Miracle Cards

  • #1
    This is a rules question. The miracle cards say you play them for their miracle cost when you draw them. For the ones that are Sorceries, your playing them in your draw step 9 times out of 10. Does this basically mean you can play them at instant speed. For example, if you drew one on your opponents turn.
  • #2
    Yes.



    Quote from mikedh1

    You don't go by WORST CASE SCENARIOS, or BEST CASE SCENARIOS, you go by what will PROBABLY happen MOST of the time statiscally probability odds wise most of the time over the very long term
  • #3
    It's the same idea as madness.
  • #4
    Quote from urweak
    This is a rules question. The miracle cards say you play them for their miracle cost when you draw them. For the ones that are Sorceries, your playing them in your draw step 9 times out of 10. Does this basically mean you can play them at instant speed. For example, if you drew one on your opponents turn.
    At the time you cast the Miracle, you cannot cast anything, not even an instant.

    There's no such thing as "speed" in Magic, and this is an area where thinking in that way is actively unhelpful. There are times when you have permission to take an action, and times when you don't. In particular, during the resolution of a spell, activated ability or triggered ability, you have no permission to cast a spell of any kind - not even an instant - unless the resolving spell or ability grants such a permission. (No player has priority, and the rules-based permission to cast spells requires you to have priority.)

    The Miracle ability is structured similarly to Madness; it has a static ability that allows a particular action under certain circumstances, in this case as you draw your first card in a turn (compared to the Madness ability's "as you discard a card,") and a trigger that fires if you take the action allowed by the static ability. When the trigger resolves, you get permission to cast the card; if you use this alternate casting method, you must pay the Miracle cost.
    Lapsed Rules Adviser.
  • #5
    But, if I draw a Reforge the Soul on my 2nd turn with only one land card on table,doI get the timing torevealthe card, draw the 2nd land and cast by miracle cost?
  • #6
    Quote from mxruka
    But, if I draw a Reforge the Soul on my 2nd turn with only one land card on table,doI get the timing torevealthe card, draw the 2nd land and cast by miracle cost?


    No you have to put the miracle card on the stack immediately and you don't have the mana to do it. You can only play a land during a main phase and only when the game is not waiting on something else. But the game will be waiting on you to decide if you are casting the miracle card, and then if you decided to, to pay for it, etc.
    Host of the ">NYC Magic Meetup Group - Twitter - PucaTrade Want List

    EDH Decks:
    B Toshiro Umezawa B
    W Mikaeus, the Lunarch W
    G Azusa, Lost but Seeking G
    UB Grimgrin, Corpse-Born BU
    BGU The Mimeoplasm UGB
    GUW Rubinia Soulsinger WUG
    GRB Sek'Kuar, Deathkeeper BRG
  • #7
    Presumably if your opponent draws a Miracle card as the first of 7 drawn due to the Reforge action, that opponent could cast it right away, even though it is not their turn.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes