Cranial Insertion: Going to Pieces

  • #1
    This thread is for the discussion of my latest article, Cranial Insertion: Going to Pieces. We would be grateful if you would let us know what you think, but please keep your comments on topic.
    The Mod Help Desk

    "Sufficiently advanced experience is indistinguishable from clairvoyance." -Carsten
    "Ah those eyes, those horrible creepy eyes!" -Chaosof99

    DCI Level 3 Judge & TO
    "I do not consider myself a hero. I know only what the Vec teach:
    justice must always be served and corruption must always be opposed."

    Go read! I am one of the three authors of Cranial Insertion. toot

    But seriously, if you can't remember "Woapalanne", just call me Eli.
  • #2
    Concerning the Godtoucher question. I thought targets are checked twice - once when playing the spell and then again upon resolution. Wouldn't the Godsire be an illegal target with it's 3 power, when the spell tries to resolve?
    Also, what would happen if i turned a creature black in response to someone playing terror on it?
  • #3
    Why did the entire article consist of non-functioning magiccards.info links?
    EDIT: Why did the entire article consist of non-functioning magiccards.info links rather than functioning links to. . . any other card database?

    Also,

    Q: With Mindlock Orb in play, if a card tells me to search my library and then shuffle, do I still shuffle?

    A: That depends on the wording of the card. If an effect tells you to search your library then shuffle, shuffle you will. But if an effect says "you may search your library," you'll only shuffle if you do search, and you can't search under the Orb.


    The question told you the wording of the card. Q asked do I shuffle if a card tells me to search my library and then shuffle. If you're told to do X and then do Y, one of the consequences of that instruction is you will eventually do Y. Confused

    If these questions come straight from people's mouths, then this answer is going beyond its question. And if you guys alter questions for expository purposes, you didn't alter this one enough.
    Last edited by Horseshoe_Hermit: 9/29/2008 9:46:15 AM
    Epic banner by Erasmus of æтђєг.
    Awesome avatar provided by Krashbot @ [Epic Graphics].

  • #4
    Quote from Horseshoe_Hermit
    Why did the entire article consist of non-functioning magiccards.info links?


    magiccards.info doesn't have shards added yet. it still makes sense to link the cards already, because when someone is going to read the article in a few weeks, the cards will be linked correctly.
  • #5
    Concerning the Godtoucher question..
    My opponent uses Godtoucher on Godsire, then I Shrink it. Will the damage still be prevented?
    so, Godtoucher" target="blank">Godtouchers ability resolved before the Shrink was played.
    If the ability was worded something like: "Prevent all damage that would be dealt to target creature with power 5 as long as the creature has power 5 or greater..." then we would have another situation Smile

    Concerning the terror question, the only target of terror would be black creature, so during resolution the spell would have no legal targets and it would be countered..
  • #6
    Quote from nikelrah
    magiccards.info doesn't have shards added yet. it still makes sense to link the cards already, because when someone is going to read the article in a few weeks, the cards will be linked correctly.


    Not only that, but you can change where the [card] tags auto-link to in your own control panel. So you only got yourself to blame! Grin (Is okay, I didn't know that either for a long time.)

    (Get your sig banner at High~Light Studios!)

    Visit my Moderator helpdesk here.
  • #7
    Quote from Evil Betty
    Not only that, but you can change where the [card] tags auto-link to in your own control panel. So you only got yourself to blame! Grin (Is okay, I didn't know that either for a long time.)


    That setting only changes [card] tags within the forum, not in articles. Articles always go to magiccards.info. (Which is a shame, because my forum settings are for Gatherer.)
    DCI Magic Rules Advisor

    'Bad Spirit' banner by Hot Pizza at Ye Olde Sig and Avatar Shoppe
    I was a Top 32 Contestant for RPG Superstar 2008!
    Come take a look at my custom set, Lost Relics. (To be finished...eventually)
    Check out the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
  • #8
    Quote from Jaxal1
    That setting only changes [card] tags within the forum, not in articles. Articles always go to magiccards.info. (Which is a shame, because my forum settings are for Gatherer.)


    Well, that's a shame. Guess we're stuck at waiting for Hannes to update magiccards.info.

    (Get your sig banner at High~Light Studios!)

    Visit my Moderator helpdesk here.
  • #9
    Q: Can I Momentary Blink a creature I unearthed to save it?

    A: That works just fine. Part of unearth is: "If it would leave play this turn, remove it from the game instead of putting it anywhere else." So this part of unearth ignores effects that remove things from the game, and when the creature comes back, it'll be a brand new object that wasn't unearthed.


    At first, this answer confused me... why would it come back... but now I understand, it only replaces when it goes anywhere else (other than removed from the game). So for instance, if I Swords to Plowshares an unearthed creature, that creatures controller would still gain life equal to it's toughness. How about Weed Strangle? Oh, the life gain would occur as part of the resolution of the spell... hmmm... is there any kill spells that "do more" if the creature goes to the graveyard (i.e. Destroy target creature. If that creature is placed in the graveyard, gain two life)? Maybe I'm overthinking this, but I'm just curious if the Unearth effect would stop/counter certain effects of a spell.
    Check out my sale/buy/trade list:
    *Mayreturn*

    I have some EDH cards and rare Magic basic lands (APAC, EURO, ARENA, etc) so message me if you're looking.

    Number of members banned after I posted a BTR: 7 Mad

    Looking for honest buyers, sellers, and traders. Grin
  • #10
    Quote from GMM
    Concerning the Godtoucher question..
    so, Godtoucher" target="blank">Godtouchers ability resolved before the Shrink was played.
    If the ability was worded something like: "Prevent all damage that would be dealt to target creature with power 5 as long as the creature has power 5 or greater..." then we would have another situation Smile

    Concerning the terror question, the only target of terror would be black creature, so during resolution the spell would have no legal targets and it would be countered..


    Oh, lol. I assumed the Shrink was played in response to the Godtoucher" target="blank">Godtoucher and not some time after it resolved already
  • #11
    Quote from jokalhaups
    Q: Can I Momentary Blink a creature I unearthed to save it?

    A: That works just fine. Part of unearth is: "If it would leave play this turn, remove it from the game instead of putting it anywhere else." So this part of unearth ignores effects that remove things from the game, and when the creature comes back, it'll be a brand new object that wasn't unearthed.


    At first, this answer confused me... why would it come back... but now I understand, it only replaces when it goes anywhere else (other than removed from the game).



    I had heard it differently. The reminder text for unearth reads "Remove it from the game at end of turn or if it would leave play"

    So when the blink would make it leave play, the unearth ability swoops in and RFG's the creature before blink can.

    Not certain about this so you should probably go with what the judge says.
  • #12
    Quote from Ober
    I had heard it differently. The reminder text for unearth reads "Remove it from the game at end of turn or if it would leave play"

    So when the blink would make it leave play, the unearth ability swoops in and RFG's the creature before blink can.

    Not certain about this so you should probably go with what the judge says.


    Reminder text is not rules text. Read the rules text. ;p And/or read the FAQ (er, which is the only place to find the rules text right now...). It would still return without the "instead of anywhere else" clause, but it certainly wipes out all confusion on that regard.

    Jokalhaups: None of those effects are prevented; they're not contingent on the creature being put into the graveyard. If you had something like "Destroy all creatures. You gain 2 life for each creature put into a graveyard this way," then yes, you wouldn't gain life for unearthed dudes going RFG.

    RE: Shrink and Godtoucher - yes, the question was "what if its power drops after it resolves," not dropping in response. Dropping in response is not conductive to a good game of "let's break the judge."
    The Mod Help Desk

    "Sufficiently advanced experience is indistinguishable from clairvoyance." -Carsten
    "Ah those eyes, those horrible creepy eyes!" -Chaosof99

    DCI Level 3 Judge & TO
    "I do not consider myself a hero. I know only what the Vec teach:
    justice must always be served and corruption must always be opposed."

    Go read! I am one of the three authors of Cranial Insertion. toot

    But seriously, if you can't remember "Woapalanne", just call me Eli.
  • #13
    After I posted I was looking for the rules on unearth, couldn't find them til you pointed me to the Shards FAQ.

    The FAQ is very clear on how unearth works with Blink. Here is the link to the FAQ page.

    Sorry to doubt your judgement, but at least i did say you probably were right ;D
  • #14
    Quote from Woapalanne
    Jokalhaups: None of those effects are prevented; they're not contingent on the creature being put into the graveyard. If you had something like "Destroy all creatures. You gain 2 life for each creature put into a graveyard this way," then yes, you wouldn't gain life for unearthed dudes going RFG.


    I just thought of one card to satisfy Jokalhaups' hypotheticals.
    And it could be quite relevant:

    Skeletonize.

    It doesn't make a Skeleton if it scorches only an unearthed baddy.
    Epic banner by Erasmus of æтђєг.
    Awesome avatar provided by Krashbot @ [Epic Graphics].

  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes