Sanguine Bond + Exquisite Blood + Death Grasp

  • #1
    Hello.

    I have two enchantments on battlefield:
    Sanguine Bond
    Exquisite Blood
    (Link to image: http://media.wizards.com/images/magic/tcg/products/avr/5um6onpe01_en.jpg)

    During my turn, I cast Death Grasp to one of my opponents for 2 points.

    Question A)
    What happens (exactly)?

    Here is my thoughts:


    1) Death grasp is put to stack.
    2) During Death grasp resolution, I deal 2 damage and receive 2 life -> this triggers both Sanguine Bond and Exquisite blood (they make triggers because they have "whenever").
    3) After Death Grasp has resolved and removed from stack, the two triggers (Bond+Blood) are placed in stack. The triggers can be in either order as I control both enchantments. Lets say I put Exquisite blood on top and Bond at bottom.
    4) The Exquisite blood trigger resolves and I gain 2 life. This causes Sanguine blood to trigger.
    5) After exquisite blood trigger has been resolved, the new Sanquine bond trigger is placed on top of stack. Stack now has two Sanquine bond triggers for 2 damage.
    6) Resolve the top Bond trigger -> new Exquisite blood trigger is placed on top of stack
    7) This bond/blood triggering continues until everybody is dead?


    Question B)
    Sanquine bond cannot be prevented with Circle of protection: Black or similar, as it is life loss?

    Question C)
    What happens if one of the opponents has Imperial Mask?
    All the rest of the opponents are killed and as I cannot target the one with the Mask, the rest of the triggers from Bond fizzle and game can continue?

    Question D)
    What happens if one of the opponents has Platinum Angel?
    Do I continue gaining life and opponent losing life infinitely? Can I stop the loop somehow with my decision (without instant enchantment removal or such)?

    Thanks.
    The Deck (1994->): 350+ card prismatic highlander with vintage ban list (ABU/Shock duals considered basic lands, max 4 each).
    EDH: xHeavy Metal Karn / RNorin Control (by Gaka) / RRed Chaos / BXiahou Dun Control / UBWrexial Steal / UWRasputin Blink / BWVish Kal Lifegain / RGXenagos Ramp/Beats / URGPrimal Animar / UGWAngus Hugs / UBRGWProgenitus Planeswalkers / UBRGWAll-in Enchantments
  • #2
    Quote from Dthamilaye

    1) Death grasp is put to stack.
    2) During Death grasp resolution, I deal 2 damage and receive 2 life -> this triggers both Sanguine Bond and Exquisite blood (they make triggers because they have "whenever").
    3) After Death Grasp has resolved and removed from stack, the two triggers (Bond+Blood) are placed in stack. The triggers can be in either order as I control both enchantments. Lets say I put Exquisite blood on top and Bond at bottom.
    4) The Exquisite blood trigger resolves and I gain 2 life. This causes Sanguine blood to trigger.
    5) After exquisite blood trigger has been resolved, the new Sanquine bond trigger is placed on top of stack. Stack now has two Sanquine bond triggers for 2 damage.
    6) Resolve the top Bond trigger -> new Exquisite blood trigger is placed on top of stack
    7) This bond/blood triggering continues until everybody is dead?

    You are correct. Sanguine Bond and Exquisite Blood form a loop that will kill every opponent.

    Quote from Dthamilaye

    Sanquine bond cannot be prevented with Circle of protection: Black or similar, as it is life loss?

    Correct.

    Quote from Dthamilaye

    What happens if one of the opponents has Imperial Mask?
    All the rest of the opponents are killed and as I cannot target the one with the Mask, the rest of the triggers from Bond fizzle and game can continue?

    Since you can't target that opponent you'll eventually end up with one triggered ability being removed from the stack since you can't choose a legal target for it.

    Quote from Dthamilaye

    What happens if one of the opponents has Platinum Angel?
    Do I continue gaining life and opponent losing life infinitely? Can I stop the loop somehow with my decision (without instant enchantment removal or such)?

    If a player can't lose the game for some reason an unbounded loop is created. Unless a player can somehow stop the loop by removing one of the enchantments from the battlefield the game will end in a draw. Since both enchantment's triggered abilities are mandatory you cannot just choose to end the loop.
    [card]Jace Beleren[/card] = Jace Beleren
    [card=Jace Beleren]Jace[/card] = Jace
    Magic CompRules

    Scry Rollover Popups for Google Chrome

    The first rule of Cursecatcher is, You do not talk about Cursecatcher.
  • #3
    Ok, thanks alot for the answers :).
    The Deck (1994->): 350+ card prismatic highlander with vintage ban list (ABU/Shock duals considered basic lands, max 4 each).
    EDH: xHeavy Metal Karn / RNorin Control (by Gaka) / RRed Chaos / BXiahou Dun Control / UBWrexial Steal / UWRasputin Blink / BWVish Kal Lifegain / RGXenagos Ramp/Beats / URGPrimal Animar / UGWAngus Hugs / UBRGWProgenitus Planeswalkers / UBRGWAll-in Enchantments
  • #4
    To clarify what Nis says, it's not mandatory to stop the loop if you can with a fourth card. As in he would control both a Platinum Angel and a Chandler.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes