Azorius Charm + Geist of Saint Traft + Soulbonded Silverblade Paladin

  • #1
    Okay I have a case here.

    M : Me
    O : Opponent

    [It's O's turn]
    M : Have War Falcon (tapped) and soulbonded with Silverblade Paladin (untapped)
    O : Attack with Avacyn's Pilgrim, and Rancor-ed Geist of Saint Traft. And then pop an 4/4 Angel tapped and attacking
    M : Blocked Geist of Saint Traft with Silverblade Paladin
    O : Response block with Azorius Charm targeting my Silverblade Paladin

    [Azorius Charm resolved, my Silverblade Paladin sent to top of my library]

    And then, how many damage'll I recieve?
    a. 7 damage (1 Avacyn's Pilgrim + 4 Angel + 2 GoST = 7)

    b. 9 damage (1 Avacyn's Pilgrim + 4 Angel + 4 GoST = 9)

    I believe it's "a". Because the 2 damage, has been count to be blocked by my Silverblade Paladin.
    But my O believe it's "b".

    What is the correct answer? And why?

    Thank you.

    Avatar by DNC & Sig by Gunso of BushidoGFX

    You played JESUS?!?! I heard none of his guys stay in the graveyard, and once you think you have him beat he ALWAYS comes back to win within three turns. I like...WORSHIP him.
  • #2
    It's b, the reason is a blocked creature with trample that has nothing blocking it deals all of it's damage to the player or planeswalker it's attacking. Since the silverblade paladin was removed after it was declared as a blocker but before combat damage is assigned/dealt all damage from the geist would be dealt to the player.


    From the MTG comprehensive rulebook:
    702.18c. If an attacking creature with trample is blocked, but there are no creatures blocking it when damage is assigned, all its damage is assigned to the player or planeswalker it’s attacking.
    Last edited by Segoth: 10/19/2012 1:22:50 AM
    DCI Level 2 Judge
  • #3
    Quote from Segoth
    It's b, the reason is a blocked creature with trample that has nothing blocking it deals all of it's damage to the player or planeswalker it's attacking. Since the silverblade paladin was removed after it was declared as a blocker but before combat damage is assigned/dealt all damage from the geist would be dealt to the player.


    how if the GoST didn't have trample? 0 GoST damage right?

    Avatar by DNC & Sig by Gunso of BushidoGFX

    You played JESUS?!?! I heard none of his guys stay in the graveyard, and once you think you have him beat he ALWAYS comes back to win within three turns. I like...WORSHIP him.
  • #4
    Quote from moz.the.blessed
    how if the GoST didn't have trample? 0 GoST damage right?


    Yes, he would be considered blocked.
  • #5
    Quote from Segoth
    It's b, the reason is a blocked creature with trample that has nothing blocking it deals all of it's damage to the player or planeswalker it's attacking. Since the silverblade paladin was removed after it was declared as a blocker but before combat damage is assigned/dealt all damage from the geist would be dealt to the player.


    Quote from chaungabor
    Yes, he would be considered blocked.


    thanks

    Avatar by DNC & Sig by Gunso of BushidoGFX

    You played JESUS?!?! I heard none of his guys stay in the graveyard, and once you think you have him beat he ALWAYS comes back to win within three turns. I like...WORSHIP him.
  • #6
    While the Geist of Saint Traft would be considered blocked, you said it had Rancor on it, correct? It would deal four damage due to the trample ruling.

    If all the blocking creatures leave combat before damage is assigned, all the trample creature's damage is assigned to the player or planeswalker being attacked.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes