Suspend at instant speed

  • #1
    Restore Balance

    If I have something that allows me to play spells at instant speed, could I suspend at instant speed?
    God listens ... TO SLAYER!!!!!

    Originally posted by mondu_the_fat:
    One minute you're arguing about meatlof and the next thing you know someone's sex life is being dredged up.
    My playgroup: four people total.
    We use the Legacy B&R list.
    My meta consists of combo, control and some aggro / midrange decks.
    My group uses proxies, so budget is not an issue. Because of this, things can get out of hand.
  • #2
    702.60a Suspend is a keyword that represents three abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the card with suspend is in a player’s hand. The second and third are triggered abilities that function in the exile zone. “Suspend N—[cost]” means “If you could begin to cast this card by putting it onto the stack from your hand, you may pay [cost] and exile it with N time counters on it. This action doesn’t use the stack,” and “At the beginning of your upkeep, if this card is suspended, remove a time counter from it,” and “When the last time counter is removed from this card, if it’s exiled, play it without paying its mana cost if able. If you can’t, it remains exiled. If you cast a creature spell this way, it gains haste until you lose control of the spell or the permanent it becomes.”

    So yes. If you cast it at instant speed normaly. You can suspend it on instant speed.

    This is not how bans/unbans work. Its always the enabler that gets the ban, not the card that is being abused. If you would have Yawgmoths will + whatever cards - it would be Yawgs that would be banned. If you would have Stoneforge and batterskull - it would be stone who would be banned and that is exactly how it works. Furthermore, banning a card in order to unban a different card is a thought process that was and wont be never applied in practical means.
  • #3
    Yes.

    'Suspend N' means (in part): "If you could begin to cast this card by putting it onto the stack from your hand, you may pay [cost] and exile it with N time counters on it. This action doesn’t use the stack"
    Area judge (Level 2)
    Huge Greg Staples fan.

    There is a Pony thread in the Speakeasy
    Current Sundial count:476.
    W/U mana W/U mana W/U mana W/U mana W/U mana
    Quote from Edsger Dijkstra »
    The question of whether Machines Can Think... is about as relevant as the question of whether Submarines Can Swim.
    Quote from Condor
    Close is indeed good enough in hand grenades, horseshoes, and shuffling.
    Currently Trending on Equestria Daily: Ponies.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes