Commander dies under opponents control

  • #1
    If my Commander dies under my opponents control, via Act of Treason and a sac outlet, does my opponent decide if my Commander goes to the command zone or my graveyard? Or do I decide?
  • #2
    No. The only time your opponent can prevent you utilizing the command zone replacement effect is if your commander dies (or is exiled) during a turn in which you are under the effect of Mindslaver or Sorin Markov's ultimate ability.
  • #3
    It actually is always the owner's choice, not the controller.

    903.11. If a commander would be put into its owner's graveyard from anywhere, that player may put it into the command zone instead.

    And the same goes for exile.

    903.12. If a commander would be put into the exile zone from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead.

    Edit: So just to be clear; even when you have been hit by a Mind Slaver you still decide what happens to your commander.
    Last edited by Alkaris: 4/24/2013 1:29:53 AM
    L2 and goin strong.
  • #4
    Quote from Alkaris
    It actually is always the owner's choice, not the controller.

    903.11. If a commander would be put into its owner's graveyard from anywhere, that player may put it into the command zone instead.

    And the same goes for exile.

    903.12. If a commander would be put into the exile zone from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead.

    Edit: So just to be clear; even when you have been hit by a Mind Slaver you still decide what happens to your commander.

    I disagree. While controlling another player, you make all decisions for them (save for concession and things outside the game, such as calling a judge).
    712.5. While controlling another player, a player makes all choices and decisions the controlled player is allowed to make or is told to make by the rules or by any objects. This includes choices and decisions about what to play, and choices and decisions called for by spells and abilities.


    As you pointed out, the option to return the general to the command zone is given by two replacement effects in the rules (903.11 and 903.12). 712.5 gives the controlling player the ability to make decisions for choices presented by the rules, such as the "may" in the two replacement effects for where the commander goes.
  • #5
    Quote from Alkaris
    It actually is always the owner's choice, not the controller.

    903.11. If a commander would be put into its owner's graveyard from anywhere, that player may put it into the command zone instead.

    And the same goes for exile.

    903.12. If a commander would be put into the exile zone from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead.

    Edit: So just to be clear; even when you have been hit by a Mind Slaver you still decide what happens to your commander.

    This is not correct. It has been questioned on the main EDH site, and the rules gurus have said if your turn is being controlled they can exile your Commander permenantly. The only thing they cannot do is concede for you. I believe this was added to the comp rules as well.
    Quote from Jungian Thing
    EDH is a game you play 'with' people not 'against' people
    More people need to get on board with this attitude.
  • #6
    Quote from Lithl
    I disagree. While controlling another player, you make all decisions for them (save for concession and things outside the game, such as calling a judge).


    As you pointed out, the option to return the general to the command zone is given by two replacement effects in the rules (903.11 and 903.12). 712.5 gives the controlling player the ability to make decisions for choices presented by the rules, such as the "may" in the two replacement effects for where the commander goes.


    This is correct. It is important to note that Mindslaver gives you complete control of your opponent's turn in making ALL decisions. Had your opponent a sideboard, you would be able to look at it as well.
    Quote from Vermy
    You are only going to hurt your brain trying to get these answers. You would be better off forgetting that Return to Ravnica even has a "story" or what apparently passes as a story these days.


    Modern KarnTron


    Thanks to V.M.Santore for the great avvy!
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes