Wild Ricochet

  • #1
    how would Wild Ricochet work targeting your opponents Rakdos's Return? can you change the target to him? and if not how does the copy work?
  • #2
    Quote from ondamark
    how would Wild Ricochet work targeting your opponents Rakdos's Return? can you change the target to him? and if not how does the copy work?


    You can't redirect it to them because they still control the spell and a player can't be his own opp. You control the copy however and may target him with it (for the same X value as original and in 1v1).

    edit: If you don't want to target him with the copy for whatever reason you may not change the target and keep it as you, tho it will fizzle for lack of a legal target.
    Last edited by Rafig: 8/17/2013 1:19:05 PM
  • #3
    RR is a legal target for wild ricochet but because RR says "your opponent" you cannot change its target to the player casting it in a 1v1 game since they still control the spell, and that orients who is considered a targetable opponent. so you cannot send RR redirect back to its caster.

    the copy on the other hand is under the control of the player who casts wild ricochet and that makes the only available opponent for the copied RR to target the player who cast the original RR, in a 1v1 game.

    since you cast wild ricochet your copied RR will resolve on the stack first/above the original RR.
    Collaborative Pub: Ice Cold Thoughts Always On Tap
    Twitter- RogueSource.
    Decks: "Name one! I probably got it built In one of these boxes."
    ---------------------------------------------------
    Vintage will rise again! Buy a Mox today!
    ---------------------------------------------------
    (a Modern adaptation of a vintage proverb" "A control player can lead a jund player to water, but unless you cast spreading seas you cannot make jund drink of their own accord"
    Merfolk! showing magic players what a shower is since Lorwyn!
  • #4
    Well, first off, no you cannot change the target to him with the first part of Wild Ricochet's text. Your opponent still controls his copy of Rakdos's Return on the stack and as such, since Return specifically states "Target opponent discards".....your opponent cannot be chosen since he is not his own opponent. The copy part works just fine. Since you created the copy, you also control the copy and are free to choose your opponent. Note that the copy will have the same value for Return as your opponent paid for it.
    http://mtgsalvation.com/1306-off-topic-commander-theory.html
    New to Commander? Read the Above article.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes