Heroic

  • #1
    if you have a creature that has heroic, and you cast a spell like common bond which technically lets you target the same creature twice, would the heroic trigger twice (if you target the creature with heroic with both effects that is)? im just curious because heroic says when you cast a spell that targets it, not when it gets targeted by a spell you cast, which in my mind are two completely different things.
    I'm not going to call him dad..NOT EVER!! EVEN IF THERE'S A FIRE!!!
  • #2
    Both of those mean the same thing. Basically the game asks has this card been targetted by a spell you casted, if yes then trigger heroic. You'll only get one trigger per spell cast no matter how many times it targets.
  • #3
    Fabled Hero

    The Heroic trigger is not triggering on how many times it is being targeted, but how many times you are casting a spell that targets it. Common Bond will only give you one Heroic trigger (for that individual creature).
  • #4
    thank you for the information, but i would like to add that "when you cast a spell that targets ~" and "when ~ is targeted by a spell you cast" are not the same thing. the first only wants to know if its been targeted, the second wants to know how many times its been targeted. but thank you for your answer, it helped me out.
    I'm not going to call him dad..NOT EVER!! EVEN IF THERE'S A FIRE!!!
  • #5
    Quote from Surgeslayer
    thank you for the information, but i would like to add that "when you cast a spell that targets ~" and "when ~ is targeted by a spell you cast" are not the same thing. the first only wants to know if its been targeted, the second wants to know how many times its been targeted. but thank you for your answer, it helped me out.


    You are correct about the difference there. There was a combo a while ago using 2 Spellskites, Livewire Lash, and any spell that could target the spellskite. Since the Livewire Lash cares about the equipped creature being targeted, you could activate the spellskites and juggle the spell back and forth, getting multiple triggers.

    This wouldn't work if it were worded the same as heroic, because the spell is just changing targets, not being cast.
  • #6
    Note that Livewire Lash triggers when the creature "becomes the target of a spell". Even the "becomes the target" wording wouldn't get triggered by targeting the creature twice with Common Bond, because to "become the target" of a spell, the creature has to go from not being a target to being a target, which still only happens once while casting the spell.

    The Spellskite combo worked because every time the target changed, the previous target stopped being a target and therefore could become the target again.
    DCI Level 1 Judge
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes