Deathtouch and Protection

  • #1
    In a recent tournament at my LGS, the following play occured:

    Player A attacked with Typhoid Rats
    Player B blocked with Mirran Crusader

    Since the Crusader has protection from black, I figured that, since no damage was dealt, the Harvester would be killed, and the crusader would live. But player A called over a Judge, and the Judge ruled that they both died due to the Harvester having deathtouch. Now, I've never seen this happen before, but I'm pretty sure that the judge was wrong in this scenario.

    Am I right?

    Also, in a similar scenario, a deathtouch-enchanted Grim Lavamancer wouldn't be able to kill the same Crusader by using his ability, right?
  • #2
    Quote from OverlordChao
    In a recent tournament at my LGS, the following play occured:

    Player A attacked with Typhoid Rats
    Player B blocked with Mirran Crusader

    Since the Crusader has protection from black, I figured that, since no damage was dealt, the Harvester would be killed, and the crusader would live. But player A called over a Judge, and the Judge ruled that they both died due to the Harvester having deathtouch. Now, I've never seen this happen before, but I'm pretty sure that the judge was wrong in this scenario.

    Am I right?


    You are correct do not due to protection. The Typhoid rats is going to get destroyed in the first strike combat step a long time before it gets the chance to deal damage.

    Protection does prevent damage so deathtouch will not have anything to modify.


    Also, in a similar scenario, a deathtouch-enchanted Grim Lavamancer wouldn't be able to kill the same Crusader by using his ability, right?


    Protection also prevents targeting so the Grim lavamancer can't activate its ability to damage the mirran crusader


    Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag and start slitting throats.
    - H.L Mencken

    I Became insane with long Intervals of horrible Sanity

    All Religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, fear, greed, imagination and poetry.
    - Edgar Allan Poe

    The Crafters' Rules Guru

    My helpdesk
  • #3
    Quote from OverlordChao
    In a recent tournament at my LGS, the following play occured:

    Player A attacked with Typhoid Rats
    Player B blocked with Mirran Crusader

    Since the Crusader has protection from black, I figured that, since no damage was dealt, the Harvester would be killed, and the crusader would live. But player A called over a Judge, and the Judge ruled that they both died due to the Harvester having deathtouch. Now, I've never seen this happen before, but I'm pretty sure that the judge was wrong in this scenario.


    Deathtouch requires the source to deal damage to a creature; Protection from a color prevents any damage from sources of that color (combat or otherwise). In your scenario the typhoid rats is blocked by a creature with protection from black, since no damage would be dealt (damage is prevented) deathtouch never has any effect.


    Also, in a similar scenario, a deathtouch-enchanted Grim Lavamancer wouldn't be able to kill the same Crusader by using his ability, right?


    Deathtouch will trigger from ANY source of damage, not just combat. If a creature with an ability like grim lavancer deals damage to another creature it will destroy it thanks to deathtouch.

    In your scenario the lavamancer would kill the crusader since A. it would deal 2 damage to the crusader and the crusader only has 2 toughness, B. even if it survived (maybe its a 3/3) deathtouch will kill the crusader. Do notice this is because the crusader has protection from black and green, the lavamancer is red.
    Last edited by Rasudido: 5/16/2012 4:38:16 AM
  • #4
    Ah, that makes sense. I knew I was forgetting something.

    That said, if it were, say, Auriok Champion instead of Mirran Crusader, what happens there?

    [Edit] Never mind, I see the answer above. It's far too late for me to be posting. No idea why I thought Mirran Crusader was pro-Red.
    Last edited by OverlordChao: 5/16/2012 4:41:57 AM
  • #5
    Quote from Kahedron

    Protection also prevents targeting so the Grim lavamancer can't activate its ability to damage the mirran crusader


    Why not? Am I missing something? Mirran Crusader has protection from black and green, and Grim Lavamancer is red.
    I played that wrong...:banghead:
  • #6
    Quote from CheeseB
    Why not? Am I missing something? Mirran Crusader has protection from black and green, and Grim Lavamancer is red.


    IT was me getting confused about what Mirran crusader had protection from.


    Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag and start slitting throats.
    - H.L Mencken

    I Became insane with long Intervals of horrible Sanity

    All Religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, fear, greed, imagination and poetry.
    - Edgar Allan Poe

    The Crafters' Rules Guru

    My helpdesk
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes