Council of the Absolute

  • #1
    I don't understand Council of the Absolute.

    To me it seems like an overcosted Meddling Mage. But then theres the clause about not naming a creature or land card.

    Why is land even included? Unless you can actually cast lands. The inclusion almost makes me think the card should read, that you name a card type.

    Am I missing something here, or is it just Meddling Mage with naming restrictions?

  • #2
    I definitely feel kinda "Bleh" about him. He really shines in the mirror, I would imagine though.
    Quote from Rebel7284
    Tibbs is the real ninja.


  • #3
    Looks great for control vs control. Also pretty good combo disruption. I like how you can name cards just for the cheaper effect, or the housing option.
  • #4
    Skill tester and, obviously, mirror match-up hoser.

    I'm a bit confused by the card to be honest and I can't think of it as being any better than Pikula, even if this card has a greater toughness (and potential to cheapen your spells), particularly at that cost and with the limitation of not being able to name creatures (not that you really would, would you?).
  • #5
    He makes your stuff cheaper and denies your opponent from spells. Here is some fun stuff.

    Sphinx's Revelation: gives you 2 more cards.
    Cyclonic Rift: One sided-"wrath" if the Council survives past turn 5 and you get your 5th land drop.
    Mizzium Mortars: 4 mana 4 damage to everything your opponent owns [although triple red might be a problem].
    Rewind: Counterspell that Untaps 4 mana profiting two extra mana.
    Rootbound Defenses: One mana populate that makes your dudes indestructible.

    I'm curious though... split/fuse cards? I'm assuming you can only name one side?
    To the people that say that a card needs to be a higher rarity because of Limited... I hate you guys so much. I present to you with this.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SY8h2vp5Xis
  • #6
    Quote from Tanion
    He makes your stuff cheaper and denies your opponent from spells. Here is some fun stuff.

    Sphinx's Revelation: gives you 2 more cards.
    Cyclonic Rift: One sided-"wrath" if the Council survives past turn 5 and you get your 5th land drop.
    Mizzium Mortars: 4 mana 4 damage to everything your opponent owns [although triple red might be a problem].
    Rewind: Counterspell that Untaps 4 mana profiting two extra mana.
    Rootbound Defenses: One mana populate that makes your dudes indestructible.
    By the same token, they makes any other cards two fewer to cast. rollout Of course, some cards are more playable than others or likely to be played (but, hey, there are rogue deckers!).
    I'm curious though... split/fuse cards? I'm assuming you can only name one side?
    You name both halves' titles, as that's the card title.

    If you play the card, the reduction applies to either half or the fused spell but only once. For example, for a Fire // Ice with Fuse, you'd name Fire // Ice, as opposed to either half, and the reduction would reduce Fire to R, Ice to U, and a fused Fire // Ice to RU.
  • #7
    Such a flexible card.

    Against control, its a total hoser.

    Against aggro naming Lingering Souls seems very strong.

    Its also kinda funny that you can keep naming the same card.
  • #8
    Solar flare naming unburial rites
    Standard, Budget:
    UBR URB control.
    UB heroic humans
    Modern, Budget:
    GBW Melria Pod (no fetch)
    R Mono red storm

    Casual:
    RGB Jund Dragons
    UGrand Architech
    WR Tempered steel
    BG wild defiance Infect.

    EDH
    GB Glissa, the traitor
    UWIsperia, Supereme Judge
    UWGDerevi, Empyrial Tactician
  • #9
    This is a really brutal card in control vs control. Wow. Both players will side out all their creature removal, only to watch as the battle devolves into who can make their Revelation go off before this guy starts showing up. I'm not sure I like what it means for those matchups.

    As for other applications of this, I'm not sure what to expect. Casting it on yourself outside of a mirror means you better have something worth breaking, but I'm not aware of many effects that can reduce the cost of absolutely any noncreature spell you choose.
  • #10
    Is anyone else reminded of Grand Arbiter Augustin IV in art and a little a bit of effect?

    WRHeroes of TheroesWR
  • #11
    I'm really, really in love with this. Blank their Sphinx's Revelations while making mine even better? Neat!

    But that's not all! It gives some much-needed versatility against Rites decks too. A shame you can't name Thragtusk too, that would have been excellent against Jund and the like. But naming Rakdos's Return seems pretty reasonable, yes?

    AND, it's got 4 toughness! Yes, the effect itself isn't going to be all that relevant against aggro, but even just a 2/4 body that buffs your own Revelations is pretty sweet to have.

    I'm going to be one of those nuts that tries to force this maindeck, I think. It's just a lot of utility, and it gets better the more you know the metagame, which means it can only get more versatile with time. In the meantime, I'll be Revelationing for 5 on turn 6, after the good ol Turn 5 Thragtusk. Grin
    Currently playing
    Standard: :symu::symu::symu: Mono-Blue Devotion :symu::symu::symu:
    Modern: :symr::symu: UR Pyro-Faeries :symu::symr:
    EDH Decks:
    blue mana Thassa, God of VALUE blue mana (now with decklist!)
    B/G mana Skullbriar, the Walking Grave B/G mana

    People with signatures are morons. AWESOME
  • #12
    Cool card, like previously stated, it's great in Standard Control Mirror match.
    But making the named spell cheaper smells like combo potential..?

    Epic sig by Rivenor!

    Modern: Something new??
  • #13
    I like the card, I enjoy what can be done with it in standard, but for the love of god why is this mythic?

    Oh well, it won't really go very high in price, but it will have no place in my UW tempo list.
    Quote from Verox Kinaltor
    Found out why Mogis has sided with Xenagos guys!


    He was in the band playing at the party
    :D:D:D:D
  • #14
    Quote from urweak
    I don't understand Council of the Absolute.

    To me it seems like an overcosted Meddling Mage. But then theres the clause about not naming a creature or land card.

    Why is land even included? Unless you can actually cast lands. The inclusion almost makes me think the card should read, that you name a card type.

    Am I missing something here, or is it just Meddling Mage with naming restrictions?


    I think it's mostly a reason that came up in testing. Let's be honest: this card is built for mirrors. And if you could name Council of the Absolute with this card, then assuming your opponent has the same strategy, you'd probably name it if you could. Maybe that's the only creature they left in their deck. You don't even have to right away; name Revelation to start out with, then blink it back naming Council.

    Bottom line, it leaves a large component of the game as the luck of the draw as to who draws it first. Granted, you'll only really want to name Revelation anyway most of the time, but at least this way much less is left to chance.

    As for land, I think they wanted to make it clear for those who haven't played with Meddling Mage that lands are off limits. Specifically excluding one card type but only implying that you can't use another could be confusing.
  • #15
    Quote from 5colors
    Is anyone else reminded of Grand Arbiter Augustin IV in art and a little a bit of effect?

    Yeah, but I think the similarities and similar-but-differentiable elements are all part of the design.

    Notice that GA Augustin IV was illustrated by Zoltan Boros and Gabor Szikszai while this is illustrated by Zoltan again. That's pretty cool, IMO.
    I think it's mostly a reason that came up in testing. Let's be honest: this card is built for mirrors. And if you could name Council of the Absolute with this card, then assuming your opponent has the same strategy, you'd probably name it if you could. Maybe that's the only creature they left in their deck. You don't even have to right away; name Revelation to start out with, then blink it back naming Council.
    Hm, interesting and insightful.
    As for land, I think they wanted to make it clear for those who haven't played with Meddling Mage that lands are off limits. Specifically excluding one card type but only implying that you can't use another could be confusing.
    Again, interesting but I personally think it'd've been a-okay if this were to permit naming nonbasic lands.

    And creatures.
  • #16
    I can only figure... slaughter games, and sphinxes revelation...
    Again though I think they're pushing some kind of U/W midrange beat down... that ultimately will only end up being a variant of the already existing flash deck.
    The Heir to Rakdos
  • #17
    Still the question remains...

    Why this is stating name something else than creature and LAND?

    Can you cast lands? Is this something like a hint?? or just a mistake?
  • #18
    "Whenever you cast a spell named Sphinx's Revelation, draw two cards and gain two life. Your opponents cannot cast spells named Sphinx's Revelation."
    MTG flavour fail of the year:

    Quote from Teia Rabishu »


    Indestructible Aura is neither.
  • #19
    Quote from krako
    Still the question remains...

    Why this is stating name something else than creature and LAND?

    Can you cast lands? Is this something like a hint?? or just a mistake?


    My guess is that Dryad Arbor is confusing people. Wizard's goal is to be clear. Non-creature makes sense to us, but damn if its not confusing when you first start to play.
  • #20
    Yet another boring champion. I'm quite disappointed by the champions revealed so far.

    Casual combo with Capsize.
  • #21
    Quote from hoyerhan
    Yet another boring champion. I'm quite disappointed by the champions revealed so far.

    Casual combo with Capsize.


    Except this isn't a champion, that'd be Lavinia...
    ...and this thing is far from casual fodder. This is Spike/Johnny fodder if I've ever seen it, if only because of how much of a skilltester it is.
    Commander Decks:
    Rakdos Rakdos Rakdos Lyzolda, the Sacrifice Witch Rakdos Rakdos Rakdos
    Simic Simic Simic Prime Card Drawer Zegana Simic Simic Simic
    Orzhov Azorius Dimir Oloro, Lifegaining Ascetic Dimir Azorius Orzhov
    Gruul Gruul Gruul Stonebrow, Trampling Hero Gruul Gruul Gruul
    red mana red mana red mana Purphoros, God of Pandemonium red mana red mana red mana
    blue mana blue mana blue mana Empress Galina, Tribal Aggro blue mana blue mana blue mana
  • #22
    Quote from LouCypher
    ...and this thing is far from casual fodder. This is Spike/Johnny fodder if I've ever seen it, if only because of how much of a skilltester it is.

    I seriously doubt it. A 2/4 for 4 with a conditional upside just doesn't seem powerful enough.
  • #23
    I want to like this card because i love meddling mage but cmon. This is way too narrow. Was meddling mage just so OP that they had to neuter him by adding the creature clause?
    So dumb.
  • #24
    Quote from hoyerhan
    I seriously doubt it. A 2/4 for 4 with a conditional upside just doesn't seem powerful enough.


    We'll have to wait and see. I don't think this card should be valued based on its Meddling Mage ability, but rather on the discount it gives on cards. I'm not a pro brewer by any means but I'm sure there'll be some cards around that'll love having 2 shaved off of their mana cost.
    Maybe it won't be a Spike card and just a Johnny one. To say it's junk, however, goes too far.
    Commander Decks:
    Rakdos Rakdos Rakdos Lyzolda, the Sacrifice Witch Rakdos Rakdos Rakdos
    Simic Simic Simic Prime Card Drawer Zegana Simic Simic Simic
    Orzhov Azorius Dimir Oloro, Lifegaining Ascetic Dimir Azorius Orzhov
    Gruul Gruul Gruul Stonebrow, Trampling Hero Gruul Gruul Gruul
    red mana red mana red mana Purphoros, God of Pandemonium red mana red mana red mana
    blue mana blue mana blue mana Empress Galina, Tribal Aggro blue mana blue mana blue mana
  • #25
    Quote from krako
    Still the question remains...

    Why this is stating name something else than creature and LAND?

    Can you cast lands? Is this something like a hint?? or just a mistake?


    I know what you're thinking...
    but its for the same reason cards like stifle mention that you can't counter mana-abbilities, to avoid confusion.

    Card does seem unplayable outside of control mirrors, not sure why you can't choose a creature, maybe because it would ramp too much?
    Last time Meddling mage was legal it was kinda lackluster and this costs 2 more...
    Quote from Yawg
    Very poor choice, a completely unplayable card... even in irrelevant casual formats. Suckage continues...


    Quote from ilovesaprolings

    New ravnica isn't a city. it's a weird zoo


    "I went outside once... the graphics were alright, but the gameplay sucked!"
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes