Dryad Militant's Effect

  • #1
    This problem arose earlier tonight at FNM and I am unsure if the right ruling was made.
    Player A casts Supreme Verdict to wipe the board. His opponent controls a Dryad Militant. The guy they asked said that the verdict should be exiled from Dryad's ability, but since Dryad isn't on the field at the end of resolution I believe it should have been placed in the graveyard. Where should the verdict have been placed?
  • #2
    It goes to the graveyard. It destroys all creatures, including the Militant, and then tries to head to the grave. The Militant is no longer on the battlefield at this time, and its replacement effect can't apply. So it goes to the grave.

    This is different from something such as Mutilate or Mizzium Mortars, that applies an effect to all creatures without destroying them. In either of those cases, it's state-based actions, not the spell itself, that destroys the creatures. Those don't apply until the spell in question has fully resolved, meaning that the Militant "survives" long enough to exile either of those.
    Level 2 Judge Smile
    Went to a new shop from a friend's recommendation, DQ'ed for willful violation of CR 100.6b.

    (Credit to DarkNightCavalier)

    $tandard: Too poor.
    Modern:
    - GW/B mana Melira Pod
    Legacy:
    - GW Enchantress
    - UWR Pyrodelver
  • #3
    That's what I thought but just wanted to make sure. And just so I understand completely in the mutilate example: The creature's aren't checked for state based actions(being dead from lethal damage/0 or less toughness/etc) until after the spell completely resolves(ending in the card is moved to the correct zone).
  • #4
    Quote from Chrolikai
    That's what I thought but just wanted to make sure. And just so I understand completely in the mutilate example: The creature's aren't checked for state based actions(being dead from lethal damage/0 or less toughness/etc) until after the spell completely resolves(ending in the card is moved to the correct zone).


    That's correct. SBA's are only checked just before a player would receive priority, which is after a spell has been fully resolved and moved to the proper zone - players don't get priority in the middle of a spell or ability resolving, and SBA's aren't checked then either.
    Level 2 Judge Smile
    Went to a new shop from a friend's recommendation, DQ'ed for willful violation of CR 100.6b.

    (Credit to DarkNightCavalier)

    $tandard: Too poor.
    Modern:
    - GW/B mana Melira Pod
    Legacy:
    - GW Enchantress
    - UWR Pyrodelver
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes