how does soulbond work

  • #1
    Well ok im new to the game only been playing for a few months now. So my question is with the new soulbound. So your able to bound with another creature. Now when you attack with that creature do you attack with both of them or just one? Do you block with both or just one of them? Now if you block with them how does the damage get split does both creatures get full damage or does one get most of the damage and the other creature gets the rest of the damege ( exp.. apponate has a 6/6 and your two creatures that are soulbonded and they are a 4/4 & 3/3 .. will one die and the other stays alive and you apponates dies? ) .. Im just confuse on how this all works..

    thank you All
    Tom & Alisha
  • #2
    Quote from tom&alisha
    Well ok im new to the game only been playing for a few months now. So my question is with the new soulbound. So your able to bound with another creature. Now when you attack with that creature do you attack with both of them or just one? Do you block with both or just one of them? Now if you block with them how does the damage get split does both creatures get full damage or does one get most of the damage and the other creature gets the rest of the damege ( exp.. apponate has a 6/6 and your two creatures that are soulbonded and they are a 4/4 & 3/3 .. will one die and the other stays alive and you apponates dies? ) .. Im just confuse on how this all works..

    thank you All
    Tom & Alisha


    Soulbond has no effect on attacking/blocking/damage in that regard.

    Each creature is still separate and may attack and block separately. Damage is not shared, and not special rules are introduced to combat damage.

    In your example, your opponent would be able to assign lethal damage to one of your creatures, and then assign the remaining damage to the other, in blocking order. Your creatures would deal 7 combined damage to the attacker, which is enough to kill it.

    This is no different than if the creatures were not bonded.

    ===

    What soulbond is:

    A creature with soulbond has two abilities: The first is a triggered ability that allows you to pair it with another creature, the second is a static ability that does something to modify the two creatures.

    When the Soulbond creature enters the battlefield, you can have it bond to an unbonded creature. If another creature enters the battlefield, if the soulbond creature is unbonded, you may choose to bond it to that creature that entered the battlefield.

    When the soulbonded creature is bonded, the second ability kicks in. In the case pf Wingcrafter, both of the creatures now have flying. Nothing else special occurs.
    Last edited by bobthefunny: 5/22/2012 3:49:00 PM
    EDH: Cromat | Tibor and Lumia[] | Vaevictis Asmadi | Nemata[Primer] | Ramirez dePietro[Pirate] Edric[C] | Kazuul[$50] | Tariel | Riku[$50] | Chainer | Evil Sygg | Jenara | Lazav | Daxos For brief descriptions of my EDH decks, or to view some of my casual creations, you can check out my Blog Post.
    <-
    ->
    I moderate the Commander Forums. Feel free to jump in my help desk if you have any questions for me.
  • #3
    None of the things you've listed happen.

    All soulbond does is pair the creatures as long as you control both of them. Creatures with soulbond have an additional ability that says what happens after they are bonded, but the bond itself doesn't have any interactions with combat. The creatures still block, attack, and take damage separately.
    Clone never targets.

    When in doubt, call a judge.

    Objectivist here. Hit me up to talk philosophy.
  • #4
    ok let see if i got this right.. if i have a creature out like say hill giant and i soulbound him with a creature that the soulbound is flying then both of those creatures will have flying.. other then that there all by them selfs and just share the flying ability..
  • #5
    You've got it.
    Clone never targets.

    When in doubt, call a judge.

    Objectivist here. Hit me up to talk philosophy.
  • #6
    Quote from tom&alisha
    ok let see if i got this right.. if i have a creature out like say hill giant and i soulbound him with a creature that the soulbound is flying then both of those creatures will have flying.. other then that there all by them selfs and just share the flying ability..


    Exactly, the only thing Soulbond does is grant the "while paired" ability to both creatures. Other than that, the creatures act no differently than any other creature would.
  • #7
    Quote from tom&alisha
    ok let see if i got this right.. if i have a creature out like say hill giant and i soulbound him with a creature that the soulbound is flying then both of those creatures will have flying.. other then that there all by them selfs and just share the flying ability..


    Not quite. Other than binding the 2 creatures together soul binding does not do anything.

    To share abilities atleast 1 creature needs a separate ability that specifically does that like Wingcrafter.

    Simply soul binding a Trusted Forcemage to suntail hawk won't give the forcemage flying.


    Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag and start slitting throats.
    - H.L Mencken

    I Became insane with long Intervals of horrible Sanity

    All Religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, fear, greed, imagination and poetry.
    - Edgar Allan Poe

    The Crafters' Rules Guru

    My helpdesk
  • #8
    stating it that way was much easyier.. they way they put it on the card was so hard to understand.. thanks ya'll .. im really starting to like this site just gotta get used to all the rule of the game and different types of game play too..
  • #9
    now can you also soulbound a creature that already has soulbound and both of those creatures will share each others soulbound right.. ext: one has flying and the other has fire. so both of them with have flying and fire? .. but you can only soulbound 2 creature and no more then that?
  • #10
    now can you also soulbound a creature that already has soulbound and both of those creatures will share each others soulbound right.. ext: one has flying and the other has fire. so both of them with have flying and fire? .. but you can only soulbound 2 creature and no more then that?


    Yep! It's a great use for them in limited.
    Clone never targets.

    When in doubt, call a judge.

    Objectivist here. Hit me up to talk philosophy.
  • #11
    Quote from tom&alisha
    now can you also soulbound a creature that already has soulbound and both of those creatures will share each others soulbound right.. ext: one has flying and the other has fire. so both of them with have flying and fire? .. but you can only soulbound 2 creature and no more then that?


    Yeah, that is true. Each soulbond can only have 2 creatures in it. If both creatures have a soulbond ability, they will both get their own and the ability of the other one. If you soulbond Elgaud Shieldmate and Diregraf Escort, both of them will have Hexproof and Protection from Zombies. Neither of them can soulbond with other creatures.
    • Member: Yes
    • Suspended: No
    • Planeswalker level: 37
    • Pro Tour Players Club level: -
    • Pro Tour Hall of Fame member: No
    • Rules Advisor: Yes
    • Judge level: 2
    • Tournament Organizer: Yes
    Check out Auja Windur's guide to competitive formats! Modern should be labeled an Eternal format! Sets enter constantly, but they never leave.
  • #12
    Ive read over a few threads with ppl asking about soulbond and I'm still unsure about one part.
    If the creature paired with the soulbond creature dies, can the soulbond creature pair with the next creature that enters play? I understand cloudshifting him would allow me to pair with a creature without casting but could I keep pairing him with a new creature after last one dies?

    TY Not trying to hijack OP thread but this has came up in almost every game I've played dealingwith soulbond.
  • #13
    Quote from Denots
    Ive read over a few threads with ppl asking about soulbond and I'm still unsure about one part.
    If the creature paired with the soulbond creature dies, can the soulbond creature pair with the next creature that enters play? I understand cloudshifting him would allow me to pair with a creature without casting but could I keep pairing him with a new creature after last one dies?

    TY Not trying to hijack OP thread but this has came up in almost every game I've played dealingwith soulbond.


    Yes. If the pairing is broken, which happens if one of the creatures leaves play, changes control, or stops being a creature, then the next time a creature enters the battlefield under your control, soulbond will trigger and you will be allowed to pair your unpaired soulbond creature with the new creature entering.
    Sign up for Kingdom of Loathing Mafia today!

    Unofficial Fake Celebrity and Level 3 Magic Judge of [The Family]

    Basic #57: Osteria Mafia - Limoncello Gelato, Town Doctor, NKed N2 - Town Win
    Basic #56: Little Big Planet Mafia - ongoing
    Mini: Random Mafia 4 - Zbyněk Michálek, Vanilla Townie, Survived to Endgame - Won With Cult
    Peso Del Grande Mafia - Ongoing
  • #14
    TY
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes