Elderscale Wurm

  • #1
    Elderscale Wurm

    It puts me to 7 life, and I am attacked by a 6/6 double striking lifelink. I am still dealt the damage and the opponent gains their life...So if I am still dealt damage, do I loose? or is the dealt damage just reduced to 7? I had read about the sign in blood etc (if you have less than 7 life damage becomes applied normaly) but how does that work?

    thanks in advance!
  • #2
    Elderscale Wurm saves you from damage as long as you have 7+ life. Life loss affects you nomrally. Paying life follows as normal. Not that you cannot pay life you do not have.

    The 6/6 double strike lifelinker still gains their controller life, since the damage was still done. Your life total will still be reduced to 7.
  • #3
    No, as it states damage that would put you below 7 life puts you at 7 life instead as long as your life total is 7 or above. It's true that the player still deals the damage and still gains the life, but your life total will remain 7.

    Sign in Blood doesn't deal damage, the player it targets loses life. That is why it can put you less than 7.
    DCI Level 2 Judge
  • #4
    ok- so this will sound dumb- but if I am dealt the damage that would put me to 0 life, and they gain the life from lifelink showing they gained life, but your life doesnt go to 0 and you dont loose?
  • #5
    Quote from Commander Pox
    ok- so this will sound dumb- but if I am dealt the damage that would put me to 0 life, and they gain the life from lifelink showing they gained life, but your life doesnt go to 0 and you dont loose?


    In this scenario your life never goes to 0, even though the damage still gets dealt it has no visible result on your life total due to the wurm.

    I think your confusion might come that you think damage and life loss are the same thing, they are not. Normally damage causes the player to lose life, but other abilities (like infect) cause different results from damage. Or in this case where the damage still gets dealt, but as I stated doesn't have any visible effects to your life counter. But since the damage is still dealt the opponent still gains life from lifelink.
    Last edited by Segoth: 8/25/2012 6:19:50 PM
    DCI Level 2 Judge
  • #6
    Quote from Commander Pox
    ok- so this will sound dumb- but if I am dealt the damage that would put me to 0 life, and they gain the life from lifelink showing they gained life, but your life doesnt go to 0 and you dont loose?



    you are attacked by a 6/6 double strike lifelink. you do not block. in the first strike damage dealing step, the attacker deals 6 damage to you. this has 2 effects:

    -its controller gains 6 life
    -you would lose 6 life as a result of the damage BUT the ability on elderscale wurm says if you have 7 or more life, then damage that would cause you to lose life below 7, instead causes you to only as much so you go to 7 and not below.

    then the normal damage step comes and this repeats. controller gains life, you take 6 damage but don't go below 7 life.

    note the difference between "taking damage" and "losing life". it is NOT the same, but usually taking damage causes you to lose life. In the case of elderscale wurm, it stops that otherwise normal effect from happening.


    Now, lets say somebody plays sign in blood. the card makes you loe 2 life. elderscale wurm only makes DAMAGE not LOSE you any life below 7, but other lifeloss effects, like sign in blood, still happen. So if you had 7 life, you would go down to 5. from this point on, elderscale wurm's effect no longer applies because you do not have enough life.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes