‎104.3f question

  • #1
    I had someone on Facebook ask a question about this rule:

    ‎104.3f If a player would both win and lose the game simultaneously, he or she loses the game.

    I've been racking my brain with this before and one of the cases that I can come up with is Harrowing Journey targeting a player with 2 or fewer cards in there deck and 3 or less life and a Laboratory Manic. Would something like that make them lose and win at the same time or am I off on part of the interaction?

    Please use cardtags in the future. ~parinoid
    Last edited by parinoid: 6/11/2012 6:19:17 AM
  • #2
    This rule cannot currently be applied. It exists as a catch-all in case a scenario occurs in which it could.

    It was written when the Sudden Death rules for single elimination rounds had a player win as a state-based action instead of lose.

    No scenario involving Laboratory Maniac causes this rule to be invoked since the replacement effect replaces the draw, not the state-based action.

    Please don't try and come up with a way in which it would apply. Its very tedious shooting down all the convoluted scenarios.
    Level 3 Magic Judge

    "To face death, that's nothing much. But to feel really stupid when you die, well, that would be insufferable." -Nafai, The Ships of Earth

    Ever wanted to know what guidelines Judges use to make rulings? Find out at the DCI Document Center.

    You can also find the latest Comprehensive Rules here.
  • #3
    Thanks. I thought it wouldn't but I wanted to make sure before I put a confirmed/uncomfirmed label on it.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes