteria described in rule 607.1 is linked to itself" ?
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes