Illusionist's Bracers

  • #1
    Illusionist's Bracers

    I need clarification on this card. I believe the judge made an in correct ruling on this card at my prerelease last night.

    My opponent equipped Illusionist's Bracers to a Sage's Row Denizen. He then used Stolen Identity to create a copy of Sage's Row Denizen. I put two cards from my library into my graveyard from the ETB trigger on Sage's Row Denizen and the judge ruled I had to put an additional two from my library into my graveyard since the Illusionist's Bracers copied the "ability" from the ETB trigger.

    I disagreed with the ruling, pointing out that the ETB trigger did not activate an ability, it just triggered one, and that an activated ability is one with "cost: ability". The judge's ruling held and I missed an opportunity to swing lethal because of it.

    So what exactly is going on with Illusionist's Bracers?
  • #2
    The judge was incorrect. Illusionist's Bracers have no interaction with Sage's Row Denizen.

    Activated abilities are always written in the form COST:EFFECT. Sage's Row Denizen has a triggered ability.
    Probably lapsed Rules Advisor. Still a rules adviser though.

    Proud owner of 100 thanks. Thanks for the thanks.

    Autocarding:
    [c]Splinterfright[/c]->Splinterfright
    [c=Dark Confidant]Bob[/c]->Bob
  • #3
    Correct. I have actually read the rules on the wizards website. To copy an ability. As Illusionist bracer does it must be able to produced that on the stack. As a trigger resolves at instant speed and doesn't enter the stack illusionist bracer is unable to interact with them (that's how I interpreted the rulings anyways).
    Also an activated ability is identified with a cost followed by : (Colens) if it doesn't it's a triggered effect and illusionist bracer has no way copying its effect
  • #4
    Whoa, hold up there.

    As a trigger resolves at instant speed and doesn't enter the stack illusionist bracer is unable to interact with them


    This is wrong. Triggered abilities use the stack just like activated abilities. The only reason Illusionist's Bracers don't work with triggered abilities is because they trigger, rather than activate. From the Gatecrash FAQ entry for Illusionist's Bracers:

    Quote from Gatecrash FAQ »
    An activated ability is written in the form "Cost: Effect."



    if it doesn't it's a triggered effect and illusionist bracer has no way copying its effect


    Also not quite correct. For an ability to be a triggered ability, it must start with the words "when," "whenever," or "at." They are written in the format "[Trigger condition], [effect]."
    Alaskan Magic Player: Slinging Spells in The Last Frontier!
    Commander/EDH Decks:
    BRG The Blood of Jund - Kresh the Bloodbraided BRG
    WR The Blades of Goldnight - Gisela, Blade of Goldnight WR
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes