Lightning Bolt and Planeswalkers

  • #1
    1. Is it true that if my opponent wants to lightning bolt my planeswalker, he LBs me instead; then I choose whether to counter it or not, and if I don't, he can redirect it?

    2. He can't target one of my planeswalkers with an LB without targeting me, can he? In other words, he my opponent wants to LB a 'walker, and I have a circle of protection: red on the field, I can use it to stop the damage, correct?

    3. If I play Jace, the Mind Sculptor and my opponent says he wants to do something in response to Jace entering the battlefield (say I know he has a lightning bolt in hand), can I use his +2 before passing priority, or can my opponent bolt it before I have the chance to use any of his abilities?

    Thanks in advance!


    Come Play Mafia With Us | CA Bay Area Community Thread | Play Modern With Us

    Quote from ganderin_dan

    You guys should be following Tom around like he's Moses or something.
  • #2
    1. Is it true that if my opponent wants to lightning bolt my planeswalker, he LBs me instead; then I choose whether to counter it or not, and if I don't, he can redirect it?
    Yes.
    2. He can't target one of my planeswalkers with an LB without targeting me, can he? In other words, he my opponent wants to LB a 'walker, and I have a circle of protection: red on the field, I can use it to stop the damage, correct?
    Yes. Since you are the person being damaged, you get to choose in which order to apply the replacement effects. If you apply Circle of Protection's effect first, the damage will be prevented. (If you do them in the other order your planeswalker will be damaged.)
    3. If I play Jace, the Mind Sculptor and my opponent says he wants to do something in response to Jace entering the battlefield (say I know he has a lightning bolt in hand), can I use his +2 before passing priority, or can my opponent bolt it before I have the chance to use any of his abilities?
    Immediately after a spell resolves, state-based actions are performed, and then triggered abilities are put on the stack. Then the active player receives priority.

    In this case, Jace resolves. There are no state-based actions to perform, and probably no triggered abilities to go on the stack. Then you get priority, and you can activate Jace's +2 ability. If you then pass priority, your opponent can Bolt Jace, but he is already at 5 loyalty. That is the normal situation.

    However, if for some reason a triggered ability goes on the stack immediately after Jace enters the battlefield, then you can't activate Jace's +2 ability, since there is something on the stack. If you pass priority, your opponent can Bolt Jace and kill him before you ever get a chance to activate the ability.
  • #3
    Quote from tomathan88
    1. Is it true that if my opponent wants to lightning bolt my planeswalker, he LBs me instead; then I choose whether to counter it or not, and if I don't, he can redirect it?

    2. He can't target one of my planeswalkers with an LB without targeting me, can he? In other words, he my opponent wants to LB a 'walker, and I have a circle of protection: red on the field, I can use it to stop the damage, correct?

    3. If I play Jace, the Mind Sculptor and my opponent says he wants to do something in response to Jace entering the battlefield (say I know he has a lightning bolt in hand), can I use his +2 before passing priority, or can my opponent bolt it before I have the chance to use any of his abilities?

    Thanks in advance!


    1) Yes.
    2)Yes.
    3)You have priority to use Planeswalker abilities before your opponent(s) can do anything. So yes, you can use Jace's +2 and your opponent(s) are actually responding to placing of two counters on Jace and the ability going on the stack. (As in, if Jace is at 2 loyalty counters and you use his +2, and your opponent bolts him, he'll have 1 loyalty counter and the ability will still happen.)
    Quote from PhyrexianExile
    I use the Duels Of The Planeswalkers layout, though I'm right-handed and keep my deck and GY to the left. I dare you to ask me how tempting it is to hold flying creatures in a floating pattern over the table.
  • #4
    1. You are correct, your opponent must target you with the bolt then redirect it when the bolt resolves.

    2. Correct. If you have a COP: Red, and are hit with a bolt, if your opponent chooses to redirect the bolt to the planeswalker on resolution you'll have a replacement and a prevention effect. Since the bolt is effecting you then you can apply those effects in whichever order you wish. If you choose to apply the prevention effect to the bolt then it won't deal any damage and there will be nothing to replace.

    3. After a planeswalker resolves the active player will receive priority. Players can not act without priority, so if you resolve a jace the mind sculpter you'll have a chance to use one of his ability before your opponent has a chance to cast lightning bolt. If you choose the +2, by the time your opponent has a chance to cast bolt jace will have 5 counters.
    DCI Level 2 Judge
  • #5
    1. Correct.

    2. Maybe. The redirection of damage and the CoP's prevention compete to replace the damage. Since your opponent controls affected object (the bolt), they choose the order the replacement effects are applied in.
    So they choose if the damage is prevented or dealt to your 'walker.

    Other way around, you're the affected object, you choose the order.

    3. You get priority first, so you have the opportunity to activate one of jace's abilities before your opponent can do anything about it.
    Last edited by parinoid: 4/11/2012 7:08:11 PM
    Area judge (Level 2)
    Huge Greg Staples fan.

    There is a Pony thread in the Speakeasy
    Current Sundial count:476.
    W/U mana W/U mana W/U mana W/U mana W/U mana
    Quote from Edsger Dijkstra »
    The question of whether Machines Can Think... is about as relevant as the question of whether Submarines Can Swim.
    Quote from Condor
    Close is indeed good enough in hand grenades, horseshoes, and shuffling.
    Currently Trending on Equestria Daily: Ponies.
  • #6
    alright thanks guys.

    1. yes

    2. yes

    3. i can use jace without passing priority, but if entering the battlefield triggered something, my opponent can bolt in response to the trigger.

    this is what i'm understanding... if someone disagrees keep posting, otherwise thanks for the info!


    Come Play Mafia With Us | CA Bay Area Community Thread | Play Modern With Us

    Quote from ganderin_dan

    You guys should be following Tom around like he's Moses or something.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes