Sages of the Anima and Sylvan Library

  • #1
    Hey guys, so I was recently playing with my Momir EDH deck, and I realized I there was a confusing interaction I was unsure of. I have Sylvan Library and a Sages of the Anima in play. What exactly happens in my draw step and what are my choices? I went over the rulings and current oracle text of both and still can't figure it out.
    Rules Advisor
  • #2
    During your draw step, first you go to take your regular card draw. This is replaced by Sages of the Anima, so instead you reveal the top 3 cards and put any creature cards into your hand.

    Next, Sylvan Library's triggered ability goes on the stack, and resolves. You may choose to use the ability. If you don't, nothing happens.

    If you do, you get two card draws replaced by Sages of the Anima, so instead you reveal the top 3 cards and put any creature cards into your hand, then do that again. Then you must follow Sylvan Library's instruction to "choose two cards in your hand drawn this turn." However, you have not drawn any cards, so this instruction can't be carried out. Since you chose no cards, you also don't put any cards on top of your library, nor do you pay any life.
  • #3
    Ah ok, perfect. It was whether I lost life for not being able to put something back I never drew that was tricking me. Thanks!
    Rules Advisor
  • #4
    The key is that it says "for each of those [drawn] cards, pay 4 life". If there's no drawn cards, that means nothing.

    _______________________________
    [L1 Judge|Add me to your ignore list]
    |Molten Sentry count - 1002 (34*)|

  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes