invisible stalker + stab wound

  • #1
    may my opponent cast stab wound on my invisible stalker, stab wound not says "target"

    Please use card tags in future posts. The Forum Guidelines explain how to do that. -Carsten
    Last edited by CarstenHaese: 1/18/2013 6:45:24 PM
  • #2
    All Auras target a creature when they are cast, and enter the battlefield attached to that target. A hexproof creature can't be the target of an opponent's Aura spell unless it's cheated on to the field in a different way without using the stack.
    L1 Judge (6-14-13)
    Casual Player, Hobbyist Designer.
    Percussionist, Composer, Banjo Player

    Current Decks:
    EDH/Commander -
    G Yeva, Nature's Fatties
    UB Vela, of Doomsday
    RG Angry Barbie
    WUG Friendly Hugs on Hippo Wings
    WBR Oros, the Experiment
    [19:55]  ZenthForbias: My friend is having Twin Boys. He's fighting with his wife cause he wants to name them Urza and Mishra
  • #3
    Quote from Remillo
    All Auras target a creature when they are cast, and enter the battlefield attached to that target. A hexproof creature can't be the target of an opponent's Aura spell unless it's cheated on to the field in a different way without using the stack.


    It can't be the target, period. There is no "unless" here. If the aura enters the battlefield without a target, it does not target at all, it just attaches itself to a permanent without targeting it.
    • Member: Yes
    • Suspended: No
    • Planeswalker level: 37
    • Pro Tour Players Club level: -
    • Pro Tour Hall of Fame member: No
    • Rules Advisor: Yes
    • Judge level: 2
    • Tournament Organizer: Yes
    Check out Auja Windur's guide to competitive formats! Modern should be labeled an Eternal format! Sets enter constantly, but they never leave.
  • #4
    702.11. Hexproof
    702.11a Hexproof is a static ability.
    702.11b “Hexproof” on a permanent means “This permanent can’t be the target of spells or abilities
    your opponents control.”
    702.11c “Hexproof” on a player means “You can’t be the target of spells or abilities your opponents
    control.”
    702.11d Multiple instances of hexproof on the same permanent or player are redundant.



    Your opponent can not put and enchantment on your hexproof creature.
  • #5
    Quote from McMTG
    Your opponent can not put and enchantment on your hexproof creature.
    That is not correct; there are in fact many ways to do so.

    A Hexproof creature cannot be the target of spells or abilities controlled by your opponents. However, only spells or abilities on the stack ever target.

    What that means for Auras is that if the Aura is a spell on the stack, it targets. If the Aura is being moved from one zone to another (or even just around the battlefield) by another spell or ability, the Aura does not target; although the spell or ability moving the Aura may target, it seldom if ever targets the object the Aura is moved to.

    The first spell capable of moving Auras was (iirc) [c]
    Enchantment Alteration[/c]. That spell targeted the Aura, but nothing else. So it could be used to move a Pacifism from one creature to another, even if that other had Bexproof.

    There are several others, including Replenish and Retether, which move Aura cards from graveyards to the battlefield, that can put Auras onto Hexproof or Shrouded permanents, again because neither the spells themselves nor the Aura cards being moved target the Hexproofed creature.
    Lapsed Rules Adviser.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes