Sunpetal Grove and like lands

  • #1
    This is my first post so I am not sure if this is the right spot for this but my question is this....

    Sunpetal Grove(and similar rare lands from that set) state that it "enters the battlefield tapped unless you control a Forest or a Plain", now how does that work with effects that put the land into the battlefield tapped. Does it come into play tapped or does Sunpetal Grove's ability overrule the the effect that put it into play?

    If Sunpetal's ability overrules than it is an even better card than I thought.

    Sorry if this was already asked and answered or if this seems like a stupid question, but sometimes the rulings on cards evade me.
  • #2
    Sunpetal Grove

    Sunpetal Grove(and similar rare lands from that set) state that it "enters the battlefield tapped unless you control a Forest or a Plain", now how does that work with effects that put the land into the battlefield tapped. Does it come into play tapped or does Sunpetal Grove's ability overrule the the effect that put it into play?


    There's two important elements to understand here:

    (1) Permanents normally enter the battlefield untapped, unless an effect states otherwise.
    (2) Sunpetal Grove's ability doesn't state it enters the battlefield untapped if you control a Forest or a Plains. It says Sunpetal Grove enters the battlefield tapped unless you control a Forest or a Plains.

    If the specific spell or ability says you put the land onto the battlefield tapped (Primeval Titan), then you put the land onto the battlefield tapped per that instruction. Controlling a Forest or a Plains doesn't "override" this instruction, as Sunpetal Grove's ability only causes it to enter the battlefield tapped when you don't control either a Forest or a Plains.

    While the wording may seem like it means "enters untapped if you control a Forest or a Plains", that isn't what it actually means. An effect that puts Sunpetal Grove on the battlefield tapped, does so regardless of you controlling a Forest or a Plains.
    DCI Regional Judge (L3)
  • #3
    Thank you for the quick response.

    I just wasn't sure where both said they come into play tapped if Sunpetal's wording of unless you have a forest or a plain was still viable, but if not that is cool.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes