"Dies" and "Sacrifices"

  • #1
    Suppose I have a Brimstone Volley, Goblin Grenade and Goblin Arsonist. If I cast Grenade and sacrifice Goblin Arsonist, can I trigger the ability of Morbid of Brimstone Volley?
  • #3
    Something dies if it goes to the graveyard from the battlefield. It doesn't matter how it's going to the graveyard, whether it's due to destruction or sacrifice. If you sac the Arsonist to the Grenade, it will count for the morbid ability of the Volley and the Volley will deal 5 damage.
    DCI Level 2 Judge

    Scientists have calculated that the chance of anything so patently absurd actually existing are millions to one. But magicians have calculated that million-to-one chances crop up nine times out of ten.
  • #2
    Yes. Dies means "went from the battlefield to the graveyard"
    This can be from destroying a creature, sacrificing it, or making it's toughness 0. As long as the creature goes from the battlefield to the graveyard it is considered to have "died"
    Quote from King Pun
    I was going to equip my third sword of war and peace on one of my creatures but my opponent said that was illegal because my creature only has 2 arms.


    Reckless Waif; It's the red Delver of Secrets.
    Quote from Necrosed
    Waif first. It's pretty much a red Delver of Secrets.

  • #4
    Thanks, Dude!

    Another question is What's the scope of "Spell"?

    Moreover, Is Artifact Creature a Artifact? Say Perilous Myr
  • #5
    A spell is a card on the stack. You cast all (non-land) cards from your hand, and they go on the stack and become a spell before they resolve.

    Yes, an Artifact Creature is an Artifact. It is also a Creature. It is both things at the same time.
    Be polite. Be efficient. Have a plan...
  • #6
    Quote from EllE
    A spell is a card on the stack. You cast all (non-land) cards from your hand, and they go on the stack and become a spell before they resolve.

    Yes, an Artifact Creature is an Artifact. It is also a Creature. It is both things at the same time.


    I'm sort of confused.

    If I cast a creature, it also means "cast a spell"?

    Take an example, cos I remeber some cards read as follows: say Instigator Gang, no spell were cast last turn, then transform it.

    How to trigger its ability?

    Moreover, what's definition of last turn? Last my turn? my opponent's turn? or both?
  • #7
    To cast a spell is to take any non-land card and put it on the stack following the procedure out in rule 601.2

    601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell follows the steps listed below, in order. If, at any point during the casting of a spell, a player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the casting of the spell is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that spell started to be cast (see rule 717, “Handling Illegal Actions”). Announcements and payments can’t be altered after they’ve been made.

    601.2a The player announces that he or she is casting the spell. That card (or that copy of a card) moves from where it is to the stack. It becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has all the characteristics of the card (or the copy of a card) associated with it, and that player becomes its controller. The spell remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, or an effect moves it elsewhere.

    601.2b If the spell is modal the player announces the mode choice (see rule 700.2). If the player wishes to splice any cards onto the spell (see rule 702.45), he or she reveals those cards in his or her hand. If the spell has alternative or additional costs that will be paid as it’s being cast such as buyback, kicker, or convoke costs (see rules 117.8 and 117.9), the player announces his or her intentions to pay any or all of those costs (see rule 601.2e). A player can’t apply two alternative methods of casting or two alternative costs to a single spell. If the spell has a variable cost that will be paid as it’s being cast (such as an {X} in its mana cost; see rule 107.3), the player announces the value of that variable. If a cost that will be paid as the spell is being cast includes hybrid mana symbols, the player announces the nonhybrid equivalent cost he or she intends to pay. If a cost that will be paid as the spell is being cast includes Phyrexian mana symbols, the player announces whether he or she intends to pay 2 life or the corresponding colored mana cost for each of those symbols. Previously made choices (such as choosing to cast a spell with flashback from a graveyard or choosing to cast a creature with morph face down) may restrict the player’s options when making these choices.

    601.2c The player announces his or her choice of an appropriate player, object, or zone for each target the spell requires. A spell may require some targets only if an alternative or additional cost (such as a buyback or kicker cost), or a particular mode, was chosen for it; otherwise, the spell is cast as though it did not require those targets. If the spell has a variable number of targets, the player announces how many targets he or she will choose before he or she announces those targets. The same target can’t be chosen multiple times for any one instance of the word “target” on the spell. However, if the spell uses the word “target” in multiple places, the same object, player, or zone can be chosen once for each instance of the word “target” (as long as it fits the targeting criteria). If any effects say that an object or player must be chosen as a target, the player chooses targets so that he or she obeys the maximum possible number of such effects without violating any rules or effects that say that an object or player can’t be chosen as a target. The chosen players, objects, and/or zones each become a target of that spell. (Any abilities that trigger when those players, objects, and/or zones become the target of a spell trigger at this point; they’ll wait to be put on the stack until the spell has finished being cast.)
    Example: If a spell says “Tap two target creatures,” then the same creature can’t be chosen twice; the spell requires two different legal targets. A spell that says “Destroy target artifact and target land,” however, can target the same artifact land twice because it uses the word “target” in multiple places.

    601.2d If the spell requires the player to divide or distribute an effect (such as damage or counters) among one or more targets, the player announces the division. Each of these targets must receive at least one of whatever is being divided.

    601.2e The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs. Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay, or may provide other alternative costs. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions. If the mana component of the total cost is reduced to nothing by cost reduction effects, it is considered to be {0}. It can’t be reduced to less than {0}. Once the total cost is determined, any effects that directly affect the total cost are applied. Then the resulting total cost becomes “locked in.” If effects would change the total cost after this time, they have no effect.

    601.2f If the total cost includes a mana payment, the player then has a chance to activate mana abilities (see rule 605, “Mana Abilities”). Mana abilities must be activated before costs are paid.

    601.2g The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can’t be paid.
    Example: You cast Altar’s Reap, which costs {1}{B} and has an additional cost of sacrificing a creature. You sacrifice Thunderscape Familiar, whose effect makes your black spells cost {1} less to cast. Because a spell’s total cost is “locked in” before payments are actually made, you pay {B}, not {1}{B}, even though you’re sacrificing the Familiar.

    601.2h Once the steps described in 601.2a–g are completed, the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. If the spell’s controller had priority before casting it, he or she gets priority.

    601.3. Some spells specify that one of their controller’s opponents does something the controller would normally do while it’s being cast, such as choose a mode or choose targets. In these cases, the opponent does so when the spell’s controller normally would do so.

    601.3a If there is more than one opponent who could make such a choice, the spell’s controller decides which of those opponents will make the choice.

    601.3b If the spell instructs its controller and another player to do something at the same time as the spell is being cast, the spell’s controller goes first, then the other player. This is an exception to rule 101.4.

    For the werewolves to trigger no player can cast a spell in the turn immediately preceeding the current turn it does not matter if it is your turn or one of your opponents if there is a sun side werewolf on the battlefield the ability will go on the stack if during the last turn the game went from untap to clean-up with out any player casting a spell.


    Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag and start slitting throats.
    - H.L Mencken

    I Became insane with long Intervals of horrible Sanity

    All Religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, fear, greed, imagination and poetry.
    - Edgar Allan Poe

    The Crafters' Rules Guru

    My helpdesk
  • #8
    Werewolves check each players turn individually. That means : If you don't cast anything during your or your opponents turn and he didn't either, the werewolf will flip during the next Upkeep.

    And yes : As mentioned before, everything except lands is considered a spell while it is on the stack.
  • #9
    Then I am not quite sure of the concept of "stack"...

    If I cast a instant....I put it in the stack and wait it to resolve.

    If I cast a creature, Am I put in the stack to wait it to resolve?
  • #10
    Quote from EugeneBB
    Then I am not quite sure of the concept of "stack"...

    If I cast a instant....I put it in the stack and wait it to resolve.

    If I cast a creature, Am I put in the stack to wait it to resolve?


    Yes. The first step of casting a spell is moving it from wherever it is (usually your hand) to the stack. This is true regardless of that spell's types.
    I am no longer on MTGS staff, so please don't contact me asking me to do staff things. :|
  • #11
    If it helps to demonstrate the concept that creatures are cast as spells, use the stack, and can be responded to, note that there are cards that interact with "creature spells" specifically (see Bone to Ash as an example.) These wouldn't work if playing creatures worked differently.
    DCI Level 1 Judge
  • #12
    Quote from Binary
    Yes. The first step of casting a spell is moving it from wherever it is (usually your hand) to the stack. This is true regardless of that spell's types.


    Then it is pretty much hard for a werewolf deck to trigger their ability? isn't it?

    Cos seldom can we meet the condition that "no spell is cast last turn".:)
  • #13
    Quote from Artscrafter
    If it helps to demonstrate the concept that creatures are cast as spells, use the stack, and can be responded to, note that there are cards that interact with "creature spells" specifically (see Bone to Ash as an example.) These wouldn't work if playing creatures worked differently.


    A compelling example!

    THX!:p:p
  • #14
    Quote from EugeneBB
    Then it is pretty much hard for a werewolf deck to trigger their ability? isn't it?

    Cos seldom can we meet the condition that "no spell is cast last turn".:)


    A lot of the time werewolf players will just take one of their own turns without casting anything in order to flip. If they have some instants saved for the opponents turn it's still not that bad.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes