Cranial Insertion - There are Games Besides Magic?

  • #1
    This thread is for the discussion of my latest article, Cranial Insertion - There are Games Besides Magic?. We would be grateful if you would let us know what you think, but please keep your comments on topic.
  • #2
    I'm not sure I follow the answer on the Guiltfeeder/Maze of Ith question. It seems from the "depends on when he does it" answer that if the creature is Mazed before the declare blockers step, that its ability won't trigger.

    Maze doesn't remove an attacking creature from combat; it merely untaps it and prevents combat damage. The Guiltfeeder is still attacking, so unless a blocker is declared, the ability should still trigger.
    I am no longer on MTGS staff, so please don't contact me asking me to do staff things. :|
  • #3
    Ranger's Guile can only be casted on creatures you control
    DCI Level 2 Judge
  • #4
    Quote from Binary
    I'm not sure I follow the answer on the Guiltfeeder/Maze of Ith question. It seems from the "depends on when he does it" answer that if the creature is Mazed before the declare blockers step, that its ability won't trigger.

    Maze doesn't remove an attacking creature from combat; it merely untaps it and prevents combat damage. The Guiltfeeder is still attacking, so unless a blocker is declared, the ability should still trigger.


    This. It only prevents combat damage, not all damage. The life loss happens regardless
    Melissa DeTora is my spirit animal.

    Modern:
    W/B mana Tokens
  • #6
    Quote from Binary
    I'm not sure I follow the answer on the Guiltfeeder/Maze of Ith question. It seems from the "depends on when he does it" answer that if the creature is Mazed before the declare blockers step, that its ability won't trigger.

    Maze doesn't remove an attacking creature from combat; it merely untaps it and prevents combat damage. The Guiltfeeder is still attacking, so unless a blocker is declared, the ability should still trigger.

    Yup, it's wrong. Grand Prix are tough on our editor! he or I will fix asap when one of us can.

    Quote from Befuddlement
    Ranger's Guile can only be casted on creatures you control

    That doesn't change the answer.
    The Mod Help Desk

    "Sufficiently advanced experience is indistinguishable from clairvoyance." -Carsten
    "Ah those eyes, those horrible creepy eyes!" -Chaosof99

    DCI Level 3 Judge & TO
    "I do not consider myself a hero. I know only what the Vec teach:
    justice must always be served and corruption must always be opposed."

    Go read! I am one of the three authors of Cranial Insertion. toot

    But seriously, if you can't remember "Woapalanne", just call me Eli.
  • #7
    Quote from Woapalanne
    That doesn't change the answer.



    Well, except its answering a different question then, since the premise is wrong. Smile
  • #8
    Quote from leshrac55
    Well, except its answering a different question then, since the premise is wrong. Smile


    Q: My opponent swings at me with a Vampire Night Revelers and I block with a 5/5 Demon token. He plays Moment of Heroism on his Revelers... can I play Ranger's Guile Magnetic Theft in response to attach Swiftfoot Boots on his creature to prevent the Heroism from resolving? In short, if I make an opponent's creature have hexproof, who can target the creature with spells or abilities?


    Fixed :p

    [I may be joking a little, but it's actually the only way:

    The current card pool doesn't allow many ways to have something a player controls give his/her opponent's creature hexproof. Even with donation or copy tricks , it's the opponent's permanent that's giving his/her creatures hexproof which is not what the question is about. So using Magnetic theft on a hexproof-granting equipment is the only way it could make sense. At least until a hexproof-granting aura will be created, or a hexproof-granting spell/ability that doesn't restrict to creatures you control (not very likely to exist as it prevents this mistake, except perhaps as a symmetrical or multiplayer-friendly effect).

    Also, Swiftfoot Boots are currently the only hexproof granting equipment that won't make Night revelers win against the 5/5 demon token (but I guess it's possible to play around with the numbers)]
  • #9
    shielding plax grants hexproof.
  • #10
    Quote from No Stress
    shielding plax grants hexproof.


    No it doesn't. Shielding plax has the same wording and effect of Vines of the vastwood preventing your opponents from targeting the creature regardless of who controls it.

    If it did grant hexproof and you enchanted on of your opponents creatures you would not be able to target it but your opponent could.


    Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag and start slitting throats.
    - H.L Mencken

    I Became insane with long Intervals of horrible Sanity

    All Religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, fear, greed, imagination and poetry.
    - Edgar Allan Poe

    The Crafters' Rules Guru

    My helpdesk
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes