Cranial Insertion: Five Wishes

  • #1
    This thread is for the discussion of my latest article, Cranial Insertion: Five Wishes. We would be grateful if you would let us know what you think, but please keep your comments on topic.
    I am no longer on MTGS staff, so please don't contact me asking me to do staff things. :|
  • #2
    Just a small nitpick, while yes cards were always taken from the sideboard on a one for one basis before Research, often (in wake decks) a Mirari was involved, which left your sideboard at 14 cards anyway, so basically, that ruling has been outdated since it was printed.:D

    Overall, great article as per usual.
    Level 1 Judge

    Thanks to R&Doom for the banner
  • #3
    [EDIT]: answered my own question about Jester's Scepter. maybe i should read the card first.

    great article, keep 'em coming.
    Last edited by manslayer9001: 11/20/2006 7:54:13 PM
    If we're alive tomorrow, we'll know we aren't dead.
  • #4
    I could be wrong, but ...

    I always thought that you could target something if you don't know that it is not a valid target. Theory is that if you discover that it is not, the spell/effect is countered. (Granted, this was from the Revised rulebook, so it may have changed since then.)
    Guns don't kill people. Bullets kill people. Guns just make them move really, really fast.
  • #5
    Quote from Winter
    I could be wrong, but ...

    I always thought that you could target something if you don't know that it is not a valid target. Theory is that if you discover that it is not, the spell/effect is countered. (Granted, this was from the Revised rulebook, so it may have changed since then.)


    The Wishes don't target anything at all... even if they did, you can't play a spell or ability against an illegal target. I can't actually think of a circumstance in which you could target something without knowing whether it was legal.
    I am no longer on MTGS staff, so please don't contact me asking me to do staff things. :|
  • #6
    What you're probably thinking of is playing a spell or ability without knowing if the target will be legal when the ability resolves - sneaky instants could make the target illegal or nonexistent, in which case the spell/ability is countered upon resolution.
    The Mod Help Desk

    "Sufficiently advanced experience is indistinguishable from clairvoyance." -Carsten
    "Ah those eyes, those horrible creepy eyes!" -Chaosof99

    DCI Level 3 Judge & TO
    "I do not consider myself a hero. I know only what the Vec teach:
    justice must always be served and corruption must always be opposed."

    Go read! I am one of the three authors of Cranial Insertion. toot

    But seriously, if you can't remember "Woapalanne", just call me Eli.
  • #7
    Or, on a related note, if a Morph is Repealed, or attemps to be, and it flips over in response, will the Repeal be countered?
  • #8
    Repeal will be countered, because the "target nonland permanent with converted mana cost X" no longer has converted mana cost X (where X was presumably set to 0). The target was legal when the spell was announced, but it isn't anymore now that it tries to resolve.
    Empires rise and fall, but God's love is eternal.

    Formerly one of the authors of Cranial Insertion, MTGSalvation's weekly rules article
  • #9
    There's a point in Cranial Insertion's article that puzzles me.

    Q: Can I mix-and-match with Research, getting some cards from my RFG zone and from my sideboard?
    A: Yes. Your sideboard is a separate place from your RFG zone; it's not a zone itself. However, since Research lets you retrieve multiple cards from “outside the game,” and both your sideboard and RFG zones are considered outside the game, you can get cards from each.


    So what Cranial Insertion is saying is that cards that can search for cards outside the game can go search in either the RFG zone and cards from your sideboard.

    Now a while ago I had asked in the rules forum if a Cloned bat token spawned from Sengir Nosferatu could be be used to go search for a Sengir Nosferatu in my Sideboard
    http://forums.mtgsalvation.com/showthread.php?t=58412

    So is it possible or not?
    It is always easy to be tolerant and understanding...Until someone presents an opinion completely opposite to your own.
  • #10
    Research looks for cards "outside the game"
    Nosferatu's bats look for Sengir Nosferatus "removed from the game"

    Big difference. Smile "Outside the game" includes RFG and sideboard in a tournament, but "removed from game" is only RFG, nothing else.
    The Mod Help Desk

    "Sufficiently advanced experience is indistinguishable from clairvoyance." -Carsten
    "Ah those eyes, those horrible creepy eyes!" -Chaosof99

    DCI Level 3 Judge & TO
    "I do not consider myself a hero. I know only what the Vec teach:
    justice must always be served and corruption must always be opposed."

    Go read! I am one of the three authors of Cranial Insertion. toot

    But seriously, if you can't remember "Woapalanne", just call me Eli.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes