If I have a creature with Deathtouch fight another creature, does Deathtouch apply?
The reason I ask is because of rule 702.2b:
Any nonzero amount of combat damage assigned to a creature by a source with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage, regardless of that creature's toughness.
Technically, the fight mechanic is not combat, so I would think that Deathtouch wouldn't be a factor here.
702.2c. A creature with toughness greater than 0 that's been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based action. See rule 704.
Deathtouch functions whenever damage is dealt. 702.2b is for determining lethal damage for blocking order and trample.
702.2c. A creature with toughness greater than 0 that’s been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based action. See rule 704.
This is the appropriate section of the rules on deathtouch that applies here. 702.2b is there for if a creature with deathtouch is blocked by more than one creature. It simply means that to deal lethal combat damage to a blocking or blocked creature, you have to assign one point of damage. This allows for example a creature with 2 power blocked by two creatures to assign one damage to creature A and one damage to creature B. This is because when dealing combat damage you must assign lethal damage to the first blocking creature before you can assign any combat damage to the second and so on.
Deathtouch takes in account any kind of damage,, not just combat. if a creature ith deathtouch fihts another creature, the other creature will probably die (barring any preventiion or indesteucibility)
W may only be paid with white mana. U may only be paid with blue mana. B may only be paid with black mana. R may only be paid with red mana. G may only be paid with green mana. C may only be paid with colorless mana. 1 may be paid with white, blue, black, red, green, or clolorless mana.