Spellskite and Wild Defiance

  • #1
    Can you change the order of spells with Spellskite?

    e.g.
    I have an elf, target it with hexproof, it is targeted with vapor snag in response, Spellskite changes the target of vapor snag to himself, then it changes the target of hexproof to himself, does hexproof then resolve first?


    Can you use one spell targeting Spellskite to retarget itself multiple times and gaining the Wild Defiance bonuses?

    Please use card tags in future posts. The Forum Guidelines explain how to do that. -Carsten
    Last edited by ruivocanadense: 6/10/2012 8:42:11 AM
  • #2
    Quote from ruivocanadense
    Can you change the order of spells with Spellskite?

    e.g.
    I have an elf, target it with hexproof, it is targeted with vapor snag in response, Spellskite changes the target of vapor snag to himself, then it changes the target of hexproof to himself, does hexproof then resolve first?


    Can you use one spell targeting Spellskite to retarget itself multiple times and gaining the Wild Defiance bonuses?


    No Spellskite does not change the order of spells.

    Also no, a spell can only be redirected to target spellskite if it doesn't already target spellskite. If you have 2 spellskites you can bounce the spell between the two of them to get +3/+3 each time. But not just with one skite.
    Asking people to remove quotes in their signatures is tyranny! If I can't say something just because someone's feelings are hurt then no one would ever be able to say anything! Political correctness is stupid.
  • #3
    First of all, it sounds like you are wondering whether you can change the order of objects on the stack with Spellskite. The answer is that you can't.

    Second, if Spellskite changes the target of a spell to itself, it will become the target of that spell, and triggers that look for that event will trigger. If you target the same spell again it will not become the target of that spell again. Since it is already the target of the spell, it doesn't become a target of that spell again.
    • Member: Yes
    • Suspended: No
    • Planeswalker level: 37
    • Pro Tour Players Club level: -
    • Pro Tour Hall of Fame member: No
    • Rules Advisor: Yes
    • Judge level: 2
    • Tournament Organizer: Yes

    Modern should be labeled an Eternal format! Sets enter constantly, but they never leave.
  • #4
    Question 1: It only changes the targets. In the above example, the spellskite will get vapor snagged, then whatever spell or ability tried to give him hexproof wil get countered, because it no longer has a target

    Question 2: The number of targets doesn't change. e.g. If you opponent casts lightning bolt, and you change the target to Spellskite, then put the ability on the stack again targeting the lightning bolt, he'll still only get the wild defiance bonus once, and you'll probably lose some unnecessary life.
    Judge-in-the-making

    Essentially, they're God's Metathran. - {mikeyG}
  • #5
    Thanks guys, that was all I wanted to know
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes