Sunforger with overload

  • #1
    pretty self-explanatory, can I overload spells I get with sunforger? Thanks everybody!!!
  • #2
    Sunforger

    No, because sunforger has you cast the spell without paying it's mana cost. That is an alternative casting cost, the same as overload. Since only one alternative casting cost can be used to cast a spell you would be unable to use overload.
    DCI Level 2 Judge
  • #3


    No. Sunforger tells you to cast it for the alternate cost of "without paying its mana cost" so you can't choose to pay a different alternate cost for Overload.
    Level 3 Judge

    This FAQ answers many of the common questions asked in the MTGS Rulings forum. Take a look! Smile

    I'm the editor/content manager of the Magic Rules Tips Blog - Bookmark this site for daily tips about game and tournament rules.

    "Abstract concepts of perfect judging run headlong into the realities of how people play the game." - Toby Elliott (papa_funk)

    My Type 4 Stack -- DCI Documents -- Comp Rules
  • #4
    No. You cannot cast a spell with two alternate costs- which both Sunforger's 'without paying its mana cost' and overload are. You will have to cast the spell normally.
    Probably lapsed Rules Advisor. Still a rules adviser though.

    Proud owner of 100 thanks. Thanks for the thanks.

    Autocarding:
    [c]Splinterfright[/c]->Splinterfright
    [c=Dark Confidant]Bob[/c]->Bob
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes