Voice vs verdict

  • #1
    Ok so this one came up yesterday... Player A has a voice of resurgence out amongst other things and player B uses supreme verdict with quicken. Player A would get a creature token once verdict is cast. Does this happen before verdict resolves thus blowing up with the rest of the creatures? I understand A still gets a token when voice but will he have two by the time it's all over? I said no but then arguing and blah blah blah....

    Ps my UW control still won with next turn detention sphear, that's why I caved for 2 tokens....

    Please use card tags in future posts. The Forum Guidelines explain how to do that. ~ Hendrik
    Last edited by Hendrik: 9/29/2013 12:45:20 PM

    EDH
    BU LazavUB
    GU Momir VigUG
  • #2
    If Supreme Verdict is somehow cast during player A's turn - using Quicken works - the triggered ability would go onto the stack above Supreme Verdict, and resolve first. The token would be on the battlefield as Supreme Verdict resolves and will be destroyed.

    Voice of Resurgence's triggered ability will trigger during the resolution of Supreme Verdict as Voice is destroyed, but will not go onto the stack until a player would get priority, after Supreme Verdict resolves. As such, the token its ability creates would not be on the battlefield until after Supreme Verdict resolves, and so will not be destroyed.
    Last edited by Vulpine: 9/29/2013 11:34:08 AM
  • #3
    Quote from Onemeanduck
    Ok so this one came up yesterday... Player A has a voice of resurgence out amongst other things and player B uses supreme verdict with quicken. Player A would get a creature token once verdict is cast. Does this happen before verdict resolves thus blowing up with the rest of the creatures? I understand A still gets a token when voice but will he have two by the time it's all over? I said no but then arguing and blah blah blah....

    Ps my UW control still won with next turn detention sphear, that's why I caved for 2 tokens....



    The token created by Voice's triggered ability when Supreme Verdict is cast will be on the battlefield before Supreme Verdict resolves, and will be destroyed by Supreme Verdict. Voice's controller will only have the token created by Voice's death-triggered ability.
    Rules Advisor

    My current commanders/EDH generals:
    Cromat
    Trostani, Selesnya's Voice
    Erebos, God of the Dead
    Triad of Fates
    Derevi, Empyrial Tactician
  • #4
    Here's what happens, in stack order

    1. Player B casts Quicken
    2. Voice triggers
    3. Voice resolves
    4. Quicken Resolves
    5. Player B casts Supreme Verdict
    6. Voice Triggers
    7. Voice Resolves
    8. Supreme Resolves. (everything is dead)
    9. Voice triggers (for dying)
    10. Voice resolves and player A gets an Elemental token, which is a 1/1 if no other creatures are under player A's control.

    Note that the last ability or spell on the stack is the first to resolve, and the first ability or spell on the stack is the last to resolve. Otherwise, counter spells would be very awkward.
    "If you're Havengul problems I feel bad for you son, I got 99 problems and a Lich ain't one." - FSM
    "In a world where money talks, silence is horrifying."

    Ashcoat Bear of Limited
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes