Obzedat and End Step Priority.

  • #1
    This was a situation I encountered at FNM this past Friday. I had only Obzedat, Ghost Council out and said pass turn. I began to exile the ghost council but my opponent said before your turn ends I cast Tribute to Hunger.

    To my knowledge since at the beginning of the end step the ghost council exiles, the best my opponent can do is in response to the exile trigger thus making me have no valid targets to sacrifice. He Argued that the exile was on the stack but obzedat had not actually exiled yet so he was a valid target. How does this resolve.

    Links to magiccards.info are not card tags. Please use card tags in future posts. The Forum Guidelines explain how to do that. -Carsten
    Last edited by CarstenHaese: 2/11/2013 5:22:18 PM
  • #2
    Quote from darknight587
    This was a situation I encountered at FNM this past Friday. I had only Obzedat, Ghost Council out and said pass turn. I began to exile the ghost council but my opponent said before your turn ends I cast /Tribute to Hunger.

    To my knowledge since at the beginning of the end step the ghost council exiles, the best my opponent can do is in response the the exile trigger thus making me have no valid targets to sacrifice. He Argued that the exile was on the stack but obzedat had not actually exiled yet so he was a valid target. How does this resolve.


    You sacrifice it.

    Next time please explain your answer. Spam warning issued. -Carsten
    Last edited by CarstenHaese: 2/11/2013 5:20:41 PM
  • #3
    Obzedat has a triggered ability that triggers at the beginning of the end step. While Obzedat's trigger is on the stack, your opponent can respond to it, (like he/she did in your example). So, assuming Tribute to Hunger resolves, you will have to sacrifice your Obzedat (barring any Restoration Angel shenanigans).

    When a card has an ability that triggers, it does not automatically resolve. In order for anything on the stack to resolve, both players must pass priority in succession.
    Level 1 Magic Judge


    Modern
    Grixis Twin :symu::symbr:

    Legacy
    Whatever I can borrow
  • #4
    To elaborate: Obzedat, Ghost Council has a bog-standard triggered ability that triggers at the beginning of your end step.

    Like all triggered abilities, this one uses the stack and doesn't resolve until both players pass priority without doing anything. This means that your opponent will certainly be able to cast Tribute to Hunger, which resolves first. Assuming you have no other creatures on the battlefield, you'll be forced to sacrifice your Obzedat.
    Alaskan Magic Player: Slinging Spells in The Last Frontier!
    Commander/EDH Decks:
    BRG The Blood of Jund - Kresh the Bloodbraided BRG
    WR The Blades of Goldnight - Gisela, Blade of Goldnight WR
  • #5
    Quote from Khiefkaboose
    Obzedat has a triggered ability that triggers at the beginning of the end step. While Obzedat's trigger is on the stack, your opponent can respond to it, (like he/she did in your example). So, assuming Tribute to Hunger resolves, you will have to sacrifice your Obzedat (barring any Restoration Angel shenanigans).

    When a card has an ability that triggers, it does not automatically resolve. In order for anything on the stack to resolve, both players must pass priority in succession.


    bonus question ^^

    in case of this restoration angel shenanigan, i understand that you will be able to sacrifice the angel instead of ogzebat BUT

    the angel "flicker" ogzebat then will it be able to hide away with his ability or not ?
    after all we are still at the start of end phase as they are all replies to the original trigger
  • #6
    Nope, that's not possible. And here's the reason why:

    after all we are still at the start of end phase as they are all replies to the original trigger


    Except, you're not at the start of the end step anymore. As soon as everything that triggers "at the beginning of the end step" has finished going on the stack, it's no longer the beginning of the end step.

    513.1. First, all abilities that trigger “at the beginning of the end step” or “at the beginning of the next end step” go on the stack. (See rule 603, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”)

    513.1a Previously, abilities that trigger at the beginning of the end step were printed with the trigger condition “at end of turn.” Cards that were printed with that text have received errata in the Oracle card reference to say “at the beginning of the end step” or “at the beginning of the next
    end step.”

    513.2. Second, the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities.


    Since Restoration Angel can't be cast until a player receives priority, it is necessarily after the beginning of the end step when it is cast.

    And, since Obzedat, Ghost Council left the battlefield and returned, it is now a new object with no memory of or relation to its previous existence. So, when Obzedat's triggered ability attempts to resolve, it can't find the Obzedat that was the source of the triggered ability, so the ability will be countered on resolution do nothing when it resolves because it is unable to exile the new Obzedat.
    Last edited by Kenjiblade: 2/11/2013 4:27:19 AM
    Alaskan Magic Player: Slinging Spells in The Last Frontier!
    Commander/EDH Decks:
    BRG The Blood of Jund - Kresh the Bloodbraided BRG
    WR The Blades of Goldnight - Gisela, Blade of Goldnight WR
  • #7
    The Obzedat that returns from exile is not the same object that fired off the triggered ability. So when the ability that attempts to exile Obzedat comes to resolve it will do nothing and just leave the stack.


    Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag and start slitting throats.
    - H.L Mencken

    I Became insane with long Intervals of horrible Sanity

    All Religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, fear, greed, imagination and poetry.
    - Edgar Allan Poe

    The Crafters' Rules Guru

    My helpdesk
  • #8
    ok that s what i thought but just wanted confirmation Grin

    thanks
  • #9
    Quote from darknight587
    This was a situation I encountered at FNM this past Friday. I had only Obzedat, Ghost Council out and said pass turn. I began to exile the ghost council but my opponent said before your turn ends I cast Tribute to Hunger.


    You were also using a shortcut to get directly to the end step. Your opponent has to pass priority as you declare the end of your post-combat main phase (prior to the beginning of the end step) which was never done in this case. Granted, it wouldn't have mattered in this particular situation since Obzedat is a triggered ability that can be responded to, but it is still important to note (and clarify) if your opponent was casting tribute when they had priority at the end of your second main phase, or while the trigger for Obzedat was on the stack.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes