Rule Question on creature power...

  • #1
    If a creature is a 1/2 and has an equipment or enchantment that gives it a +3/+3 or perhaps counters that add to its power and toughness, to any end, does a Smite the Monsterous (Destroy target creature with power of 4 or greater) or a similar card destroy it, or does the creature retain its initial printed power and toughness for the sake of this spell and therefore this card cannot be used on it? Thank you for reading.

    Please use card tags in future posts. The Forum Guidelines explain how to do that. -Carsten
    Last edited by CarstenHaese: 5/4/2012 6:50:21 PM
  • #2
    Anything that evaluates a creatures P/T always looks at the final number taking into account any equipment/auras etc that increase/decrease it.


    If a giant growth has cast on a 1/1 it will be a 4/4 so a valid target for smite the monsterous.


    Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag and start slitting throats.
    - H.L Mencken

    I Became insane with long Intervals of horrible Sanity

    All Religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, fear, greed, imagination and poetry.
    - Edgar Allan Poe

    The Crafters' Rules Guru

    My helpdesk
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes