Epic Experiment + Overload

  • #1
    If I cast Epic Experiment and pay 2 for x, and 1 of the cards revealed is Cyclone Rift or Mizzium Mortars...May I cast that card for its Overload price to use its overload effect, or am I only allowed to cast it for its CMC price, and for its normal effect.
    Returning Magic: The Gathering Player
    1998-1999 X 2001-2003 X 2008 X 2012-Present

    Standard Decks
    Saint Traft Control UWR
    Perfect Mill UB

    Modern Decks
    Eternal Command RUG
    Second Breakfast UW
  • #2
    If you hit a card with Overload off of an Epic Experiments you may cast it without paying its mana cost for its normal, non-overloaded effect only.
    DCI Level 2 Judge
    Ask me rules Questions
  • #3
    This fails under paying alternate costs. You can't pay the overload cost with Epic, but you may cast it for its non-overload cost.
    I am a fool and I believe what I read on April Fools.
    [quote=urzassedatives, in regards to Thornling speculation:;/blockquote>
    [/quote]
    [/center]
  • #4
    Note that, while you cannot pay alternate costs for revealed spells, such as Overload costs, you can pay additional costs, such as kicker or entwine. If my understanding of the rules is correct, that is.
    EDH Decks
    :boros:Gisela, Blade of Goldnight:boros:
    :orzhov:Doran, the Siege Tower:golgari:
    :azorius:Rasputin Dreamweaver:azorius:
    :izzet:Melek, Izzet Paragon:izzet:
    :simic:Edric, Spymaster of Trest:simic:
    :gruul:Maelstrom Wanderer:simic:
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes